We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Hall Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,065 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,056: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 16 on the ground floor, it was generously proportioned with adequate bathroom facilities. The hotel is very atmospheric, with some amazing reception rooms furnished with some wonderful quality pieces of period furniture and beautiful stained glass leaded windows. The staff were terrific, friendly, warm, helpful and chatty. One or two of them went out of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Family afternoon tea celebration Room was freezing on arrival but staff soon got it going although then it went over the top! Sandwiches were nice but would have liked brown and/or granary as well Trifles and scones were yummy but apparently pistachio cake was tasteless Tea and coffee was plentiful but would have liked a pot rather than tea bag... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. I am very surprised to read of your experience and offer my most sincere apologies. I would very much like to discuss your experience so that I may understand why several of our service standards were not met. If you would feel comfortable in contacting me... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Given as a wedding gift, this was our first visit to New Hall. The Spa was clean and reception staff very friendly. After our Spa we went for afternoon tea at New Hall. Again the waiting staff were friendly and informative. Food itself was what I call proper sized sandwiches and plenty of them! Abundance of cakes and scones too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for the kind comments. We hope to see you again. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived every member of staff made us feel welcome. All so friendly and want to have a little chat. The building is just amazing and you really feel you are in a place of history. I would advise you to avoid the restaurant as me and my partner went on our first evening and for two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and thank you of the feedback that you have provided. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your evening dining in our restaurant. The detail that you have provided will be passed on to our new Head Chef David. David has recently joined the hotel from one of our sister properties with... More 

Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice room and the restaurant food was good. When we arrived there was nobody at reception and this was a sign of things to come regarding the staff. We upgraded our first meal to "fine dinning", the food was good but the service was terrible. At one point our plates were picked up and taken to another... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is disappointing to read that you did not take the opportunity to raise the apparent lack of customer service displayed within our reception and restaurant areas during our various interactions following your stay. We are indeed very sorry that our normal standard of guest care was not delivered and would have been more than happy to look... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A classic venue in a beautiful setting. I think this is the first moated hotel I've stayed in! The room was 61 or Amabilis, the accommodation was classic and fitting the age of the building. I was tired after a long drive so had a lovely hot shower and then room service for dinner. Part of the reason for choosing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dr_Waugh
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, we will certainly look to make improvements to the areas that you have pointed out. To clarify our room service steak dish is served with peppercorn sauce, this should have been presented automatically with the dish. The fact that this was not was indeed an oversight on our part, I am... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to a small business conference here. Its a fantastic looking building, and the meeting used the Great Chamber which was very impressive. Stayed the night and the room was very pleasant. Very easy access from M42 - so a great venue for a business meeting near Birmingham.

Helpful?
Thank oxfordtreker
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you ofr your review. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and that the historic Great Chamber was a good venue for your business event. The team as a whole hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager More 

New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at New Hall while travelling back from the North West. We arrived late after a difficult journey but were welcomed and reassured about our dinner reservation. We had been upgraded to a suite and had a very comfortable stay. Dinner was most enjoyable, as was breakfast the following morning. The staff at New Hall were friendly and efficient.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 17gc2015
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I am pleased to read that we were able to offer you a warm welcoming following your difficult journey and that from that point on your stay was an enjoyable one. We are blessed with a team that genuinely cares about the experience that they deliver to our guests... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely room for the night, excellent evening meal and excellent service and a good workout in the gym before a very tasty breakfast. Staff very friendly and excellent customer service. Maybe lacked alittle atmosphere... Some Christmas tunes are always a winner!

Helpful?
1 Thank sarasabin
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas tunes will start on the 1st of December! Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just wanted to say that I had an pleasurable experience stopping at your Newhall hotel. I know this review is somewhat a bit late to party however. The location was very idyllic and beautiful. The room I had was absolutely perfect and I would rate it above any I have stayed in before. Very clean and tidy. Upon my... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
ManagerNEW, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review that you written regarding your stay with us, It is really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that Gareth, our Night Porter and Sian stood out for special mention. I will certainly pass on my thanks to them both. Best wishes Gareth Davies General Manager More 

872 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (483)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Double-King Bed Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (31)
Viewed
Executive Double King Room (26)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Spa Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.4 km away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
1,393 reviews
8.4 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
930 reviews
3.3 km away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,528 reviews
31.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#2 of 39 in Coventry
2,483 reviews
13.8 km away
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: €129 - €216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from New Hall Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Extend your search”
 of 5 bubbles RogerW870, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stop in the old original building side”
 of 5 bubbles T5546XKjamesb, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles W7045XHnickg, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Spa and grounds as well”
 of 5 bubbles Jeffg880, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask if they have an event on when you are staying. If this is the case, ask for a room further away from it!”
 of 5 bubbles bec011, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay