We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester

Save
Share
East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$135
US$113
View deal
SAVE US$22
Free cancellation until 19/10/21
Booking.com
US$135
US$113
View deal
SAVE US$22
Free cancellation until 19/10/21
FindHotel
US$135
US$112
View deal
SAVE US$23
Hotels.comUS$113
eDreamsUS$113
StayForLongUS$135
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (191)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 21 hotels in Colchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Salon
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Croatian, Hungarian and 4 more
671Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 245
  • 114
  • 45
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MissS wrote a review Mar 2021
london470 contributions136 helpful votes
Booking was easy and the reception welcome was great. So assume the staff are good. The outside of the hotel is lovely and the reviews were good, we had 2 x executive rooms..... very disappointing. Both rooms were not clean, one room had sticky hand prints on the headboard, all paint work had hand prints and the bathrooms were mouldy. Beds not comfy and was a an awful nights sleep. Wouldn’t recommend shame as lovely building .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ricardo Santa-rita, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your review, I can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations. The executive block has been used throughout lockdown because it means guests can come and go without contact, unfortunately regular tasks have been missed. I am pleased to say that ALL our rooms have been deep cleaned over the last 2 weeks and we are decorating 2 exec rooms from Monday, in readiness for fully re-opening. If you felt able to give us another chance to show you the True Rose & Crown hospitality, a room in the main hotel might suit better. Best regards
Read more
C ts wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed here for a week due to working in the area. I had a executive room what in all honesty was a poor standard double. The room needed a deep clean dusty throughout with splash marks and stains on the walls, unacceptable due to the current circumstances. The mattress was horrendous due to a large dip in the middle. Unfortunately I happened to come across the quilt underneath the cover as I was making my bed and it was quite badly stained what I wish I never saw. There was no towl rail or anyway to dry towels or wet clothing as the radiator was an old electric one with a do not cover sign on it. The plug socket the radiator was plugged in did not look secure to the wall and unsafe. The biscuits supplied with the coffee and tea were out of date and the Internet was poor especially in the early evening during peak times. Overall it was a stay where I was counting down the nights I had to stay in and have advised my company not to book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ricardo Santa-rita, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your review, I can only apologise for the sub standard quality and disappointment. The executive block has been used throughout lockdown because it means guests can come and go without contact, unfortunately regular tasks have been missed. I am pleased to say that ALL our rooms have been deep cleaned over the last 2 weeks and we are decorating 2 exec rooms from Monday, in readiness for fully re-opening. If you felt able to give us another chance to show you the True Rose & Crown hospitality, I would offer a free upgrade to a superior room (after 17th May) which are our most recent refurbishment section. Best regards
Read more
Carol R wrote a review Nov 2020
Brentwood, United Kingdom7 contributions
Despite Covid restrictions in Essex The Rose and Crown Colchester made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. Friendly and attentive staff and excellent food! A great location from which to visit the castle, zoo etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Grantham, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Thanks Carol R for a 5 star review. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards
Read more
GJC50 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom182 contributions174 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed for a Saturday night. Due to Covid-19 impacts and guidelines there were less staff working than normal and the bar was closed in the evening. We had to pre-order breakfast the day before including the time we would arrive to eat - a loss of flexibility but understandable in the circumstances. There was no room service due to covid. The service at breakfast and the front desk was friendly, efficient, and helpful. The hotel is old and full of character. Our bedroom was very spacious, clean, and had a very large 4-poster bed. Also a large bathroom down a few steps. Overall we felt it excellent value for money. The hotel is well location and is a 15 minute walk (up hill) to the town centre, and is close to the river. A few points to be aware of, in many cases due to the age of the property: - the room was at the front of the hotel and faced the main street, although the windows were double-glazed, the busy cross-roads outside was noisy. - the bathroom had lovely old beams in the ceiling and walls and was very characterful, but this included bits of metal and very old nails pocking out in places. - the bedroom was excellent but had surprisingly thin walls. It was if the couple staying in the next room were in our room ; we could hear every word they said and later in the evening, could hear everything they did - the bathroom had two windows. One had a blind.. The other in the corner by the bath had no cover and: there was a sightline to the building opposite to the toilet, shower and bath, which felt a bit uncomfortable, particularly at night with the light on. But overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Grantham, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Hi, Thank you for posting such an informed review which will help many other guests. We had investigated the sightline from the small bathroom window and because of the leading in the window you can not see anything but movements, we tried coverings to give more privacy but nothing so far is functional and in keeping with the look of the bathroom. Hope fully we can welcome you back again. Best regards Hotel Management
Read more
Michael Kemp wrote a review Oct 2020
8 contributions3 helpful votes
I've just left this hotel and it was nothing short of brilliant! The first thing you expect in every hotel is both friendly and welcoming staff. This hotel delivers! The room was clean, spacious and blocked out any noise that may have disturbed otherwise. Ideally located being only a short walk into town. Was a very pleasant stay, if I end up in the area again I'd definetly stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ricardo Santa-rita, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Hi Kempy, Thanks so much we are trying our best under the current situation. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western rose & crown colchester hotel colchester, best western rose and crown colchester, best western hotel colchester, best western colchester, colchester best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Nearby attractions include Doomsday Escape Games (0.1 km), Escape Colchester (1.1 km), and Castle Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miseria & Nobilta', Dr Chippy's, and Mirra.
Does Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Croatian, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roman Circus Visitor Centre (1.6 km), Dutch Quarter (1.3 km), and The Claudius Gateway (0.8 km).
Is Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.