We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

York House Hotel

Booking.comUS$83*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$83*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
York House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for York House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Leeds
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at York House for one night whilst attending the wedding of two friends. The hotel provided the catering for the wedding and the food was absolutely fabulous! It was a great place for a function as everything was private including a separate bar area. The room itself was good and we got a good night's sleep. Good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LeedsChrisB
kenilworth
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were welcomed to the hotel at the beginning of our trip and had a nice room with space for all of us- we had a family room. We stayed two nights and the sleep quality was terrible- I am really sorry to say. The nights were warm and with two children we needed to open the windows. The local...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine N
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Looks nice from outside with free parking via a voucher from reception. Reception was OK, pleasant staff. Room is functional but warm and clean with a mini bar that doesn't cost the earth. Attached to a restaurant but I didn't eat there. Area was quiet even though it was quite central to the town. Would I recommend it?. .yes, if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martin c
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

My wife and I stayed (thankfully for one night only) at the York House hotel The building as a whole had an unloved feel and could use some TLC. Our room had a small but well fitted bathroom which only served to underline the poor state of the room itself. The carpet was filthy beyond any hope of cleaning, there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnnpam
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for a week end celebrating my friends birthday they couldn't do enough for you lovely place and lovely people rooms were lovely and so was the breakfast well worth a visit very central so easy for shops and pubs don't need taxis

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnylala
Chester
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We decided to have an impromptu weekend taking in the Hepworth gallery and Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Having looked at the Premier Inn options around Wakefield, decided to plump for the York House as it was more central. The hotel is in a very convenient location (a couple of minutes walk to the centre but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pwbombay
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The Hotel, the Staff, the Family who own it, the Room, the location, Sloanes Restaurant that is part of the Hotel, all I can honestly say is that I could not fault any aspect of our many stays over the past twelve months at this Hotel and I would say they deserve a Five Star review being the best Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David-Kizzy-Flint
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I had my wedding reception here last month following getting married at the town hall just up the road. The location is excellent and great for the town hall and also the cathedral (where we originally planned on getting married but opted instead for the town hall). We booked the wedding package which included a three course meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaynieward5
Newcastle-under-lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Arrived late for 2 nights stay. Restaurant closes early on a Sunday apparently but kind staff rustled up a quick supper for me, Single room rather small with the shower cubicle n the bedroom rather than the bathroom (must have been added later!) which was weird. Centre of town and close to the railway station and all amenities so ok...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz691952
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The room was lovely which me and my partner stayed in the night before My sister had her wedding party, the staff are nothing but rude, the morning of her special day we all went down for breakfast and a women said can you all dress up please, rude considering we was all in a team bride outfit! Not only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg S
Sloanes R, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg, As I've mentioned in my response to your sister's review- we have a policy that pyjamas are not allowed at breakfast and our staff politely enforce this. You were given a lot of food with the afternoon tea including sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream and a variety of cakes. Each 3 tier afternoon tea stand serves...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
5.7 km away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
938 reviews
0.7 km away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
53 reviews
5.3 km away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
868 reviews
4.2 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Address: 10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Price Range: €69 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from York House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Maidstone
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from York House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take one by the door as guests can be noisy when coming back from there night out”
bobjlongstaff, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel”
H6813HDlaurar, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a big room”
annie9755, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They have a great range of rooms from standard, disabled access to luxury rooms located on the top floor of the Hotel.”
David-Kizzy-Flint, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stayed in this room very nice , 213”
inspire12, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$83
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$83
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates