We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay County Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Just returned from a nice 5 day break, which we enjoyed. However we didnt like the room we were allocated, so upgraded to a sea view- well worth it. Two easy chairs and a small table in the bay window made it very comfortable for reading and enjoying the view. the thing that really spoiled our stay whilst in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mel w
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melw I do agree with your tip it is well worth upgrading to one of our superior rooms to add extra comfort to your holiday and I do take your point about the squeaking floorboards. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

At the end of March we came down for a week in Llandudno with Shearings and stopped at the County, the tour drivers Steve and Mick were excellent, we went on two of the tours which were quite good. The staff at the County from reception / dinning room / bar / cleaners also were excellent, efficient and friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CowsHolidays
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CowsHolidays I'm pleased to read how impressed you were with the food and the service you had during your stay. My apologies for your obvious dissapointment with your room decor. We are constantly upgrading rooms and pulic areas and later this year we will address 224. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

pick up 6.00am in Sunderland , various other pick ups on route to Shearings Normanton Interchange, boarded our coach to llandudno at 10.30am after a long day arrived hotel at 2.45pm, had paid extra £10 on booking to have walk in shower no bath , yes a nice gesture as to 2 small bottles of wine in room wishing us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michael h
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichaelH Reading your review I think it's very acurate and on the whole very positive I cannot comment on your journey. It's very common that Pub and hotel prices differ but I don't think we are extortionate. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Just stayed once again 10th August weekend. This is a very well run hotel by Andy and his staff. Nothing can be faulted. All staff are very friendly and make your stay a very pleasant one.There is plenty to do and see in Llandudno and the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david h
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davidh You have cheered me up no end with your fantastic review and its great to read that you and your friends enjoyed Llandudno and the County. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Great service from Shearings but the 2 single rooms we had where a real let down..the room was small and cold..the tv was embarrassing with only 4 channels and u need to be a giraffe to watch it properly in bed ..all the tv's should be the same single or double..had the breakfast once (please change your sausage suppliers) and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mudfeet
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mudfeet Being an Everton fan I,m sure you are used to feeling let down. But seriously we are updating our TVs as fast as we can Many thanks for your comments about the food I will pass them on to our Chef. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Atherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Just spent a lovely weekend at the Bay County Hotel. A surprise choice as gift from my wife. The hotel, was spotlessly clean, staff friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Have been to other bay hotels before, so knew what to expect. Food choice was very good, service in the dinning room first class. Bruno, our waiter for the weekend was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jimmy B
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimmyB What a lovely and clever thought from your wife to treat you to a holiday for your birthday especially as she gets to come with you. I think you are being very hard on Sheila most of our guests love her. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Came here last week with national holidays. The building itself is an old victorian building. It has just one lift for 2 people only. Lots of stairways to floors, with winding corridors. Paid extra for a room with a view but unfortunately was allocated a room with a very small window. Room itself needed painting. Comfortable bed and nice decor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elke M
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dera ElkeM Thank you for taking the time to post your review which is a real mixed bag. We are constantly painting our rooms to try and maintain them to a high standard but I apologise if we hadn't got to yours. Thank you for the positive comments you make about the service and I am really pleased you had...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Having booked a coach holiday to Llandudno with Shearings, I thought I would be onto a good deal. Sadly I was mistaken. We had paid a fee for a see view, we had it but it was not one that you could sit in an easy chair to view. There was no easy chair and you had to stand to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Linc0lnYell0wBelly
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LincionYellowBelly I'm really sorry to read about your dissapointment I take issue with your comments about our cleanliness but I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food. I do accept that Wales in winter doesn't compare with Turkey or Tunisia but then neither do the prices. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

I have never holidayed alone before and was a little anxious but i really should not have been. The hotel sits you with other solo travelers for meals so you soon get chatting and everyone was really friendly and great company. I enjoyed the entertainment and the quiz's and the drinks are reasonably priced. I did pay for a sea...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank possumaly
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Possumaly This is quite possibly the best review I have ever read. When reading your review on Trip Advisor I'm sure it will encourage other solo travellers to try Shearing's Holidays. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

grimsby
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Arrived on by coach on a Shearings 5 day holiday. Had asked for a low floor , got one in the cellar (only joking, on the lower ground floor which is below the level of the reception and Restaurant which are up a few steps on the 1st floor). We arrived at 2pm but had been warned that our rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ragrut
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ragrut Thank you for sharing your experience at the County I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate what great value for money we offer. I will definitely put a sign up in room 46 thank you for the suggestion. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.8 km away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
746 reviews
0.0 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
632 reviews
1.0 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,279 reviews
0.8 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,072 reviews
0.6 km away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: €35 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay County Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Bay County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view on floors 2 or 3 for choice”
 of 5 bubbles dritherdon, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“.Many guests on the top floor were without hot water and no heating during their weekend stay.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelw972, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford an upgrade, do it.”
 of 5 bubbles 569stephena, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sea views 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles W5650ENkevinb, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a superior room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles tom1415, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5