We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Citybox Bergen

Booking.comUS$120*
View Deal
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Citybox Bergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Start your review of Citybox Bergen
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Good place for short stay. Very near the Bergen train station. Unfortunately for us they were renovating but we were out most of the day and they were done when we were back so not too inconvenient. Theres a supermarket across the road and around the building so thats nice and convenient. Its self check in with the machine and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elfuego_vazquez
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear elfuego_vazquez, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the price for your accommodation! You are correct that we've been renovating the hotel, and we will go from 55 rooms to 120 rooms once we open up the hotel again in June,...

Reading, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Knowing the price of accommodation in Norway, I looked back at my booking and couldn't believe how little I paid for this hotel. It's no frills, sure, but if you're there to explore the city what more do you need? It is extremely conveniently located, just a short stroll from a wealth of shops and bars, and it may not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bncol
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Enjoyed our stay at City Box and around Oslo - to meet up with friends - who took us to Drobac which is definatley worth a visit as well as the Oprea House, Sculpture Park and Fortress. We then took the train to Bergen and really enjoyed this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davcru2015
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Hi davcru2015! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! Really appreciate your fantastic recommendation, and we do hope to see you again! :) Best wishes, Citybox Bergen

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I do not even know for me where to begin. If I heard the staff say one more time we are a budget hotel every time we made a request. They charge you for everything. The room was just nasty dirty. Mold in shower. Tiles in shower and on floors just filthy grout. Rooms hallways need to be painted. Elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Golfermom28
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Golfermom28, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is true that we are a budget hotel, and that we keep our overheads down in order for us to be able to offer our rooms at a better price than our competitors. This means that we do not have minibars, TV in...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Rooms very basic - nowhere to put your clothes, no hairdryer, weird kind of plastic flooring. But very clean, the heating works fine and it's highly convenient for just about everything in Bergen. Recommend room on one of the top floors, street a bit noisy during weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkcph
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear mkcph, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room, as well as the heating and our location. Hairdryers can be borrowed from the reception. We are currently renovating and expanding the hotel, and we will open it up again in June with a total...

Reviewed 11 October 2016

Chose this hotel and stayed 2 nights here due to budget and walking distance from town. After our check in experience at Citybox Oslo, we didn't even bother trying the machine check-in, but we can fully empathise when others say the machine touch screen was very bad and non-responsive. Our hearts sank when we saw the room, as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathangohyongsing
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear jonathangohyongsing, We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. It is true that some of the check-in machines have troubles with the sensitivity of the screens, and this is something we are working on and hopefully it will be sorted so that the check-in experience for our guests will be better. As for...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed there for my business visit to Bergen during last week of August 2016. Fortunately it was busy week and I had take 3 different rooms for 3 nights. Best one was room 406 which is corner spacious room. All rooms were clean. Bathroom has heated flooring. I was busy whole day at conference so hotel staff moved my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickKohl123
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear NickKohl123, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location, the cleanliness of your rooms and that we moved your luggage for you. We are currently closed for renovations and expansion of the hotel, and we will open up again in June with a total of 120...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Good location, near the railway station. Walking distance to the city center and the Bryggen area. The online check in system was a bit of problem as sometimes , it doesn't accept certain credit cards, and there is no one around to get any help !!! Dangerous if you are checking in at night. Rooms were average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indra555
Rose-Marie H, Hotel Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Indra555, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. As for there not being anyone around to help, it is not true. We have staff at the hotel from 09.00 - 24.00, and there is a phone located right next to the check-in system, were it is possible to get in contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

An affordable hostel in an expensive city. The place is basic but clean. Room was quite spacious. And the lounge area was nice to chill in. Location is good as we could walk everywhere we needed to. Think this place is best for young people on a budget. Was quite a quirky way of getting the key as its all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TalieMo
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Currently staying at citybox, it's 3 am and there's a house party next door that's loud enough to hear through the whole hotel. Looks like I'll be spending the day trying to catch up on sleep rather than site seeing. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank matthew j

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
827 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 46 in Bergen
1,142 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 46 in Bergen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
512 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
512 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Address: Nygaardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: €82 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citybox Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citybox Bergen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Citybox Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, away from street to avoid any noise”
davcru2015, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up.”
darrellhilton, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the street if you are visiting in late 2016 to avoid construction noise.”
davep44, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room”
  • Room
Carla_MV, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Option for 4 person in Single Room”
nilesh1610, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$202
TripAdvisorUS$120
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates