We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Shore Hotel and Golf Club

Save
Share
North Shore Road, Skegness PE25 1DN England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/03/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$119
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 25 hotels in Skegness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on our own James Braid designed 18 hole golf course and next to the beach many of our rooms offer unrivaled views for Skegness. From breakfast in our oak paneled restaurant, lunch in the Braid Bar, a choice of 3 course TDH evening dining or extensive bar menu to the quick nightcap before bed we aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Golf course
Billiards
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
736Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 238
  • 102
  • 57
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carl H wrote a review 6 Jan
2 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for three nights over the New Year with friends and enjoyed our stay. We were unhappy with the room initially allocated to us but we were soon offered an alternative which was a great improvement. The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with quality ingredients which were well cooked. We went to the hotel’s New Year’s Eve Party which included a buffet, disco and Elton John tribute act. We all thoroughly enjoyed the night. The hotel is well situated next to the beach and amenities. We would certainly consider a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Emily D wrote a review 3 Jan
1 contribution
+1
I booked a last minute holiday to The North Shore In Skegness with my son and partner we stayed for 2 nights - North Shore Road Skegness PE25 1DN. First look at the room it looked messy an I refused to use the shower / bath tub. I was more focused on my 4 year old son wanting to walk to the arcades desperately than the room. I saw it as just a place to sleep and doubted that another room would be much better. The double bed we had was two singles that clip together but you couldn’t push them further than the picture attached. Wasn’t comfortable and I have arthritis in my spine so sleeping with a hole in the middle of the bed didn’t do me any good. There should have been another lock on the door but was broken. There was an old chip in the corner of the room and there was a chocolate wrapper and crumbs left from people in the room before us. There was dirt all over the window sills and the bathroom had hairs and grime. The light above my sons bed didn’t work which he kicked up a fuss about as you do at 4 years old. The toilet roll holder wobbles as it’s not screwed in properly and the toilet roll easily slides off. I asked my partner to get me a bottle of water downstairs at the bar, he was told that they don’t sell them. He walked 15 minutes to the co op to get me some water an then when he walked back through he saw they actually did have bottles of water behind the bar. We put out the please service sign but our room wasn’t refreshed. The shower curtain in the bathroom was broken an the attachments from the previous one were still there. The TV remote was covered in muck and I couldn’t believe it considering how bad Covid is at the moment. When I told them at reception as I checked out they told me I should have said to start but we didn’t notice everything to start as we arrived in the dark and my child is at the terrible 4’s age so my mind was elsewhere. I was surprised that we just got ‘sorry’ but you should have said before. Implying it’s my fault. I expected better at £160 for 2 nights! Regarding the state of the room the woman and manager at the reception on 3rd Jan 2022 said I should have said before an they would have put me into another room as they weren’t full. As a customer and not local I am obviously unaware of this and I hardly expect other rooms will be better. The manager told me the tv remote is disinfected and put in a plastic bag due to Covid so he’s trying to imply that over our stay I have caused the filth on the remote. The ‘cleaners’ and other staff members obviously don’t care about the current pandemic. If this break wasn’t for my son I would have only stayed the one night, thankfully there is loads to do in Skegness so we didn’t have to spend much time at the hotel. I am writing this review to warn others as I know I wont get compensation an not even a proper apology. From review answers I’ve seen before, I’m sure this will be read an then they will apologise for “my opinion of their lovely hotel”. Would not recommend! Waste of money! Can sadly only upload 10 photos - have more and a few videos that I can’t upload
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathew Flisher, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Miss Drake, Thank you for your review and I would like to address your review as best as I can. Firstly you were given a full apology on the morning of departure by the receptionist and my Assistant GM, who dealt with your complaint, actually apologised no less than 3 times as we acknowledged thee were certain elements within your complaint that were not to the standard I would expect. We acknowledged your complaint and issued the apology immediately because of the issues you have raised and that our usual high cleaning standards have not been met on this occasion. I have taken these issues up with the housekeeping team and the maintenance issues with the maintenance operative to assess and rectify immediately any issues that they find. We are a very busy golf hotel with large golfing parties and as such this is why most of the rooms are twins that have hotel grade "Zip and Link" beds within them so they can easily become a kingsize bed if required, so please accept my sincere apology if the bed wasn't comfortable for yourself. My team were not implying anything was your fault in any way, shape or form, so again please accept my apology if you feel it came across that way. They were merely asking the question as to why you checked in on New Years Day and decided to wait until 10am Monday, on the day of your departure to inform us of the issues and then ask what we were going to do about it for you? You were told that had you informed us earlier, even if it had been the next morning after your first night stay, we would have gone in to assess the issues and rectify them immediately for you. Alternatively, as you have stated we could have even upgraded you to one of our sea view rooms FOC and even offered you a complimentary bottle of wine or other as a gesture of goodwill. I appreciate that on the morning of departure you stated your worry about the cleanliness and Covid but as we replied to you, we were confused as to why you didnt come and inform us immediately, especially if you had those concerns about Covid. In regards to the cleaners refreshing your room, this is stated in your welcome letter that you would have received upon chekin and in that letter it states rooms are not being refreshed/serviced during this current time (along with many other hotels and hotel chains up and down the country) and this is to eliminate the amount of unnecessary contact between yourself and my team. this is not only for our guests safety but also to safeguard my team from unnecessary contact, which I am hoping you appreciate this reason. In the letter it does state that we will refresh any towels, linen or condiments etc should you inform us at reception and this can be left outside for you in a sealed bag or delivered whilst you are at the room but again please accept my apology if you didnt manage to read this information. Please accept my apologies in regards to the remote control as judging by the photo you have taken it is below standard. I have checked with the housekeeper that serviced the room on that morning and have been told it was in its plastic sleeve upon arrival, unfortunately as we were only made aware of this on departure, I could not confirm or deny if this was the case. Similarly the bin did have a bin bag upon arrival I have been made aware of and as I went up to the room itself immediately after you left to check these issues, I did take some of my own pictures of the room and noticed that you had used a plastic bag of your own that you had used for your rubbish, so again I am confused as to why but I have reiterated this issue to the housekeeping team to ensure all bins are cleaned and have liners in them. I am also sorry that you feel £80 per night for a family room is not good value for money even though this was a New Years Day arrival but once again please accept our apologies that the room has appeared to not be to our usual high cleanliness standards and rest assured I will use this review and relevant pictures to enable us to work on our cleaning regime and improve standards where possible. We value all feedback whether positive or negative as this allows us the opportunity to continue to learn and ensure a consistent approach across all areas of the hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion we have not been able to rectify any issues throughout the duration of your stay as we pride ourselves on always aiming to please and rectify any mistakes that we may have made prior to departure. Kind regards MatF GM
Read more
jennifer j wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
rude unhelpful staff rushed service not a great selection for children and in all fairness the veg was rock solid the roast potatoes were pale turkey was dry and stuffing was mush pigs in blanket were raw no options of vegetables after asking multiple of times for more gravy was scolded not worth the price and was a pure disappointment for our first christmas out of lockdown spending between 600 and 700 the atmosphere killed our christmas spirit
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathew Flisher, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jennifer, I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your Christmas day lunch here with us. We did cater for circa 85 other guests that day and apart from 1 couple who made us aware of their issues I don't remember another person complaining about the food issues you have experienced. It appears that on this occasion you have actually complained about the entire meal seemingly being either under cooked with rock hard veg, pale potatoes and raw pigs in blankets or over cooked eg the turkey being dry and the stuffing being "Mush". I can only apologise if this is how your meal was presented to yourself but also I am a little surprised that I have not had anymore guests come forward on the day or as of yet to complain of these quite serious issues. The stuffing was cut up and served in squares as I was the one ticking off each plate before it left the kitchen, so I can only apologise if from the kitchen to your table the stuffing has disintegrated into "mush" as you have stated. Also, I