We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of Waterside Hotel
 Click to rate
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel in itself is nice - nothing amazing But not awful a typical sea side hotel. Seemed to be a one man band as didn't see any other staff at all. I stayed Ina. Jacuzzi room which I was disappointed with as the pictures and description make it a lot nicer than reality. Only one of the jacuzzi rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizziejmxx
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We had the hot tub room was such a nice room, mini fridge was handy and in the room we had plenty of space. One thing I could fault was there was no toiletries which would have been handy but everything else was amazing, will be making another trip again for the 3rd time haha!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanadams97
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night in one of the jacuzzi rooms with my wife. The exterior needs work as the sign looks to have been taken down and makes the hotel look closed. Room had everything we needed, however definitely needs decorating/updating. Jacuzzi was the main draw and worked fine although showing signs of age. Check in was quick and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed here at New Year and loved this little hotel and it's friendly staff. Service standards are high and breakfast was spot on, why can't everyone a manage a waited breakfast of this standard! Fast fuss-free wifi. Great sea views from the highest room even if it is a bit of a climb. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjw1999
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Very good Value for money Very friendly staff couldn't be more helpful Good full English breakfast Great Views of Eastbourne beach & pier Very close to the town centre for restaurants and shopping Good facilities in Room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
watersideh0tel, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and you liked our sea view room. We do our best to make all our guests feel at home and to exceed their expectations. I Hope to see you again, Regards, Naveed

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay last week. We stayed for two nights in an upgraded sea view room, which was an added treat. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, yet cosy with great views and a lovely bathroom. The included breakfast was also great and had a good selection to choose from. We would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLJ91
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Waterside Hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The 2 night stay was bought as a gift. This hotel was located across the road from the beach and the views from front room 6 were good. However, the hotel facade was dilapidated. Room 4 at the rear was tiny and dismal. The views were over rubbish and old gardens. The door was damaged and the locking mechanism malfunctioned....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, I am utterly sorry for how disappointing your stay was. That is not the standard we aim to provide and I apologise for all of the issues you experienced. I am glad that despite that you were able to find things to like in our hotel. I would like to welcome you to stay with us again in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Heating did not work; TV did not work; 👹sash windows rattled in the wind: breakfast supposed to be from 7am, but not served until 8am; billed as a "boutique" hotel - better described as a run-down boarding house - avoid at all costs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank le-roi-des-cons
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I do apologise for all the issues you faced during you stay with us. I just wish you had mentioned them on the day so they could have been resolved for you straight away. With regards to breakfast, all our guests receive welcome letters on check-in,...

Guildford
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Great, helpful staff, easy check in etc. Looks like it's been fairly recently done up, but there's not much 'atmosphere' in the bar/restaurant (think it only does breakfast?) area. It's all very dark (though very nicely done). That said, the small bar is well stocked and very reasonably priced and there's plenty of comfy chairs and sofas - and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elajl
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elajl, Thank you very much for choosing The Waterside hotel. We appreciate your kind words. As you have noticed, the hotel has gone under some renovation recently, however it is still awaiting a few final touches. I am sorry for the confusion with drink prices. All of our drinks are charged as per bar menu, unless it is a...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Really enjoyed my stay here. Booked a sea view room and had a lovely wide view. Room and bathroom were extremely well furnished and room had a large TV with a large range of channels. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Free parking ticket supplied for the seafront. VERY minor niggles.... TV controls could do with explanation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borochris9
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and you liked our sea view room. We do our best to make all our guests feel at home and to exceed their expectations. I am very sorry for the few minor issues in the room. Please be assured that both TV...

410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (287)
Viewed
Aqua (36)
Viewed
Double Room (34)
Viewed
Osaka (34)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Ultimate Superior Room (45)
Viewed
Venus (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.1 km away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 42 in Eastbourne
424 reviews
1.1 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
906 reviews
0.5 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
830 reviews
1.4 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: €64 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The highest room has a lovely sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Sjw1999, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not take a room at the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles S2507RCjamesm, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles 953lynr, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kookies4, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles sallyw978, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5