We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deeside Inn

0.1 km from Ballater centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
13-15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deeside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 520: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Just back from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The barman was always so polite and helpful too always greeted with a smile. Food was excellent and room was spacious and clean. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccaus
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you - very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you taking the time to write up a review, which we are very grateful for. Best wishes, Joanna

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Just spent my latest golfing break with the usual suspects at the Deeside Inn. It's not the Hilton, and neither are the prices, what it definitely offers though is excellent value. This was probably our sixth or seventh visit and once again Joanne the general manager and Peter her restaurant supervisor catered to our varied needs. The rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

It was so lovely to see you all - it is always good fun. Good to see that you all looked well. So, all there is to say is thank you for the lovely review and see you next year:) Joanna

Balfron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We have just returned from a two night stay at this great homely hotel.The room No 9 front facing was spotlessly clean and comfortable bed.The food was beautifully cooked and served on warm plates.It was a lovely drive to Ballater and the icing on the cake was this hotel.We will be back.soon.The staff were very courteous and nothing was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful for your taking the time to post a review. Delighted that you enjoyed your drive to Ballater. I back from Edinburgh on Sunday night through Glenshee - it was still bright at gone 11pm and the light was amazing. We didn't see another car either!...

AYRSHIRE SCOTLAND
Reviewed 30 May 2015

We booked this hotel for its 2 day special deal; bed, breakfast and dinner with free wine on first night: there was also a free Scottish Afternoon Tea on one day which we did not have as it finished at 4.30 pm. We asked for a quiet room and got 21 looking on to the hills at the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HOWLORRIN
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food. We have now changed our menus for the summer months, so there will no longer be the issue over fresh supply, which will be great. I appreciate your comments on the breakfast being different on the two mornings. Regardless of who is on - it should be the same and I...

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

My husband had purchased Virgin Experience vouchers as a gift for me and as the hotel (a sister hotel as part of the Crerar group) I had chosen originally, was fully booked,we chose the Deeside inn. Having read through the reviews on here we were still happy enough and looking forward to our stay. We checked in on the 22nd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie2935
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Obviously, I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay and I am also sorry that I was not aware of that at the time. I think your stay might have coincided with me being off for one of the days. However, if you were unhappy I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss the various issues...

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Small rooms, only room enough to open the suitcases on the bed. Very hard mattress. Great lounge, good food and great service. The place is old, but they are making improvements. Good location, not far from the same shops where Queen Elizabeth shops on holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraDee1961
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it is amazing how many people are guided by them - so they are very important. We do have lots of large rooms in the hotel but some are "cosy" shall we say. So thank you and if you come again contact me directly in 01339 755413 and I will make sure we offer...

Steinkjer, Norway
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Charming inn. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Really enjoyed the live music in the pub. Staff was very attentive and nice. Would definitively stay here again. The room was small and cute, but the bathroom was not top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElinKlepp-Dahl
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very delighted over your comments on the food, the staff and the live music. We are building up a reputation as a decent venue for live music and have a great programme lined up for the year. The best way to keep in touch with what's on is to "like" The Deeside Inn...

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days for work in May, the hotel in generally was very good, clean and tidy and the décor as you would expect from a Highland hotel. My complain started from when I got in my room, although advertised as Wi-Fi – all hotel it didn’t work in my room and also the TV didn’t...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

I have to say that I am very sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We have WiFi in about 2/3rds of our rooms and it was unfortunate that you were not accommodated in one of them. I am aware that we moved you the following day and I can only assume at this point that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Stayed one night with a group of 12. Check in was friendly and efficient. The bar and lounge area is a pleasant place for relaxing. The set menu dinner was excellent and breakfast was very good. The bedrooms are basic and need sprucing up and the mattress was not the best -I could feel springs. All staff were pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 48Susan
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you did not find the mattress comfortable. It's funny, as this morning I have had an email from a past guests asking for the make and type of mattress as they want to buy one! Anyway, I will go and check that...

Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Lovely highland welcoming hotel. Bedrooms are nice , clean but basic. Pets are welcome which we took advantage of. I think £10 per dog per night is a bit steep though!. Overall I would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy B
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad that you took advantage of our dog friendly policy and I am sorry that you feel the £10 charge is too steep. The only reason that we charge £10 per per dog is that we require extra...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
9.4 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
339 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
22.1 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Braemar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.3 km away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
436 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Deeside Inn Restaurant
The Deeside Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Deeside Inn is an authentic Highland inn situated in the picturesque village of Ballater in the heart of Royal Deeside - a few miles away from Balmoral Castle, the Queen's summer home. Only an hour's drive from Aberdeen, this part of the Cairngorms is world famous for its stunning scenery and offers some of the best walking, climbing, mountain biking, river fishing and wildlife watching in Scotland. We can arrange a huge range of outdoor activities on behalf of our guests. The inn itself is welcoming and cosy with open log fires, wooden floors, tartan carpets, comfy tweed furnishings and well appointed comfortable bedrooms. In our Ceilidh bar we offer over 40 Scottish single malts and hearty Highland dishes, and also host fantastic traditional music sessions every other Wednesday. In our brasserie style restaurant we offer an a la carte and grill menu, which feature game, salmon and Highland beef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deeside Inn

Address: 13-15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Price Range: €93 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deeside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Deeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deeside Hotel Ballater
Deeside Inn Ballater, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deeside Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
dumfries &galloway
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Deeside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on North have a good view to square and Church. Some noise from floorboards in room above in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeG442, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a Victoria Wing renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles Garyatco, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I Would choose the back the back rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 51walterd, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look on the Inn's website at all the different rooms on offer.”
 of 5 bubbles 797suzannem, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have been refurbished but carry a supplement”
 of 5 bubbles moyreenw, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5