We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

New Hall Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for New Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,084: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Service, people and food OK. However when it came to the accommodation that proved to be disappointing. The room size was good but the condition was poor bearing in mind the cost of the room. The problems included dirty/stained carpet, dusty surfaces, light bulbs not working, mould and soap stains in the bathroom. The whole room needed a refurbishment. This...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Derek D
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent return. Although we will shortly be embarking on a period of refurbishment it is clear from your comments that there were some lapses in basic housekeeping. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and rest assured that I will be discussing them in detail with...

London
Reviewed 21 September 2015

New Hall used to be one of my preferred places to stay when needing accommodation in the area. For the first time during our recent visit I felt that as guests we had to fit around the operation rather than the operation fitting around the guests. Although all the staff were trying hard, it just did not come together this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheLondon
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your constructive review following your recent return to New Hall. I must say I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet the level of both service and flexibility that you have enjoyed in the past. Please rest assured that I will be discussing your comments with the relevant departmental managers. If...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

A great short break for a special occasion. Upon arrival we were impressed by the hotel setting. We received a friendly and professional welcome from Des at reception which set the tone for the rest of our weekend. Nice rooms, lovely grounds and amazing food. We'd highly recommended this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J D
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your “amazing” review and recommendation. I will be sharing you comments with Des and the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the New Hall Hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention. Kind Regards Scott Deputy General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My partner and I stayed at the New Hall Hotel & Spa as we were attending a wedding at the venue. The room was lovely with a good selection of complimentary teas and coffee in the room. The ceilings in the bedroom were high and there was a very nice view into the courtyard outside. What really lets this place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean R
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was glad to see that you enjoyed the Hotel, the grounds and that you found the staff to be pleasant. We are very lucky to have such a very special and picturesque venue for weddings. I would like to apologise that you found our drinks prices to...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed on business for a few days, and couldn't fault the building, the staff were lovely and friendly, and there was so much character - getting lost to find my room (which I did on a number of occasions!) wasn't a chore as it enabled me to have a good look around the place! So all in all, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulio1978
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I would like to apologise that you found our drinks prices to be expensive, a bottle of wine from our wine list start from £23 and our glasses of wine start at £6 .Our spirits,...

Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I have stayed here a couple of times and have enjoyed both stays. The hotel is located down a long, rather narrow lane in a sort of castle/manor house type building and looks good as you walk down the gravel path from the car-park. Check-in is a fairly normal experience, with a very friendly reception, apart from the rather annoying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark_from_Thailand
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review following your recent visit, I can see that you level 6 contributor and as such your comments mean a lot to us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the New Hall Hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention. Kind Regards Scott...

Manchester
Reviewed 17 September 2015

On checking into New Hall hotel after a four hour delay on the motorway it would have been nice to have a warm welcome from the front of house a big surly man called Des so first impressions not so good,thank god it all change at the restaurant the staff where amazing,Paige our waitress was so lovely and the fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mtk2361
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you some much for your fantastic review and recommendation. Lisa and Paige are both fantastic ambassadors for the hotel and I will be sharing your kind words with them and the rest of the team. I can only apologise for the welcome you received from Des which is definitely out of character, please rest assured that I...

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Stayed here for one week.Beautiful hotel excellent service very friendly staff .The gardens were beautiful.Held a family wedding ,perfect location.The rooms were very comfortable ,and the breakfast was excellent.Would love to go back for another visit,we were visiting from Australia,and they made our family very welcome. We all enjoyed every minute of our stay and didn't want to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 293Elizabeth
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for you review following your recent visit to New Hall. I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you if you are back in the UK in the future. Kind Regards Scott Deputy General Manager

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Just had afternoon tea at this lovely hotel crafted from a moated manor house. The surroundings of the building are exceptionally well-kept and create a very good impression as one approaches. We entered by the main hotel entrance and were greeted and escorted courteously to the tearoom by a smiling young man. The tearoom staff were friendly and attentive but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher R
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow what a fantastic review, it is clear that you enjoyed you afternoon tea with us. I wll be sharing your kind words with the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the New Hall Hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention. Kind Regards Scott...

Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

A perfect location for a wedding. The house and grounds are breathtakingly beautiful (although watch little ones near the open ponds!!) The service was perfect and the marque for the wedding breakfast ideal. It was set out of the way and felt private with plenty of space for children to run around outside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicky W
Scott-T-McDonald, Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review following your recent visit, I can see that you level 6 contributor and as such your comments mean a lot to us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the New Hall Hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention. Kind Regards Scott...

886 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (498)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Double-King Bed Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (31)
Viewed
Executive Double King Room (26)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Spa Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.5 km away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
1,427 reviews
8.4 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
953 reviews
3.3 km away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,580 reviews
31.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,552 reviews
13.8 km away
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: €127 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the old house if you can”
 of 5 bubbles DominikL694, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“further along the hallway will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles berenicestill, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the old part (castle) over looking the great gardens”
 of 5 bubbles RonaldD40, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for a Delux Double or Suite!”
  • Sirius Room
 of 5 bubbles dorothyr638, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Extend your search”
 of 5 bubbles RogerW870, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay