We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Ash

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Ash
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Ash
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good points: Friendly staff with a warm welcome Great location walking distance to everything Clean enough Comfortable bed Breakfast included and a friendly waitress Negative: Could do with some decorating, bathroom very tired Floor above us was really creaky, obviously didn't drink enough to block out the sound of people moving about above! Overall, not a bad place. Bit run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6strungplank
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I doubt I'd stay here again, tho the staff are very polite and friendly and breakfast was nice the room was tired and needs some tlc. The curtains are hanging off the rails, the cold tap in the bathroom made a horrible noise, wallpaper off in bathroom which also had no lock and the sunk was cracked, we were in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline W
united kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel were so polite and lovely felt sorry for them as the state of the hotel was out of their control. The hotel is up for sale and hopefully will be restored and updated. the hotel is in an ideal location for the town and for venues. The heating was not working the furniture did not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Katrina E
Grandashhotel, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

if your going to quote TV programmes then you should ensure you fully understand them, Your understanding of fawlty towers is flawed, to my certain knowledge it never had a complaint about the rooms or the heating and contrary to your poor review the plot was mostly if not always regarding staff, manager and guest interactions, your review is most...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

A budget hotel in the centre of town. The room was clean, the bathroom too. I had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed. I had a great cooked breakfast served by friendly staff. All for half the price of the travelodge. Having read the reviews, I wasn't too sure what to expect. The Grand Ash was better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palmis61
Grandashhotel, General Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

A delight having you stay with us, our chef was so pleased you enjoyed our substantial breakfast which offers great value for money, our prices are extremely reasonable and we don't pretend to be something were not, we are well aware that the nearby hotel is a major competitor who offers rooms which are just factory made pods and faceless...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

I arrived at the hotel on Friday , with my husband and daughter , we had booked a triple room , what we got was a room with three single beds , the guy who checked us in wasn't very friendly and told us where are room was. once we got to our room , it was absolutely Freezing ,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sue H
Grandashhotel, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Your recollections are very different to actual the facts, I assume you've been reading up on Alternative Facts currently trending in the USA, you first complained about the bed configuration, we checked the booking.com reservation and you got exactly what you ordered a triple bedded room, we kindly moved you to a small family room so why you are complaining...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Parking isn't great but we were lucky to get a space not far from the hotel. The person who spoke to us wasn't very welcoming. The hotel itself is very old fashioned. We had booked and paid for a triple room but they put us in a room with 2 single beds head to toe. We complained and he put...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank reviewer3395
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

we arrived and all was well greeted and told not shown where our rooms were which is pretty normal for a budget hotel. thats the anywhere near bit of descent is over. we were a group of friends going to watch a music concert which we have done many times and stayed at hotels all over the country none of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Marc D
wirral
Reviewed 20 November 2016

If I was not so desperate for a room I would not have stayed here, but I booked on line and was going out to a party in the area. The room was in my opinion only fit to be a single room, it had 2 single beds a wardrobe and a dressing table, this made the room a close...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank helgw
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We arrived at the reception and the manager just stared at us without uttering a word, which we felt a bit uneasy about. After getting the hotel keys, we were arrogantly told to "carefully" use the shower ie. leave the shower curtain in, make sure the floor is dry etc and double reminded us that the it is an old...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Edmund T
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Hotel for sale at our stay but the staff could not have been better, the lady at breakfast even offered to bring in BBQ sauce as we commented that our youngest daughter has it on everything and she said her kids did too!!!! Room was basic but clean, new TV and plenty of space. The only issue was that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott R

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
1.0 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
458 reviews
0.8 km away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
495 reviews
0.3 km away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.6 km away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
301 reviews
0.4 km away
Min y Don
Min y Don
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: €53 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Ash staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Ash staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pot luck what you will get can't comment on other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 914katrinae, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It has a lift to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles palmis61, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't use room 1”
 of 5 bubbles helgw, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if ur given room 25---ask for another immed”
 of 5 bubbles davelT1861JV, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Location is excellent, it worth the price or more. They have lift! (not large)”
 of 5 bubbles P5829MVcindym, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5