We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary

View Deal
#10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Has to be the dirtiest Starbucks I ever visited. The two people serving didn't lift a finger to clean up, even when I mentioned how dirty it was. The tables were covered in crumbs as was the floor; dirty cups and plates were scattered around. There was no one in there except my daughter and myself, so I don't know...

Thank James E
Meopham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Needed an overnight for an event nearby. Travelodge was the closest and luckily the cheapest. As usual the standard is high in that it's clean and the bed is comfortable. Check in was as painless as usual with a particularly nice lady who was happy to help with suggestions for dining or having food delivered. No attached dining but there...

Thank Blackrat751
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean fresh and warm nothing else you need shame we had to cut our stay down due to family emergency at home, we would stay here again, its central to where we needed to be and easy to find with ample parking shame the little chef has gone and theres a starbucks in its place

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank _robb2406
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I went round twice trying to find this hotel from the A12. Did probably an extra 8 miles. The entrance is hard to find and poorly signed, and there is no signposting leading you to it. Once found, it is quite pleasant and the room was large and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank angela3472
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

After travelling from the north of England we arrived a little early for check in and was told £10 for early check in , very disappointed as the receptionist could have used a little discretion ,so we had to find something to do for an hour and half , not something you want after a long journey, but when we...

Thank Jacky S
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your review of our Ipswich Capel St Mary Travelodge. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our Early check in Policy. We can confirm this is a standard across all of our hotels as usual check in time is 3pm. We charge £10 extra to benefit from gaining access...

Reviewed 22 March 2017

This was the first time I have travelled with my dog and my first time in a Travelodge. From the moment I arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and interested. I had research what was offered and what not ahead of my stay and Travelodge provided just what it said on the tin. For the price the facilities and size...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Petra W
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Just needing a bed for the night near Ipswich/Hadleigh this Travelodge is OK. You get what you pay for if you know what I mean. For £42 a night you don't expect the Ritz. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable, although my wife said the following morning that the quilt cover had been put on...

Thank Jeff W
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel team as this will give them grounds for improvement. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you again and improve your views on Travelodge.

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Had to open the windows and turn off the heating as the room was to warm for us. At night, the wundowa were shut which stopped all traffic noise. We had a family room and the room itself was vrry spacious. Bath could have done with being deeper and longer but was still nice to have the option of bathing...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Vicky C
Le Mesnil Gilbert
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Everything was as expected, no problems or complaints, comfortable, clean stay , plenty of hot water, efficient shower, lovely fresh, big towelst, enough tea and coffee etc. We slept really well in the lovely bed and pillows,

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank barrybI6254XS
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed here on the way to london and was the usual hotel you would expect from travelodge which suits are needs.There was a little chef/burger king across the way (read the reviews) and a petrol station too. The hotel was clean and tidy,This one was advertised with the new upgraded beds etc. The next morning after our stay we...

Thank Stevie T
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your helpful review of our Ipswich Capel St Mary with us. We are so sorry to learn that you found our beds to be uncomfortable, please rest assured your comments have been noted and passed to the hotel team. We aim to provide a great stay for all of our guests and...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (2)
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
3.5 km away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
8.2 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
455 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
815 reviews
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
6.1 km away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary

Address: South London Road, Ipswich IP9 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range: €47 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary Hotel Ipswich
Travel Lodge Ipswich
Ipswich Travel Lodge
Ipswich Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ipswich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on first floor and heard hardly anything”
missdaisy53, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back don't get direct sun for the whole day so better if you want a cool room in warmer weather.”
SKALondon, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“An end room, less people to pass your door at night. Also room towards the back, not facing the A12 dual carriageway.”
spaldingrambler, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All OK but recommend on the far side of the hotel away from the A12.”
L7225ZVchristinec, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Our room was quiet no13”
573margaretw, 27 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$54* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates