We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

765 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 764: English reviews
Start your review of Ambassador Hotel
 Click to rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's our 3rd visit to this hotel as we just love it. The location is perfect and the breakfast and service is always great. Will be back. It's a minute walk to the beach and the town, we just love it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Dave_Teddy
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Ambassador Hotel. The staff are a credit to the place, very friendly and accommodating. The afternoon tea was good, especially the scones and Bucks Fizz!! Unfortunately the room let the Hotel down!! We were put on the 3rd floor-not ideal with a dog. It was very small, dated and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxpauline
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon and thank you for your review, Our team will be made up to see your kind comments. The hotel is currently working very hard on updating the rooms and many other things in and around the hotel with work continuing throughout the year. I would like to thank you once again for your review and wish you all...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my wife for 1 night in feb 17. the hotel is very nice, maybe the decor could do with updating. the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.the room we were given was at the back of the hotel. it was on the small side but adequate for 1 or 2 nights. the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven b
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for your review, I am pleased to see both you and your wife have had such an enjoyable stay here with us at the hotel, Sea front rooms are available which do incur an change of view supplement. We will look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 2 night break a this hotel on entering the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful the room we stayed in was very clean and tidy. breakfast was very enjoyable could not fault it there fruit, yogurt ,cereal, and there was a choice of full English or kippers would go again and would recommend to other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie c
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon and thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are ever so pleased you have enjoyed your stay and the service from the team. I would like to thank you for your recommendation and will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My mother and I had a very nice time. We had a top floor room facing the cable car. The hotel were very nice and could not do enough for us. Parking space was difficult to find, can park only for 1.5hrs on side streets, when we finally found a space on the prom the cost was £3 for 10am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne7386
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed in what they call a spa room, but I still don't know why, the only thing different from other rooms was that the wash hand basin was in the main room and not in the bathroom, but the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff made it such a nice welcoming place to stay, with afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay here with us. I am unsure as to what room you stayed in as all our spa rooms have names and non of which have sinks in the bedrooms. Our team will be made up to see...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights on a groupon deal,the room was small, probably a single converted to a double, disabled persons toilet and shower ! we found poo on the chair ! blood on a pillow, cigarette ash on the window sill, I suppose you get what you pay for !! The breakfast was ok but 2nd morning the fruit and yoghurt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank criticaljohn
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear not everything was up to scratch with your stay. I have now had time to see the relevant team members who dealt with the points you raised, the chair had been changed by martin ( duty Manager) immediately upon complaint and I myself changed the pillow whilst...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for 2 nights on a wowcher deal. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Deal included a 2 night stay with breakfast which was very good and 1 afternoon cream tea/coffee, scones and bucks fizz which was also very good. We were in a side, bay windowed room which had a view of the little Orme....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey f
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay here with us, our team will be very happy to see they have been rewarded once again for their hard work. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel was OK. Our room was quite cosy and warm. The bathroom clean and neat. We didn't spend much time in the room as the weather was quite pleasant so we were mainly sightseeing. I wasn't impressed with the breakfast - the dining area was absolutely packed, staff rushed off their feet, many non-re-set tables, so only by a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueEyed85
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your overall stay here with us and in Llandudno, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked to stay in this hotel for my 22nd birthday. We stayed in the Gronwen Room on the top floor. The room was clean and tidy. However, the most irritating thing was the lift. Everytime it stops the motor makes a loud screeching noise so expect to be awake early hours. The lift does stop at 11.30pm but the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Th95xx
chrishooperch, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your over all stay. I will be looking into the points you have raised further and taking action were it is required. thank you once again for your review and I wish you all the best on your future travels.

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
1,319 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
1,153 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
783 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
432 reviews
0.3 km away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#35 of 59 in Llandudno
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay more for a decent room!!”
maxpauline, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“sea view rooms are bigger”
Q3384HNstevenb, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A spa room looks out over the see and the pier can be seen”
MichaelL297, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“sea view best”
criticaljohn, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are fine...no noise.”
holidayreviewsfromme, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5