We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Culmhead House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Culmhead House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Culmhead House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have just returned from the Culmhead.i spent 2 nights their and all i can say is that the place was stunning and the room was terrific . Mrs Rodgers was a fantastic host , who really went out of her way for me . I had car trouble and was stranded in nearby Wellington , she dropped everything and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul O
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problems you had with your car. S R was delighted to help you . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The photos on the website looked very inviting, so we were suprised on arrival to see the house in such a state of disrepair. The porch housed a dirty great birdcage which had droppings and feathers everywhere which had obviously not been cleaned up for months.Not a good first impression. Going up the staircase which was full of dust and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jentol57
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience was not to your liking. We do our best to ensure the rooms are clean and tidy for our guests. I see that you have picked up on a few areas that need to be looked into from our side. Thank you and we will ensure that these areas are attended to. You do...

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Beech apartment was spacious, fully equipped and set in beautiful countryside. However, the bathroom and kitchen are very outdated. There was no hot water in either the kitchen or bathroom sink (used a kettle to heat water when washing dishes). There was only one lightbulb in the bathroom, the other three were not functioning. These were small things but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnderAfricanSkies81
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on your stay in our home. Your comments have been noted. I apologise for the fact that the hot water was not turned on for you, however had you told us we could have flicked the immersion on for you. I understand the shower was working as it is heated separately. Once again we thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly people me and my better half had lovely stay in the mimosa suite which was like a home from home, very well equipped with everything we could have needed and with amazing views and would highly recommend to our friends to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you returning in the future.

York, Maine
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A very lovely apartment, well equipped and fantastic surroundings. We loved the alpacas and so did our little 18 month old son...and the trampoline and pigs! Susan was a kind host, cot and highchair provided and we had a very comfortable night's stay. The breakfast was top class, lovely Dorset cereals, a full English if you wanted and fresh pastries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomnewton98
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return and lets hope you get some nice weather to enjoy the grounds in . Regards

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The location, food, service and ambience is of the highest standard. The proprietors are charming and interesting people and couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. We unreservedly recommend Culmhead House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you Andy N. We look forward to welcoming you again to our establishment in the near future.

london
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Culmhead House is a large old and beautiful house that offers B&B and self catering options in apartment accomodation. We booked through Hoseasons/Avios using some of our airmiles so had two agents to deal with. I did read all the reviews on trip advisor before booking so had a very clear overview (good and bad) of the place and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michie40
tim r, Manager at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We arrived on a Friday evening to a welcoming Culmhead House and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, enjoying not only the food and the grounds but the beautiful surroundings of Taunton. Many thanks for a fantastic weekend, I have recommended Culmhead House to friends and family alike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
maxntrish
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Well has the place changed! It was lovely last time but the gardens have come on so much and the room we stayed in has been nicely refurbished. The breakfast in the main dining room was very good and varied. Lots of fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants and bread. The eggs also are from theirchickens and they are fresh !!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxntrish
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a great time at Culmhead house. It was very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in the Camellia room which was very peaceful and well fitted out. It had a great wet room! The grounds were lovely and we headed on down to south to Cornwall after a lovely breakfast. We would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisgb

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
145 reviews
5.5 km away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
172 reviews
10.8 km away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
116 reviews
2.9 km away
No. 71
No. 71
#12 of 55 in Taunton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Culmhead House was built in 1850 and offers guests an opportunity to stay in a Victorian Manor House situated 6 miles from Taunton and about 10 miles from the A303 and M5.Our suites are private and spacious and the gardens are there for your enjoyment as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Culmhead House

Address: Culmhead, Taunton TA3 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: €107 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culmhead House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Culmhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culmhead House Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Culmhead House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites and rooms are all good quality especially suitable for families wanting multiple bedrooms in the same suite”
 of 5 bubbles N5345JVbobb, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“For luxury and romance choose Beech suite four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles michie40, 25 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Speak to the owners and let them help you choose the best room for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Louisgb, 21 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3