We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Poole

Expedia.comUS$98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$116*
US$98*
US$116*
US$98*
US$116*
US$98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Poole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 855: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle Poole
 Click to rate
Kent, UK
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for work (Poole Maritime Festival 2017), and generally you accept what you are given without checking, as you are not paying for it. The hotel does look a little dated in my opinion, but once you have booked in, seen your room, spoken to the staff and eaten the restaurant, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyPol
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Incredible value - a freshly sliced roast beef sandwich PLUS freshly cooked French fries, home made coleslaw and salad garnish with great French dressing was under £6. Other half had a more expensive smoked salmon sandwich with the same add ons. But you go anywhere else and ghastly chips are £2 minimum side order. Service was friendly and efficient on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J43BPpatb
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel following your recent lunch with us. I'm very pleased that you found us to be incredible value and that you enjoyed all aspects of your lunch. I have shared your comments with the whole team in order to ensure that they remain motivated to continue...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is in an excellent location being on the seafront. We went for a meal and drinks a couple of weeks ago, in the downstairs bar. (10/5). Only a few comments to make :- Bar service good; Price of drinks outrageous eg 330ml bottle of London Pride £3.25. (Approx £6 per pint!). Seemed very odd to have Sky Sports...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardwainwright50
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for completing a Trip Advisor review following your recent visit with us. I'm pleased that you found our location excellent, although disappointed that you were not satisfied with our menu prices. With regards to the London Pride, please be advised that these prices are determined by our suppliers, I will be sure to pass on your...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

if you are staying in this over priced dated hotel then i would suggest when you have breakfast go else where along the quay. had to wait 20 mins just to get a table in the restaurant, then another wait for eggs while the rest of my breakfast went cold. no melon or even topped up...the young lad was trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennynash77
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel following your recent visit. I'm pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements, however shocked to note that you experienced issues at breakfast. As you will see from many of our other reviews, namely the one beneath yours, our breakfast offering regularly receives praise....

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in May. We were welcomed and checked in by an extremely pleasant lady who also told us about local events taking place. Breakfast was busy but expertly handled by the staff and the quality was excellent. Overall a fantastic experience with all staff members being extremely friendly. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time and making the effort to complete a review of our hotel following your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and in particular found our staff friendly and well trained as well as finding our breakfast offering excellent. I look forward to welcoming you back...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel, maybe a bit more than we usually pay but well worth it. What a good place to stay, we had a harbour view room (so that probably put the price up a little bit)lovely and clean -nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, plenty of toiletries could ask for more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia h
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and in particular found our team to be friendly and helpful and our breakfast offering great! I have shared all of your feedback with the entire team here to ensure that they remain motivated to...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is on Poole Harbour with gorgeous views, As requested we had a room, and restaurant table, overlooking the harbour. Every member of staff we encountered was pleasant, courteous, and so wanted to be sure we enjoyed our stay. We had dinner in the restaurant....good menu choice; beautifully cooked food; and excellent service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scillyperson
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very pleased that you had a great visit and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another excellent visit! Warm Regards, Jonathan Bowen General Manager

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been staying in Thistle hotels since the 1990s, this is one I wanted to try, being the only one left outside London. It is certainly preserved in a time warp, but in a good way. My room was on the ground floor to the rear and was very quiet. A typically well appointed and spacious room with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements and that you wanted to sample our Thistle offering based outside of London. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found our hotel had all your required amenities. I have shared your feedback...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Haven't stayed at a Thistle hotel for many years and so I managed to book this hotel whilst we were at the Swanage railway and wanted to be based here for a change. It is simply a wonderful hotel in every detail; comfortable rooms, good food and very helpful service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisB090
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. I will share this feedback with the entire team to ensure that they remain galvanised to continue to offer this high level of service. I hope to welcome you back again in the near...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes its a great location, but hotel was not up to expectations, as someone else said, it was "adequate" there weren't many staff in the restaurant, all seemed very young and inexperienced, dinner was poor and we couldn't have 8pm had to 7pm although it wasn't full, table of 10 after us were upset as food ran out, on such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharpgreer
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our location, however saddened to note that you experienced some problems with our restaurant team - please accept my sincerest apologies for this. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly on the below email at...

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Brown Room (34)
Viewed
Double Plum Room (33)
Viewed
Double Stripe Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (24)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,126 reviews
4.0 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
4.1 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,413 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Price Range: €92 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Poole staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Staffordshire
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Poole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't forget to register your car when you check-in.”
AndyPol, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“No comments did not stay in hotel - just bar.”
richardwainwright50, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a wonderful view across the harbour to Brownsea Island”
Scillyperson, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Great location but thats all...”
sharpgreer, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“even number rooms have harbour views”
molliejeff, 7 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$98
Hotwire.comUS$98
HotelQuicklyUS$116
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates