We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sidholme Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sidholme Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sidholme Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner and my parent's stayed at sidholme 13th to 20th August 2016.we had a lovely time. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. We had a superior room on top floor and my parents had superior room on floor below us. We have been coming to sidholme each summer since I was 8 and it's great that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I didn't realise on booking that Sidholme is a Christian Guild Hotel offering a variety of 'themed activity breaks' and 'stay as you please' options. The Georgian mansion set in 9 acres of landscaped grounds offers a warm welcome and daily prayers in the magnificent music room with its gothic style organ if you choose. It's very much a do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeepersP
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed during the teen week Positives Lovely location short 7 minute walk to sea front. Although you get the feeling you are miles away so tranquil. Food both breakfast and evening meal excellent. Plenty of activities to keep children happy. Swimming pool children loved. Nice lawn area for games Staff helpful Against We stayed in the annexe although clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arew W
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arew W, Thank you for your lovely review.We certainly have the annex on our redecoration schedule, i will pass on your compliments to our kitchen team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme.

birmingham
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I stayed a couple of weeks ago with my young son- on one of the Christian based family weeks. We had a brilliant time and loved the Hotel. Yes, a little dated in places but the pool was great, fabulous music room, breakfasts especially good- and our room, 27 was great and overlooked the beautiful gardens. The Host couple for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katiek8
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatieK8, Thank you for your lovely review.I will pass along your compliments to Neill and Jill.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme in the near future.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We had a very good stay here again, the beds and room was good, and we were looked after very good, the staff are great, the grounds and swimming pool is really good and you can sit in the garden for hours, The food was great but the service at the evening meal was slow at times. The building is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John N, Thank you for your review.I will pass on your compliments to our team here.We do have a rolling refurbishment and redecorating programme, which i am sure will be reflected, on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme.

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We felt it was well past its “sell by date” and in serious need of redecoration! We felt we were in an institution with lounges akin to an old peoples home. I had to search high and low to get a decent WIFI connection. Our room was at the back and suffered from noise and smells from the kitchens so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laceyhawk
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laceyhawk, Thank for your review.We do have a running redecorating and refurbishment programme, which we follow earnestly.I will pass on your compliments to the staff. I certainly hope we do get another opportunity to welcoming you back to Sidholme.

Wombourne
Reviewed 21 July 2016

A fantastic unique listed building with fine architectural features, a splendid music room/hall and breathtaking grounds with well established shrubs and magnificent towering trees. Unfortunately we were in the Annexe which was outdated and in need of upgrading. However the beds were comfy, the room was clean and not pokey and we made ourselves at home for the week. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolHurley
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CarolHurley, Thank you for your review.I am glad you have had a great week with us at Sidholme.I will convey your positive comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sidholme hotel.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed one night on a week long tour around Cornwall. The main building and grounds are beautiful and it was lovely to be able to walk around them. Unfortunately we had a room in the annex building which is not quite as lovely as the main building with rooms and decor needing a bit of an update. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scarfienz
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scarfienz, Thank you for your review, i will convey your compliments to the team.We do have a rolling redecorating and refurbishment program,due to the size and age of the building it is planned over a year and the annex building will be updated in the near future.

Lightwater UK
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Relaxed environment, superb food, magnificent swimming pool, good old fashioned comfort set in well kept and attractive grounds. Fifteen minute walk to the beach. The room was adequate and well serviced. I would not hesitate to return here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnVG007
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnVG007, Thank you for your review, i will pass on your compliments to our team here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

The hotel is a grand old English country house that in truth is a little run down. Our room was clean and adequate. This is compensated for by an excellent staff, a very good breakfast fine grounds and a good swimming pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Sameer V, Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you to Sidholme the next time you are in Sidmouth.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
368 reviews
1.0 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
734 reviews
1.0 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.9 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
391 reviews
0.9 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Price Range: €44 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sidholme Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sidholme Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sidholme Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Main Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles aljay6uk, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a superior you if you can”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireM, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can only say mine was 25, and I had great wifi in this room! Cosy and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles linsa2016, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I had a single bargin room with its own en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 230lynnc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had a family room with double bed and bunks, decor was a little tired, but clean and well presented. TV in room also”
 of 5 bubbles 33paulinet, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay