We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (22)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)


Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know


Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
13Attractionswithin 0.5 km
18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 37
  • 12
  • 11
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dreadful. Filthy, smelly, disorganised, way overpriced. We had booked this well in advance, but on arrival we found our booking was lost, he offered to set a room up for us but just the look and smell of the place and the scruffy and incompetent owner made our decision to cancel
Read more
I normally check places on TripAdvisor but this was last minute and the only available room in skegness on what was a very busy weekend. Communication with the owner prior to arriving was excellent pity the room didn't match. Was told on arriving that the bar restaurant was
Read more
I have stayed in hotels, guest houses, bed and breakfasts around the uk and the world. This is the worst place ive been to. The room smelled of dogs. Couldnt sleep as two dogs fighting in corridor outside my room. Also kept awake by someone trying to dismantle a pram in the
Read more
Booked for one night, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and more than met our expectations for the price having plenty of complimentry coffee and tea in the room and shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. There is a good size breakfast room and the
Read more
First impressions mean an awful lot it was horrible the entrance was filthy carpets stained it stunk I can honestly say I will NEVER I WILL REPEAT NEVER EVER will I return to this place again the bathroom window didn't close it was broken the shower I wouldn't step foot in
Read more
Response from Suzanne B, Manager at Merrydale
Responded 10 Aug 2017
thankyou for your commemt first I would like to say my rooms are cleaned everyday and if you had a problem why not say you didn't have to stay if you want 5 star then pay for 5 star I would have gladly refunded your money because I would sooner have people in my band b who are not snobs and call my staff my cleaners are the best has for the window it does close if you try and the carpets are cleaned but when you get about 200 people a week trailing sand and dirt in they are going to get dirty pluss they get changed every year at end of season you are quite welcome to come and clean if you think you can do a better job
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
dinnig room
"All rooms have a tv, most have en suite facilities, all are fully furnished. All rooms are quiet, whichever floor."
"Rooms are much of a much ... none has an advantage, as far as I could see, but all are good."
"Room 3 - I've travelled a lot and this is the comfiest bed I've ever stayed in."
"the rooms are quite basic - but have everything you need - but for service, cleanliness and value - it would be hard to beat"
"If you're after a bed to sleep for the night this is the hotel for you."
United KingdomEnglandSkegness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing