We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sheldon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sheldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of The Sheldon
 Click to rate
Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can't fault this hotel clean the room we stayed in was big the owners are friendly the bed was comfy close to town and sea front leave you're car and walk into town for food All in all you won't regret staying at the sheldon good value place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorrainefox9
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I booked a single room and this was a good choice as I felt very cosy (that's not so say there isn't plenty of room and storage - there is!) There is a lovely, clean shower room (looked like it was recently decorated so very nice indeed) The room was warm (a bit warm for me to start with, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lollomama
yeovil england
Reviewed 5 February 2017

A very good location to go shopping , theatres and even closer to the beach . A big plus is the off road parking at the back of the hotel,so no worries with leaving car for days there . We had a superior double room on the second floor.No problem getting cases or ourselves there as there is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank g4ms
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

1. Rude Lady Owner, Say's hello takes your money, then rude as ever ! 2. Cold Freezing Room, Small radiator with no temperture thermal control 3. No Curtains, Just Flimsy Blinds 4. Shower is Terrible 5. No Breakfast 6. No Linen changed for 7 days ! 7. No Towels changed for 7 days ( Had to sneakily take from other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob m
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am only ever rude to people who are rude enough to illegally smoke in my rooms, help themselves to breakfast they have no intention of paying for and go into rooms made up for incoming guests to take towels for themselves. I also can be very rude when people set my fire bells off (due to smoking in rooms),...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Nice hotel in a quiet street. I had a single room and it was a good size clean room. I did feel I was perhaps the only guest in the hotel as it was extremely quiet but it's Eastbourne after all! The staff was very polite.I had pancakes for breakfast in the morning and they were tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diegothereviewer
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Not the only guest, but indeed Eastbourne was quiet! Thank you very much

Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We found this to be a very clean, comfortable and efficiently run B and B in a most convenient and quiet location , which enabled us to enjoy a lovely walk along the beach before breakfast. Judith and her family did everything they could to make our stay pleasant, and got the balance right, of being helpful, and meeting our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine B
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Lovely modern hotel. Tastefully decorated. Lovely comfortable bed, lovely smooth sheets and pillow cases. Breakfast was good, full English, toast, coffee etc. Judith made us feel very welcome. Lift to 1st and 2nd floors. Nice big room with adjoining lounge. Close to town and many shops. Short walk to the seafront. You can bring food or order a takeaway. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanat1
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much.

Berkshire
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. On arrival we were told we didn't have breakfast included my wife thought we did but after a long drive couldn't not be bothered to get the lap top out and look for an email. Agreed to pay extra for breakfast £7.50 each even for my children 5 and 7.........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You chose a discounted rate that did not include breakfast (hence the discount), we also make it clear that we charge £7.50 per head for breakfast regardless of age. We have no other way to communicate with you than via our pages, so you really need to read the information available...

Kent
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Enjoyed our stay here, lovely large room, very comfy beds and breakfast was superb. Stay in Eastbourne quite often when we book a show, first time we stayed at this hotel and will again. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardlizabeth
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much.

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Booked this months ago through a booking company. The price was very reasonable as it included breakfast and parking. Just spent one night so that I could go to a show at the Congress theatre. Nice to be given a single room that wasn't at the top of the building. Though it was a single room it was very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion A
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

As this is family owned and run, we live on-site and are available at all times. There is a bell in reception to attract our attention. I don't want signs all over the house, it depersonalizes the experience (In our experience people don't read signs and generally people ask questions answered on the signs! Rather proving my point you didn't...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
418 reviews
0.2 km away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
126 reviews
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#32 of 78 in Eastbourne
99 reviews
0.2 km away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#15 of 78 in Eastbourne
345 reviews
0.2 km away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#21 of 78 in Eastbourne
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: €61 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sheldon staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sheldon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs !”
 of 5 bubbles bobm422, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Speak to the owner and ask!”
 of 5 bubbles christinebJ8760AO, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in room 29 which was very good just over the drive going to the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Laurie02, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 and 18 are in quiet zones”
 of 5 bubbles 570JanetH, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 15, most expensive but large room, very quiet apart from seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles Cassiespon, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5