We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Berkeley Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Berkeley Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of The Berkeley Guest House
 Click to rate
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location - check Warm friendly welcome - check Clean , warm room - check Comfy bed - check Helpful , friendly staff - double check Fantastic value for money - check Will be returning - Would be stupid not to !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a beaut.... 50 yards from the beach ( and what a beach ) 10 mins from the town. Parking is £1.00 a day ( voucher from hotel ) Room was clean + comfy, lovely hot power shower, with white fluffy towels.. breakfast was fantastic. Thank you Kim + Neil Trigg

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

In Eastbourne for an overnight stay attending a funeral the following day, so wanted something central and economical. Found the Berkeley online and couldn't have done better. Our fourth-floor double was spotlessly clean and comfortable (thanks to chirpy all-rounder Sam). and despite being told we might have poor wi-fi reception up there we experienced no difficultieson that front. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyBoshell
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This sounded like an amazing little guest house, clean, friendly and everything you could wish for. On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the freshly cooked breakfast was good. On the down side this is the only guesthouse I have ever stayed in where, upon arrival, I was just given the key and told which floor the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pauline1201
Ian M, Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback. When you checked in we gave you the key and started to give you all the information you needed, but you were in such a rush to leave we did not finish what we had to tell you, which also included if you wanted a hand with your luggage....

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

What a lovely guest house. My daughter in particular (who is a teenager) loved it and we were both very impressed by the attention to detail, in particular with regard to the decor. Beautiful soft towels and thank heaven, bottled water in the room! The breakfast was nice and non-greasy. I was still marvelling at the black pudding by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sailraider
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in a standard double room and woke to find we'd been eaten by bedbugs! We each had many bites and found a live one still in the bed. We managed to convince the hotel to refund our money but unfortunately, this didn't even come close to the amount this trip ended up costing us as the bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon D
Ian M, Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review

Your claim is under investigation

essex
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Great breakfast in a beautifully decorated dining area. Rooms and hotel spotlessly clean beds comfy and clean. Good size bathroom .Tea and coffee making facilities great staff and a fantastic location. Parking available at £1 per day outside hotel. We will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysEssex
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Room is cozy and warm. Bed and duvet are clean and comfortable. Fresh made full English breakfast. Parking is available on street besides the house. Hava a bit of sea view from the window. 2 minutes drive from town centre and petrol station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richdstuff
Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed at the The Berkeley for the weekend. Well what an amazing place the staff are great, the food was amazing could not of asked for a better service. Also the beds are amazingly comfy . We will 100% be coming back to Eastbourne so will be coming to stay again . I cant thank the staff enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katieknowles2016
Essex
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in The Berkeley on Saturday 10th December. We had the attic room and it was lovely. Bed super comfy. Tea Coffee and nice biscuits. power shower. Great location. minutes from the sea front and town nearby. Cooked breakfast was lovely. all in all a great place to stay and very reasonably priced. would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlton97

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
418 reviews
0.0 km away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#33 of 78 in Eastbourne
99 reviews
0.0 km away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#14 of 78 in Eastbourne
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Sheldon
The Sheldon
#25 of 78 in Eastbourne
199 reviews
0.0 km away
da Vinci Eastbourne
da Vinci Eastbourne
#18 of 78 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Iverna
Hotel Iverna
#41 of 78 in Eastbourne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Berkeley Guest House

Address: 3 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne BN21 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: €50 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Berkeley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Guest House Hotel Eastbourne
Berkeley Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Berkeley Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an attic room - so if stairs are a problem then ask for a lower level”
 of 5 bubbles 12samw, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lift or step-free access and no ground floor bedrooms, so not suitgabkle if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyBoshell, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Steep stairs up to the attic room!”
 of 5 bubbles 503suec, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is on 3 floors so be sure to discuss your requirements in advance if stairs could be a problem for you.”
 of 5 bubbles 231derekb, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We went with a group, so 5 rooms were taken up, and all said they were happy with their room. No lift available.”
 of 5 bubbles Greenfingers310, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5