We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 775: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a bit concerned reading some of the reviews on here but needn't have worried. We booked a "late luxury" deal and were allocated a courtyard room which was beautifully decorated with some lovely touches such as complimentary gin 😀. The location of this hotel is second to none and the view from the restaurant was superb. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynda K
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star review and for taking the time to submit your feedback. i am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be friendly ,polite and charming and that you found both the service and quality of the food to be of an excellent standard. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in Sidmouth for several weeks each year and like to try new venues but struggle to find them. We walked to this hotel to try it out before considering a booking. Arrived at 16:35 and asked the surly receptionist for afternoon tea - she looked at my walking clothes and then her watch and said in a loud...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank David M
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor and I apologise for the frosty reception that you received at reception this is certainly not what we are about. Thank you your feedback and we will certainly address the points that you have raised. Kind regards Ken Cumming

uk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely clean hotel & super breakfast Rooms with complimentary gin & sherry.great rooms and very obliging staff.Didnt have an evening meal at the hotel but what I saw looked good.Good Spa facilities also.would highly recommend for a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ukgriff
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am pleased to hear tha you hava lovely stay and going the staff to be very obliging and that you will recommend the hotel . I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back . Kind regards and thank you Ken Cumming

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a short stay in this lovely seaside town and were not disappointed! This hotel enjoys an elevated position overlooking the town and is equally convenient for the various shops and amenities the town has to offer. Nothing was too much trouble for the superb staff who made us very welcome, in particular, bar manager, Robert...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie H
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am delighted to read your five star review. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be superb and extremely helpful and tvat Robert and Adam really stood out ! I certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Understated superb friendly good food immaculate clean not at all pretentious helpful staff. Hotel only a short walk from sea one way opposite the gardens with views of Jurassic coast and Jacobs ladder brilliant cakes at the clockwork cafe I cannot fault this area. The charm is antiquated quiet and dated and I don't care. It's an old England I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joesimister
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and for your five star rating. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found both the quality of the food and the service provided by the staff to be of a high standard. We look forward to seeing you again and welcoming you back...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sidmouth is a beautiful town and parts of this hotel are lovely. The room was comfortable and the shower excellent. The food was good but service in the restaurant was disorganised and at times poor. We had a drink in the lounge, were given menus and told some one would take our orders, they didn't. Two nights we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hips64
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us and I apologise for the issues that you experienced in our Upper Deck restaurant . I would like to reassure you that your comments have been taken on board and we will address the situation accordingly. I was glad to read that you found...

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for a 2 night stay, bed, breakfast and dinner. Our room, No 21 was beautifully furnished but was very warm despite not having heating on. Dinner on both nights was excellent, good service and nicely presented. We used the spa, although the pool is on the small side the facilities were very good and had no problem in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and for the five star review that you have awarded us. I am delighted to hear that you found both the food and service to be of an excellent standard and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit, perhaps later in the...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a 'special Telegraph deal' only to discover it was much cheaper booking direct with the hotel! However, we went ahead as it was non refundable and found that the upgrade to a Courtyard Room meant we overlooked the car park and refuge bins. The room was really small and the furniture too large for the size of room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenys w
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor and I apologise for any confusion with regards to the offer that you had booked. The allocation that you have goes towards the cost of your evening meal and is not a dinner inclusive rate, which should have been confirmed in your reservation confirmation letter. I am...

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We recently returned from a nights stay. We managed to get a last minute deal with a sea view room, £50 towards dinner and breakfast. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished, the entrance is beautiful and had some nice finishing touches, fresh flowers and a fire place. The pool and spa area is well equipped, a brilliant gym, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xxprincesskatexx
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor after your recent visit and I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologise for the levels of service you experienced in the restaurant. I can assure you that these issues will be addressed and I look forward to welcoming you back for a return...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The refurbishment of this hotel is very good . The new court yard rooms are luxurious but the hotel is badly let down by parts of its operation specifically breakfast service . Frankly the service of breakfast is awful. On all three mornings we waited up to 20 minutes for drinks and the continental selection was mainly fruit with yogurt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian H
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am sorry to read that you experienced a few issues with breakfast service for which I apologise and we will certainly take on board your comments and address the situation. Thank you also for your kind comments with regards to John our Hall Porter and...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
789 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
489 reviews
0.6 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
190 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: €146 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff Devon
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Redditch, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Gosport, United Kingdom
England
South Molton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The courtyard rooms are well appointed on two floors but separate from the main building, necessitating a short open air walk.”
Diggiedoo, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were holidaying with dogs and found the courtyard room very comfortable. We chose this hotel because it is dog friendly.”
sev640, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice, though the superior sea rooms are the best.”
sueb20172017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room”
ElizabethE60, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The main question to ask is where is the room located, in the main hotel, or the Courtyard.”
ChristineJ580, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5