We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oban

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 204: English reviews
Swindon, Wiltshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The single room was shabby, smelling of cleaning spray,which made my eyes water and my throat itchy , the Owner was rude ,patronizing and when he eventually returned to the Hotel at 9pm I was not confident enough to find another accommodation, therefore I stayed in a backroom, slightly larger but old and shabby , I decided to leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ina D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 3 Rooms at this hotel for the towns yearly Marathon event. All in all a very accommodating hotel. Staff friendly and obliging, rooms spacious and inviting with some quirky features. They brought forward their breakfast time to accommodate all runners and made some scrummy porridge to help us to a good start. Our first time to this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilliancaine2016
haywards heath
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The staff at this hotel are very good, the manager does a great job and makes you feel very welcome. The room we had 26, was bigger than expected, especially for the price. Breakfast was very good, brought to the table, rather than help yourself. The bar is a bit of a letdown, although we didn't use only seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b b
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were warmly welcomed by a charming manager(Owner?) Our rooms were clean, the meals tasty and the young staff seemed to just glide around our tables and were lovely. It had been planned for a disabled friend to be with me, However, she was unable to travel. It was just as well as this hotel would never have been suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 21cyndyc
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband love to visit Eastbourne and we try to visit at least twice a year. Unfortunately the hotel we generally visit was full, and Oban was one of the only hotels available. When we arrived there was no one there. A dubious character who struggled to speak English and was extremely crude ultimately checked us in. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean1942_1
Customerservices_obn, Owner at Oban, responded to this review

Whilst we would like to thank you for posting your review, you have provided little information to identify who you are and say nothing in detail of your stay/services/etc. 1,You mention ‘a dubious / shady character’ who struggled to speak English. All our staff have a very good command of the English language and are polite well mannered and provide...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night last weekend and were very impressed. Charming and very efficient hotelier, very nicely furnished and clean ensuite room, and good breakfast. It is in an excellent position on the seafront and we would definitely return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flexford
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We came initially for two weeks ... and we are still here. The Oban is superb, the owner (Vin) takes a personal on hands approach and is particular with detail without being instrusive to his guests. His staff are extremely helpful and friendly and take pride in their work. I have to single out "Georgie" - second in command -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annhurnigosman
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Spontaneous booking night before stay. Welcomed by all staff throughout time there, Georgie was especially helpful. Exceptionally clean and comfortable accomodation, perfect location, good breakfast and parking permit worked well for us at a pound for 24 hours - plenty close by which is not true for many other seafront hotels. Left refreshed with a smile - would definately come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarret2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

On arrival early our room was ready! Standard twin but with sea view nice and bright! Was abit schocked at the wc/shower was in a small cupboard and the wash basin was in the main bedroom! Excellent location with view of Bandstand and the Pier and opposite the Wish Tower with bus and Dotto train stops outside! Breakfast great! And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

It's an OK hotel, at the time of the booking, it was one of the best priced-see front views hotels. Unfortunately, our room was facing the back of the hotel. The room was clean, and bed was ok. Unfortunately there was no internet in the room which was a bit of a let down. The TV was pretty small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KamGross13

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.0 km away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#30 of 42 in Eastbourne
150 reviews
0.9 km away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
492 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
771 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: €76 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sorry I could not recommend any room.”
 of 5 bubbles inad950, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have basins in the bedroom but separate WC for toilet and shower -small but adequate. The Fantastic sea views sell these rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles gilliancaine2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We didn't have a sea view but room 26 was ok”
 of 5 bubbles davidbb298, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back which was very quiet but not sure about the front, although you would have lovely sea views”
 of 5 bubbles flexford, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stunning sea views at front”
 of 5 bubbles Jarret2014, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay