We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bay Norbreck Hotel

    Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
    Hotel website
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (152)
    Room & Suite (42)
    Dining (11)
    Bay New Southlands Hotel
    421 reviews
    #8 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    The Crown Spa Hotel
    4,642 reviews
    #6 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Park Manor Hotel
    801 reviews
    #4 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Royal Hotel Scarborough
    2,310 reviews
    #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Overview

    • Excellent21%
    • Very good43%
    • Average19%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible7%
    Travellers talk about
    “self drive” (16 reviews)
    “daniel defoe” (9 reviews)
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Bay New Southlands Hotel
    421 reviews
    #8 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    The Crown Spa Hotel
    4,642 reviews
    #6 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Park Manor Hotel
    801 reviews
    #4 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Royal Hotel Scarborough
    2,310 reviews
    #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    My wife and I, along with my Mum and her friend, stayed here from Monday to Friday with Shearings. The room we had was spacious apart from the fire exit being in the corner so if a fire occurred then people would have to come...More

    Helpful?2  
    Response from Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel

    Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry the food was not up to standard during your break and assure you this is being addressed. It is nice to read you enjoyed the service from our staff and the entertainment which I...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The hotel was ok - management very friendly - waiters/waitresses need to be more friendly and smile more. The food was awful. The breakfast was luke warm - the heating underneath must have been lit as we walked in the room. The evening meal was...More

    Helpful?2  
    Response from Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel

    Thank you for your review. The comments you have made will help us improve our standards and have been passed onto the kitchen and restaurant teams. I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The food was mostly dreadful. I have never had fish and chips with pea purée served with new pots parsnips cauliflower and the worst excuse for Chips I have ever seen. There were 12 of them for 2 of us and they were completely inedible....More

    Helpful?2  
    Response from Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel

    I am sorry to learn that the food quality on your holiday was not satisfactory and you had the complaints you have made. Our Chefs welcome all feedback and we use this to improve our procedures and standards. Thank you for bringing your comments to...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I have just come back from a 5 day Shearing's break here, and the best thing about this hotel is the staff, they couldn't be more friendly or helpful, from reception, bar and housekeeping. BUT, the hotel is so very tired and run down, and...More

    Helpful?1  
    Response from Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel

    It is good to see you enjoyed the double aspect windows in 218, it is a very popular room for this reason. The staff do make the holiday for a lot of our guests, from he drivers to the hotel itself and it is lovely...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Just returned home after 5 day break at the Norbreck with Shearings. A short walk from the town centre but near the castle and Anne Bronte's grave and with fantastic views. Hotel an old building with maze of stairs to get to your rooms but...More

    Helpful?
    Response from Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel

    Thank you for your comments and review of the area. I agree the place looks amazing when the sun shines! I hope you return.

    Bay New Southlands Hotel
    421 reviews
    #8 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    The Crown Spa Hotel
    4,642 reviews
    #6 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Park Manor Hotel
    801 reviews
    #4 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    Royal Hotel Scarborough
    2,310 reviews
    #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$85 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 52
    Photos
    Traveller (152)
    Room & Suite (42)
    Dining (11)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby Hotels
    Royal Hotel Scarborough
    2,310 reviews
    .65 km away
     
    The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
    1,339 reviews
    .74 km away
     
    Delmont Hotel
    437 reviews
    .26 km away
     
    Grand Hotel Scarborough
    6,114 reviews
    .74 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Harbour Bar
    819 reviews
    .37 km away
    The Famous Fishpan
    675 reviews
    .38 km away
    LoveBrew Cafe
    139 reviews
    .38 km away
    Cafe View
    210 reviews
    .38 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Scarborough Castle
    1,398 reviews
    .30 km away
    St Mary's Church, Scarborough
    136 reviews
    .38 km away
    YMCA Theatre
    54 reviews
    .43 km away
    Scarborough Maritime Heritage Centre
    46 reviews
    .37 km away
    Questions & AnswersAsk a question
    Julie W
    hi,is your bar and restaurant open to the public or just paying guests?
    8 June 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Louise M | Property representative |
    Hi, we are open to all whenever you would like to visit. We do have a couple of restrictions with regards to Christmas and New Year, but other than that it would be lovely to see you. We offer bar lunches and drinks daily... More
    1
    Vote
    daniel d
    What Beers do they sell and whats the prices like,Thanks.
    6 June 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Louise M | Property representative |
    Hi Daniel D We serve Carlsberg and Tetleys on Draft, as well as Somersby Cider. We also stock a range of beers produced by a local brewery included a locally produced lager. Our drafts start at £3.65 per pint and our local... More
    0
    Votes
    Wilma M
    Do you have disabled rooms with grab rails etc in the bathrooms?
    14 May 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Louise M | Property representative |
    Good Morning. The majority of our rooms do have grab rails for the bath or shower. To best assist you, it would be advisable to call the hotel to discuss your individual needs so we can ensure we are able to cater for you... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "We paid extra for a sea view but I think nearly all the rooms had a sea view so don't waste your money"
    Read review
    "Don't bother if you want to eat"
    Read review
    "Floor 3 for views of bay."
    Read review
    "all the rooms have sea veiws but if you pay the bit extra for a sea veiw you will get a bigger room"
    Read review