We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Corner House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Corner House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 762: English reviews
athlone
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Stayed for a night whilst on holiday in August. Room was clean, staff were friendly and certainly earned their pay during the key card problem running up and down the stairs to open the room. Evening meal in the restaurant was great, High quality local produce and some very nice cider on tap. Although the bed itself was comfortable once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pemod
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

A great hotel with ample parking. Extremely welcoming surroundings and friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast menu. The hotel boasts it's own wine shop, and for the real ale drinker; offers a very acceptable pint of St Austell's Tribute Pale Ale. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

What is there not to like about a hotel with wobbly beds, squeaky floorboards, absent checkin staff and rooms which smell exactly as they did when the last person left it without having taken a shower for a few days. Assuming you are a person who is lulled to sleep by intermittent but loud traffic outside and occasional pumping tunes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We booked this hotel without checking reviews and I am glad we did as otherwise we would probably not have gone. The room we were given on our first night was not good, very cramped, so that we did not think it could be a double, too stuffy and hot with window closed and very noisy with it open. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HughFB
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel during a trip to Taunton recently. First impressions were that it was a nicely decorated, small hotel with a nice B&B feel to it. The reception area is small, but the bar and restaurant area are spacious and homely. Once you go up the stairs to the accommodation levels, it turns into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nathan H
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan H, Thank you for bringing this to my attention - please may I assure you that this is not our usual guest experience and as such please may I offer you my personal apology. I would like to have the opportunity of discussing your stay with us further - please may I kindly ask you to contact me...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2014

I was offered room 48 at The Corner House Hotel, I am a woman travelling alone. The room is a random room at the back of the hotel near the kitchen and is accessed through the car park, the door to the room is literally on the car park itself. To get to the room you have to walk outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Actingdeedee
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Actingdeedee, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. It was a pleasure to speak to you during our recent telephone call and I hope I was able to assure you that this was exceptional circumstances. Since your stay with us we have had the outside lights looked at and it was...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2014

My friends would be surprised at me giving anything the benefit of the doubt given my generally cynical disposition but whilst there's plenty of work to do at the Corner House to get regular top marks, the staff really are very helpful and friendly and that goes a long way to smoothing over other deficiencies. My room was spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R S K
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dontjustsitroundpool, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. Since your stay with us the key card system has been repaired as we were awaiting a part coming from America...

Bad Soden, Germany
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Great restaurant and friendly staff. to be recommended. rooms a little "tired" but the food and the bar compensates for this. very competitive price and great wine list. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. good sized secure parking as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael H, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and have passed your kind comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Nigel.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2014

My wife and I have often said that we have been lucky with hotels but I suppose a bad one was always inevitable and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. This hotel was booked on a £99 special deal and on arrival we were given room 40 that is in an annexe along a slippy path...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ollie39, It was a pleasure to welcome you both yesterday. I am sorry to hear that the accommodation in the Annexe is not to your expectation however I do hope that you have settled into Room 3 in the main building. If issues are raised the team will do their utmost to resolve them - thank you for bringing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Second time we stayed here first time was very good this time a nightmare dont book disabled room it is in reception you would be better off trying to sleep in a railway station creaky stairs overhead a party of guest in reception outside our front door no keys to rooms we had to be let in by staff the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRyanuk
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrisRyanuk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments. Since your stay with us the key card system is now fully operating smoothly since the delivery of a new part. We do take your comments seriously and are looking at how we can resolve this issue with Room 1. If you wish...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Compact Double Room (24)
Viewed
Double Room (Disabled Access) (25)
Viewed
Executive Single Room (23)
Viewed
Large Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
618 reviews
0.1 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
374 reviews
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
175 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.7 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Wine and Sausage
Wine and Sausage
Cuisines: British, American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: €74 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Corner House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luck of the draw!”
rugbyhead, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room and, if you are staying for more than a night, you may want to ask for one of the bigger rooms.”
YvonneAH190730, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Different room sizes at different prices. Compact room was fine for a short stay but if we stayed longer we would need a bigger room.”
610duffym, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was overlooking car park which I'm assuming is quiter than those facing the road”
475sarahd475, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Big room takes time to warm up”
HenryG1965, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5