We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 839: English reviews
Start your review of The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended dirty dancing tribute night, really good value for money 25 pound per head, food was lovely, atmosphere was great. Really friendly staff. Had a brilliant night, looking forward to the next movie night mamma Mia.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine I
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine I Thank you for joining us for on our Dirty Dancing night and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the whole evening and found the staff to be so friendly. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you at the...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Happy with room, breakfast and staff. Evening dinning needs a Gordon Ramsey makeover. Didn't have the opportunity to go abroad for our wedding anniversary so decided to go local and have dinner and an overnight stay. Liked the old building and got a large delux bedroom above reception, yes a bit worn but we were happy with it, comfortable bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 50jaf
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear 50jaf Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent anniversary stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your room, hearty breakfast, helpful staff and our beautiful building. I would however like to offer my sincere apologies that your dining experience was a disappointment to you. Following the appointment of our new...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fabulous evening at Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington on Friday last week- great Dirty Dancing tribute act and a really lovely 3 course meal - superb value for money. Brilliant atmosphere, fantastic service and great fun. Will definitely be going again and we are looking forward to the Mama Mia night in May.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellly267
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear kelly267 Thank you for joining us for our first Movie Magic night and I am delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the whole evening.....we certainly had the time of our lives! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you at the next show on 20th May,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended the Bannatyne Hotel in Darlington with friends for a Dirty Dancing tribute night and 3 course meal. The food was really good and loved the entertainment!! Definitely amazing value for money and we will be booking for the next move night in May.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Katie A Thank you so much for attending our first Movie Magic night and I am delighted that you had such a great night. The feedback from the evening has been fantastic! I quite agree the event represented great value for money and we cant wait for Mamma Mia on 20th May! See you there Kind regards Lucy Readshaw...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is excellent as per my previous review, however the Dirty Dancing night was disappointing, though still good value at £25 per head which included a 3 course meal. It was a set meal and we were served ham hock, then pork steak with potatoe, broccoli and green beans. Desert was a bit non descript appeared to be blamange?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJD2007
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear MrsJD2007 Many thanks for attending our Dirty Dancing night and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that as a returning guest, you feel the hotel is 'excellent' and that the night represented good value for money. I am sorry that the actors did not perform the lift at the end, I have spoken to...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a family party and it can accommodate many with adequate, if not plenty of parking. Upgraded to an executive room and still fairly cheap but a bit tired and steps down to the bathroom made it terrifying at night unless the light was on. Bathroom was shabby with mismatched tiles, cracked sink and warm water in the cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith h
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear judith h Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your family party and I am pleased that you found us to offer good value for money and enjoyed our great location but I would like to offer my apologies that your room was a disappointment to you. I do hope that, if you made reception aware of...

Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is clearly an old building and style of hotel, though done very well. Very friendly welcome at reception which was repeated with every staff member i spoke to. My room was small, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING. I deeply regretted eating so much the night before because the food was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavetheFisher
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear DavetheFisher Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the service, standards of cleanliness and an 'outstanding' breakfast. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see...

CONSETT
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Visited for a spa break for my birthday with my daughter. Everything was perfect. Great standard of rooms, very friendly staff and excellent food. Would definitely visit again. Had dinner bed breakfast and afternoon tea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConsettJojo
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear ConsettJojo Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback following your Spa Break with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found that 'everything was perfect'. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Lucy Readshaw General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Booked a weekend away for my wifes anniversary as a spa package. Firstly we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, nice hotel and good facilities. The hotel itself was clean and of a good standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds we found were VERY comfy. Now for the facilities, as others have mentioned the spa and leisure facilities are some distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Alan R Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your recent anniversary stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including comfy beds, helpful staff and hearty breakfast. I am so pleased that you would 'absolutely' return to stay. Thank you again for your...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

hotel and spa WHAT SPA????? its a five minute drive away, come tell people why you do not tell them the spa is NOT on the site of hotel hotel was busy and could not take my car out or I would never have got back in car park on the up side the staff are great can't do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickford34
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear mickford34 Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington for your recent stay. I am sorry if you were unaware that our Health Club and Spa are not located at the hotel. Our website clearly states "Guests at the hotel have complimentary use of the state of the art Bannatyne Health Club and Spa, which is a pleasant walk or...

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
1.1 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
749 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,355 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
10.1 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Price Range: €79 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington England
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive had large en suite and garden view”
judithh977, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one at the back to avoid road noise.”
DavetheFisher, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“garden view”
Maeve123456, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would recommend the double executive rooms - lots of space”
445janetr, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the gardens are the quietest,”
davedonk, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5