We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Byparken

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Byparken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Byparken
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got this hotel recommended by a colleague. Well, I shouldn't have listened to her. The room is TINY. I also made the mistake to choose one facing the backyard, which is practically the hotel's trash place. The front would be noisy with buses passing by though. So it is up to you to choose the lesser evil... I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klassizistisch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent just one night in Bergen and this place was perfect! Clean, bright room. Great bathroom and facilities. As others mentioned, the breakfast here was pretty fantastic! Such a great way to fill up for the day if you're on a budget like me. Walking distance to museums and other sights. Wish I could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Centrally located hotel, close to many of the attractions in Bergen. My room was a little small, but clean and nice. A good place to sleep. And the breakfast was outstanding, with excellent service and a huge variety of food. I really liked this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlavR
Management response:

Dear OlavR Thank you so much for this review, I really appreciate it! We have different room categories, from budget rooms to spacious King Superior rooms. I recommend you to try the Superior category for your next stay! Hope to see you again soon! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Acting General Manager Scandic Byparken

San Francisco
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights while in Bergen. This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to everything. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, and the WiFi worked well. The TV has a connection so you can connect your computer or tablet. There are cables to borrow at the reception. Overall this place had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danimal2007
Management response:

Dear Danimal2007 Thank you so much for this nice review, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you want to visit Scandic again! Hope to see you here again soon! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Acting General Manager Scandic Byparken

Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The standard of the hotel itself is ok for a 4 star hotel - nothing more. It is however located smack dab in the middle of Bergen, very close to Grieghallen (and, conveniently, quite close to an airport bus stop). Also, the breakfast buffet is top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dancestance
Management response:

Dear dancestance Thank you for the great feedback and review after your stay with us! I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, our location and breakfast. Hope to see you here again. Regards Lene Mjeldheim Acting General Manager Scandic Byparken

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect choice for short visits to Bergen. Well-located, small but functional rooms and absolutely great breakfast buffet. Tends to be pretty crowded in the weekends though (particularly at breakfast).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanm0re
Management response:

Dear Stanm0re. Thank you for the nice feedback and review after your stay with us! I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. It gets a bit crowded at breakfast during the weekends, as our restaurant is not very large. We usually open an extra conference room for breakfast, but if this is occupied by...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel needs to be refurbished, the room is quite sad - so is the rest of the hotels interior. Untidy and unwelcoming Lobby and breakfast area. Mixed service from the reception, one of the receptionists, was serviceminded with a big smile - the other encounter with another receptionist; quite the opposite - a person with complete lack of charm;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimenPR
Management response:

Dear SimenPR. Thank you for taking the time to write this review after your stay with us. We have a quite old hotel, and are continuously making small and large changes, both in our guestrooms and common areas. Approximately 120 rooms were light renovated in 2014/2015, and we will continue with the rest of the rooms. I will speak to...

MADURAI
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night (12-7-2016) Breakfast fast was good! Location was excellent! Front office staffs were helpful! When we complained about the dark and dingy room, they gave us a corner room which was little better! The room was too tiny even for our hand luggage (for one night stay)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANNADURAI
Management response:

Dear ANNADURAI. Thank you for your response and review of our hotel. I am glad to see that you were satisfied with the service, location and breakfast! We have many room categories, I recommend you to try one of our Superior rooms for your next stay. Hope to see you here again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager Scandic...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The staff and especially the duty manager Antonia did everything possible to make us feel at home and we did. A warm, hospitable, friendly environment with an absolutely awesome breakfast. Certainly the best hotel we have ever stayed in all our travels. Thank you Antonia for branding your hospitality in our minds; that's how hotels should be. Petros and Lynn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petros48
Management response:

Dear Petros48 Thank you so much for your review and rating. I will make sure to show this to Antonia, I know she will appreciate it! Hope to see you here again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Act. General Manager Scandic Byparken

New York
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed here one night after leaving a Hurtigruten cruise, before our flight home. The hotel was easy to find from the dock. The lobby area was very crowded, and required navigating past tables set up for dinner to get to the elevator. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet (we were at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linette L
Management response:

Dear Linette L. Thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel, I really appreciate it and I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us! I hope to see you again! Best regards Lene Mjeldheim Acting General Manager Scandic Byparken

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
528 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 47 in Bergen
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
489 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
503 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Price Range: €115 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Byparken staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Byparken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't choose a room facing the backyard”
klassizistisch, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A had a room facing the backyard. Very quiet.”
OlavR, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are very good”
Petros48, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We went for cheapest but would advise next step up as our room was very small”
peter1958555, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you visit Bergen city, I would recommend you to stay at this hotel”
AchmadDjauhari, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5