We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or

Save
Share
2 Place Saint Pierre, 17260 Gemozac France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Gemozac, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service. Plus, Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or offers a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Gemozac French restaurants such as le lion d`or, which is a short distance from Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Château de Bernessard (0.5 mi), which is a popular attraction amongst tourists, and it is within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Gemozac!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French
71Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 34
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
jjj wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stopped here with family on our way south and it was a great choice. The rooms are clean and comfortable, it has a bar and lovely restaurant and parking is very easy (and free). I have never seen anyone work as hard as the owner - but even though he is so busy he is still very welcoming and friendly. Dinner, bed and breakfast with drinks for a very reasonable price. A visit to the local pineau producer at Puy Gaudin is an added bonus. Don’t hesitate to stop here to refresh and reenergise before tackling the Bordeaux traffic or even for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking may be more difficult on Friday as that is market day but there is a secure garage for 5€...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rb3333 wrote a review Jun 2019
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom50 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked 3 rooms and a table for lunch, the owner never bothered to mention until after lunch that it would not be possible to get a drink or anything to eat in the afternoon or evening, they were having a private party and it would not be possible to get anything to eat or drink at all, it was a bank holiday and the rest of town was closed.if he had made it clear when I had booked or even before lunch ,then we would probably have gone somewhere else, luckily I found a great hotel in Pons and we had a brilliant time !! On the plus side , lunch was very good and quite reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 924pierreemmanuelc, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
Responded 18 Jun 2019
Dear guest, I apologise if we didn’t mentioned it in our mail, I didn’t expect you would like to stay all afternoon at the bar (as our bar is closed from 2.30pm TIL 5.30pm all week days not only bank holidays as mentioned on our website). I understand that you choose to go somewhere else and that Is the reason why I didn’t object you canceling your rooms. One more time I apologise for the misunderstanding. Kind regards. Pierre Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Istvan K wrote a review Sep 2018
London, United Kingdom64 contributions15 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights while attending a wedding nearby. Great little Hotel, lovely owners and great staff. Nothing is impossible for them. Special thanks to Laurent for assisting me with getting around.. 😊 The room is decent size, clean and tidy. Slept amazing... 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
malcolmw290 wrote a review Aug 2018
Cowbridge, United Kingdom60 contributions24 helpful votes
Meal for two adults and three teenage girls. Fixed price menu offered enough choice at €21 for two courses and €24 for three courses. The food was good particularly the steak and the girls enjoyed the sweets. The menu had English translation and the staff spoke enough for us to get by as shamefully our French is poor Overall a good night
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emmeken81 wrote a review Sep 2017
50 contributions32 helpful votes
On our way tot Spain we stayed here one night in a standard room. It was very clean and quiet. The small bathroom had plenty of towels and some shampoo. The man at the entrance was kind and spoke english as well. There's also free wifi. We didn't have breakfast or dinner here so I can't say anything about that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Holly wrote a review Apr 2017
5 contributions
The restaurant was empty but our food still came out cold, it was also not very nice despite being very overpriced. I ordered the chocolate mouse and it had gelatine flakes in it. The waiter was also very rude and unhelpful, when we said the food was cold he looked at us as if to say "What am I supposed to do about it" and then relunctantly took the food back to the kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre Emmanuel C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
Responded 21 Apr 2017
Dear guest, I am very surprised about your review and apologise about your bad experience in our restaurant. However I am wondering if there is not a mistake on the restaurant as I can not even remember the last time we did "mousse au chocolat", and secondly because we have only a 14€ menu (3 courses) what can't be said as "overpriced". If it is indeed our restaurant I want to apologise again about it and hope you'll give us an other chance thinking that it might have been a wrong day for our chef. Kind regards, Pierre Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom T wrote a review Aug 2016
Thame, United Kingdom13 contributions6 helpful votes
Our family and friend's family enjoyed a relaxed evening meal at the Lion d'Or, great service and a good value three course menu. Sea bass was nicely cooked as was my wife's steak. We ate outside in the courtyard which helped considering our children can be quite noisy (we had a total of five children under five yrs). They also speak English if your French is a bit rusty. If you're staying in Gemozac and fancy a meal out either as a couple or as a family then this is definitely worth visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
knufje wrote a review Aug 2016
Alkmaar, The Netherlands80 contributions27 helpful votes
We stopped and the Hotel restaurant Le Lion d'Or in Gemozac on our way to Spain. Location: very close to the highway. We booked a family room which was absolutely fine. The hotel is in the middle of the village centre. Large bathroom, comfortable beds. Bonus for a was the restaurant that belonged to the hotel. It served excellent food, and several menu's at a reasonable price. Friendly staff who went out if their way to speak English. We were happy not to have to get in the car again to find a place to eat! Breakfast in the morning was 8 €, and definitely worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MickG73 wrote a review Apr 2016
Bournemouth, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Alternative venue, suggested by our usual stopover in Pons, that was closed for maintenance. Could not have been better. Close to motorway, ample parking opposite, and Pierre, a very welcoming, English speaking host. Room was lovely. Everything one needed plus more. Dinner and breakfast more than adequate. A very good recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Superior Room 9, at back of hotel. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BostonGourmande wrote a review Sep 2015
boston29 contributions15 helpful votes
I'd driven by Le Lion d'Or many times and always imagined a sleepy little dive within so I was very surprised when I finally walked inside. It's modern with a lot of red and very clean. We went for lunch on a Monday in late September. I liked that they were seating people until at least 1:35 which is sometimes rare in small villages. The wait staff were very nice and spoke very good English and the food was what you would expect for a 13 E menu. I was impressed that they served eel as a main. The two other options were duck, which was tasty and steak. The steak came with a 3E surcharge. We both chose a warm chocolate cupcake for dessert which was nice. It was a lovely sunny day and thus a shame the patio was closed. We would recommend it when near Gemozac and in need of lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeGemozac
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RESTAURANT LE LION D'OR - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Gemozac, France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Nearby attractions include Château de Bernessard (0.8 km), Eglise Saint-André (6.5 km), and Eglise Saint Pierre (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Conveniently located restaurants include Domaine du Seudre, le lion d`or, and Le Saint Hubert.
Is Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Gemozac.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Château de Bernessard (0.8 km).
Is Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.