We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Sheldon B&B

    9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$102
    View Deal
    Traveller (6)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent65%
    • Very good24%
    • Average7%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Sheldon B&B
    Deals (42)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    All 42 deals for this property
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Ensuite
      US$102
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room (Plus) (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      US$103
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room (Plus)
      US$103
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room (Plus)
      US$103
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 42
    The Mowbray
    375 reviews
    #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Ivydene
    174 reviews
    #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Cherry Tree Hotel
    73 reviews
    #27 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Gyves House
    449 reviews
    #6 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (217)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 209 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    I booked this hotel last September 2016 for the airshow in 2017 for 4 nights. I had spoken to the owner and she has said that she would book us in for 4 nights and I asked for a fridge to be included. This was...More

    Thank Cassiespon
    Response from Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&BResponded yesterday

    It is no easy task to cancel a room, passwords must be entered etc. Having carried out an investigation, your room was cancelled in October, unfortunatly it was not recorded for what reason, but it was cancelled and noted "guest request cancellation PC 041016 2005"...More

    Reviewed 4 days ago

    We booked last minute a 4 night stay and had a lovely relaxing holiday. Nice, spacious, lovely and quiet bedroom, good and large bed, nice bathroom. (we only are used on less daylight in the morning, (blackout curtain?)) Breakfast was fine - full English on...More

    Thank familysimons2017
    Response from Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&BResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you, don't forget the best deals can be booked direct!

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I wanted to book a hotel in Eastbourne for my anniversary and the sheldon came up on my search using booking.com I clearly put in the dates i required. Booking.com use their site to push you into making the booking by saying last room, this...More

    Thank PaulWilko
    Response from Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&BResponded 5 days ago

    Thank you for this review. I am as disillusioned with booking.com as you. I find the advert for "free cancellation on most rooms" absolutely disgraceful. This has just lead to disgruntled guests who now believe they should have the right to a refund on non-refundable...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We stayed at The Sheldon for two nights [two adults and three children] in one familyroom. A very nice and cozy hotel near the seaside and few minutes walking to the city centre. Clean and quiet rom and nice staff. Lost the fifth star because...More

    Thank Frank R
    Response from Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&BResponded 1 week ago

    As you had not booked breakfast or stated in your special requests we just did our normal order, safe in the knowledge g/f was not required. We normally keep a small stock, however, the previous day had 4 guests who had also not mentioned it...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We have stayed at the Sheldon several times and this time was as usual very good in all ways. When we booked in we learnt that there was a small water problem with the room we were due to have so we had been upgraded...More

    Thank Laurie02
    Response from Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&BResponded 1 week ago

    We are glad you enjoyed your room, the leak is now fixed! Thank you for your lovely comments

    The Mowbray
    375 reviews
    #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Ivydene
    174 reviews
    #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Cherry Tree Hotel
    73 reviews
    #27 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    Gyves House
    449 reviews
    #6 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Beachfront
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$79 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sheldon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • East Sussex >
    • Eastbourne
    • Also Known As
    • Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (6)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (18)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
    221 reviews
    .20 km away
     
    Haddon Hall Hotel
    218 reviews
    .11 km away
     
    Imperial Hotel
    321 reviews
    .16 km away
     
    The View Hotel
    3,171 reviews
    .18 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Morgans Restaurant Bistro
    654 reviews
    .24 km away
    La Locanda Del Duca
    847 reviews
    .21 km away
    Pomodoro e Mozzarella
    1,349 reviews
    .19 km away
    Sabaidee Thai Restaurant
    379 reviews
    .25 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Eastbourne Bandstand
    550 reviews
    .23 km away
    Towner Art Gallery
    347 reviews
    .33 km away
    Nigel Greaves Gallery
    101 reviews
    .15 km away
    Devonshire Park Theatre
    194 reviews
    .20 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    lorrainefox9
    21 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Laurie02 | Reviewed this property |
    Yes any time
    0
    Votes
    Carol F
    2 June 2015|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from mommiib | Property representative |
    There are 11 steps to the front door, so we are not ideal for wheel chair users. Once inside there is a lift to floor 1 and 2. Thankfully you called before you booked and we urge all our guests to do the same!
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "very good B&B"
    Read review
    "5 minute walk to seafront. We were in 12 fine no exceptional points"
    Read review
    "We had a mixture of superior and family rooms and they were all lovely"
    Read review
    "Had a high front room out of main holiday season, but good rooms in different parts of the building to suit..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing