We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Verve Hotel

Expedia.comUS$134*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$138*
US$134*
US$138*
US$138*
US$134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Verve Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Verve Hotel
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We used the hotel whilst visiting a friend so only used it to sleep and for breakfast the following morning. The hotel itself is very clean and was welcomed with a friendly smile and very boutique looking. We stayed in room 4 and it had the usual equipment that is expected, tea facility, dressing table, wardrobe, and comfy double bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
Farnborough
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only really used the Hotel as a place to lay down our heads and breakfast. The bathroom... was v small so trying to dry after a shower was pointless in the room and it was hard to sit normally on the loo. The bed was ok but any movement was magnified to the other person. Breakfast was ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zsaraman
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were visiting family over in the area and with a day out near Bedford we needed somewhere to stop for the night without looking to spend too much. The Verve came up as a recommended option at a good price so we went for it. We arrived quite late in the evening, which meant that we were not able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value, Staff to be praised for their friendliness and service. Rooms spotless but bathrooms on the small side. Would certainly stay here again if in the area. Close to town easy walking distance but Taxis very good value and very prompt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul R, Thank you for your fantastic review and for giving us such a great rating! I am delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for your kind words towards our staff who are all very passionate about exceeding guests expectations. Our hotel is indeed ideally located next to the main train...

Pievepelago, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was there for 3 nights. The staff is very nice and friendly. The cleaning is good and the rooms are comfortable. My room was a little bit small, but for a short period isn't a problem. I recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank massoud2005
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear massoud2005, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Verve Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed by the hotel and our services. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Milena Horrocks Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Bedford for a wedding reception and booked into the Verve following a recommendation. IT is a lovely building with some very striking décor which although probably not to everyone's taste was attention grabbing nonetheless! :-) The rooms we had were 2 doubles which were on the top floor. Although not big they were fine for an overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed N
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Verve last night so we could wonder around Bedford over the bank holiday. You need to appreciate the hotel for what it is which is cheap, good value and ideal for it's location. Staff were very friendly, the rooms were OK, clean and 'apt', unfortunately the bathroom where we were was very small and indeed if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1958Localboy
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1958Localboy, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, it's greatly appreciated! We understand that you found the room small and I would like to advise you that due to the structure of the building room sizes do vary within the same category however very pleased to hear that you were impressed by...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well I will keep it short , but stayed at the Verve hotel , it's a lovely hotel with a decent car park .reception area tidy and comfortable.Got greeted by a receptionist with a smile , got my room and I was happy .bed was comfortable , had a TV set , closet for my cloths , free wifi ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nola Y
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nola Y, Thank you very much for your glowing review following your stay at Verve Hotel. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, in particular the professional service, quality of the food and the decor of the hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many more occasions. Kind...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tried the new Thai restaurant, ive eaten at a few Thai restaurants and the food here was amazing, served very quickly and very well priced, friendly staff and really nice interior, would and will be recommending this place to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xdfgtyiinkpkkgtesfdg
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear xdfgtyiinkpkkgtesfdg, What a wonderful review of your recent experience at our newly opened Blue Orchid Thai Restaurant. We are so excited about our newest launch and we all feel very passionate about its success, and your comments are very encouraging to us! We look forward to welcoming you to Verve Hotel & Blue Orchid Restaurant again very soon. Kind...

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Wow stayed at the verve hotel on Shakespeare road .beautiful hotel very welcoming lovely receptionist who is really friendly and helpful .my room was a double bed very comfortable had a small table for my work , large enough closet for my cloths , shower room decent and very clean , also had a TV for downtime . Once I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
Milena H, Manager at Verve Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom J, We are so thrilled to read your recent review of Verve Hotel and thank you so much for sharing it with us. It is a delight to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the service our team members were able to provide. We are so excited that you share our enthusiasm for our design, ambience...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,568 reviews
0.9 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
1.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
691 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
320 reviews
1.0 km away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Verve Hotel

Address: 27 Shakespeare Road, Bedford MK40 2DX, England (Formerly Shakespeare Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: €72 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verve Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Verve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Bedford
Verve Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Verve Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bedford
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Verve Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 top of the stairs has a King size bed”
A4991KNpaulr, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the back of the hotel offer nice views of the gardens at the rear.”
EdN376, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Very noisy road at the front so pick the rear”
1958Localboy, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Very pleasant hotel with nice restaurant and helpfull, friendly staff.”
carlevans2017, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take earplugs.”
sandrao704, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$134* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$138
TripAdvisorUS$134
Orbitz.comUS$134
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates