We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taunton House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taunton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taunton House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Launceston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and found the hotel comfortable and clean. Staff attitude was a bit cold but once the customer engaged with them they were fine. Suggest you do some training on customer service- a smile and hello worth a lot. Breakfast good. Other meals not really available but try local Italian (excellent).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan B
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, the staff always do their best to provide excellent customer service, sorry if that wasn't the case that day, we have recently let a member of staff go. We offer light meals in the evening served either in the restaurant, bar or in your room. We are pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and clean...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

I booked into this hotel expecting it to be basic - it was. The decor was fine and the room clean. The staff were just strange and extremely unwelcoming. I can't remember the last time I booked into a hotel and wasn't welcomed. The lights only come on when you walk down the corridor which just isn't very warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very sorry that the staff on your arrival were unwelcoming, we have since moved this staff member on, we hope this will not deter you from staying again, We always aim to provide excellent customer service, we have the bell as it's a small hotel and staff are often busy at the bar or...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with some friends. The hotel is ideally located for the centre of town but is very basic. Checking in was an experience, the lady had a very bad attitude to customers, a simple smile and a 'good afternoon' doesn't cost anything. Our room had a window overlooking the road which meant we couldn't leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very sorry the staff were unwelcoming on your arrival, we have since moved this staff member on, we always aim to provide excellent customer service, We have lots of rooms at the back of the hotel, just a simple phone call asking to have a quiet room at the back is very possible. Breakfast...

Frequent Business Traveller
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Not sure how this hotel has gained three stars to be honest. Could be a nice hotel but let down by a number of factors. The staff just don't care and unfortunately do not seem to speak decent english. In error items got removed by housekeeping from my room as they thought I had checked out. After two days I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTIMan
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, the staff are very hard working and are often very busy, they do their best to provide excellent customer service, I'm sorry if that was not the case that day. The housekeeping gave all items back to you from the room, I apologise for the confusion in your checkout day. The room is spacious, modern and...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This hotel was clean modern and very comfortable. It was booked for me through the company. This turned out to be a great choice. The cooked breakfast was excellent.Although on a main road it was not that noisy. The bed was comfortable and helped me sleep well after some stressful business days. A spacious car park and the close proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickclarke2016
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for you review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were more than satisfied with your stay.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel . Has everything you require , breakfast was good, rooms and bathroom very clean. Good car park , great location to town , helpful, accommodating. friendly staff. A little on the pricey side if I'm totally honest. Would stay again if visiting the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 230K123
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed you stay and your breakfast, we do our upmost best to provide customers with excellent service. The price is down to the season in the summer, please keep a look out on our website your find the best rates and lots of offers coming up.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Good location for the town center and events at the park with ample hotel parking. Very limited options for breakfast, which was poor. Room was dated. Service lacked professionalism. Poor value for money compared to some B&B's we have stayed. Would stay elsewhere if in the area ever again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGliau81
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are please you liked our excellent location in the town and our free car parking, we are saddened you did not enjoy the breakfast, we offer fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, museli, a cooked breakfast cooked to order with local fresh produce, choice of eggs etc. I'm sorry if this was not to your liking, I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This was our second stay We find that Taunton House is good value as a b&b. Comfortably furnished, kept clean and with friendly helpful staff (not only did we not check in until nearly midnight, but we also arrived for breakfast after it was closed, but the staff were happy to accommodate us on both occasions) Bathrooms are adequate but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmashala
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed you breakfast. Staff do their up most best to ensure customers enjoy their stay in Taunton. Breakfast is cooked using fresh local produce to an excellent standard.

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We were four of us in two superior double rooms for four nights during the cricket festival week at Kings College school, just about one mile up the road. This hotel is well located for the town centre which offers a large variety of restaurants. The hotel standard was very good. An excellent breakfast but limited for evening meals. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven B
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We hope your enjoyed the Cricket festival, we hear it is very popular from all of our guests. We provide light meals in the evening either in our bar, restaurant or your room, we always modernise our rooms and keep everything up to date.

Northlew, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The Taunton House Hotel is a centrally located hotel with its own parking. It has recently been redecorated and the rooms are spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was served swiftly and was pleasant. The staff on site are friendly and polite. We travelled as two couples, staying one night, in upgraded rooms, paying on arrival to save time on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly D
General M, Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we apologise for the plumbing problems we had that night, unfortunately this was out of our hands, this happens very rarely if ever, the staff did their best to try and resolve the problem as quick as possible with a plunger and a plumber was called straight away, unfortunately the plumber...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
608 reviews
0.9 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
363 reviews
0.8 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
144 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
8.1 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: €99 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Taunton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in a superior room and it is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles sim0nfreeman, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get to breakfast early in case the chef decides to clear off early.”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay at this hotel again.”
 of 5 bubbles hollyd992, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“rooms to rear of hotel are quietest”
 of 5 bubbles strobelet, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quieter rooms at the back. No lift rooms on three floors”
 of 5 bubbles 988nigelb, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5