appreciate that you say there wasn't enough choice for kids but you were sent the preorder form along with everyone else and as I have your pre-order form here in front of me it states you asked for something slightly different for 1 of your children to which we accommodated you for that. If you had any other form of requirements you could have asked us and we would have seen if we could accommodate as we did with other guest, alternatively you could have decided not to frequent our establishment that day if the choices were not acceptable to yourselves. I regards to your comment about rude and unhelpful staff and a rushed service, I am sorry to hear this and will certainly take it up with the team, as I was there on the day and my entire team seemed in very good spirits. As already stated we catered for circa 85 guests that day over 3 sittings every half an hour and as such it has to work like a well oiled machine and I am surprised as some of the feedback I had on the day was a little wait between courses for some tables, so again please accept my apologies if you felt rushed as we did allocate each table at least 2hrs for their lunch but I am sure you understand that the main course will follow shortly after the starters, then a wait for dessert. I can only apologise if you have felt that your Christmas lunch has not been to your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards MatF GM
Read more
Klaw0306 wrote a review Dec 2021
Swansea, United Kingdom56 contributions60 helpful votes
We went to the North Shore hotel for Christmas Day Lunch, fantastic meal, far too much food, there was enough for four but the two of us tried but failed to finish it all. Staff and service were excellent. Thank you all for a wonderful afternoon. We’ll be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathew Flisher, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Klaw0306, Many thanks for your lovely review and I was actually here serving on the day and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the day itself. I will ensure the team read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Kind regards MatF GM
Read more
louise m wrote a review Oct 2021
Retford39 contributions10 helpful votes
The only thing that was good about this hotel was the staff Heating in the room and bathroom didn’t work staff brought plug in heater which I had to move into the bathroom when I had a bath. Room was clean. Evening meal was not worth the money had a seafood platter very basic and bland Breakfast wasn’t much better paid for two breakfast didn’t bother with the second Had to ask for a clean cup as room wasn’t serviced Lighting in car park was very poor
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathew Flisher, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Responded 13 Nov 2021
Dear Louise, I am sorry to hear that it appears on this occasion you were very dissatisfied with the hotel and certain elements. Please accept my apologies if the rooms heating was faulty at the time of your stay as we work hard to rectify all issues as they arise within an old building such as this. We have however invested a significant amount of money back in March to upgrade the entire boiler system for the hotel thus dramatically improving it from last year, however we are still coming across the odd issue such as yours and for that I wholeheartedly apologise for that unforseeen issue. I am sorry to hear that you didn't think much to the food here and I will certainly look into this as it is rare to get a food complaint here due to the quality and value for money the dishes represent, especially the positive comments we receive everyday for the breakfast. Unfortunately like many a hotel up and down the country we are not fully servicing rooms at this current time when guests are staying more than 1 night and this is due to the precautions surrounding Covid which is still very much a concern and this measure is put in place not only for the guests peace of mind but also for my housekeeping teams. We do however still refresh towels and tea and coffee etc at the guests request, which is detailed in the welcome letter everyone receives at check in and you would have received this also. I will investigate the lighting in the car park but we believe the lighting is pretty good within the car park, so whether a flood light was faulty at the time of your visit I will look into but all are working now and are on a timer to come on at dusk right through to dawn and also the car park is covered by CCTV which only works with a well lit car park. Again please accept my apologies if you think this should have been better in your opinion. Kind regards MatF GM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
north shore hotel course
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLincolnshireSkegness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Which popular attractions are close to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Nearby attractions include Natureland Seal Sanctuary (0.8 km), Skegness Pier (1.2 km), and Escape (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steak n Stuff, San Rufo's, and The Steamboat Cookhouse and Pub.
Does North Shore Hotel and Golf Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burgh le Marsh Heritage Centre (6.6 km).
Does North Shore Hotel and Golf Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is North Shore Hotel and Golf Club accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.