We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$296
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$278
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Trip.com
US$262
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
Hotels.comUS$296
PricelineUS$297
TravelocityUS$296
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (297)
Room & Suite (126)
Dining (61)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 26 hotels in Trondheim
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Founded in 1870, Britannia Hotel has a rich history, including serving royalty & dignitaries. The hotel reopened in April 2019, after a dramatic 3-year renovation totaling $150 million. Britannia is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World and features 5-star service, 224 rooms including 11 suites, 4 restaurants (including a Michelin star), 2 bars, a large Spa, and 12 meeting rooms. Britannia Hotel is located in the city center of Trondheim, Norway, just 28 minutes from (TRD) Trondheim International Airport. Trondheim was the original capital of Norway, founded by Viking King Olav Tryggvason in 997. Today it is Norway's third largest city and offers numerous outdoor activities, and historic sites & attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Bowling offsite
Highchairs available
Paid public parking nearby
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 5 more
256Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 199
  • 37
  • 14
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Montcalm wrote a review 29 Jan
Ottawa, Canada100 contributions98 helpful votes
- Great communication with concierge and reception prior to arriving - very helpful! -Staff on arrival was so nice!! We’d travelled c.24 hours and had not slept or eaten well …reception called the restaurant and ensured we had a table waiting even though it was a busy Dec 26! The hotel bar (one of many restaurants) was just fabulous - from the staff to the food! - the room - their largest before the suite category was very large with a seating area. It was very well laid out and had all a traveller needs/could want. The bed …honestly one of the best hotel beds ever! The bathroom was large and had absolutely every amenity. We had a view of the atrium so not much to see but there was nice light (when there was daylight!). The room was extremely well maintained. - We also ate at the Brasserie - always best to make a reservation- and it was very good. - The breakfast …just wow! The room, the choice, …one of the best! - The location was perfect for seeing the town. About 10 mins to the cathedral (an absolute must see!) - All around this was a great stay. - I hope to be back one day!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nils Rune H wrote a review 23 Jan
Trondheim, Norway19 contributions9 helpful votes
A proper 5 star hotel in Trondheim! Even though we are from Trondheim ourselves we decided to spoil ourselves in a luxury stay at Britannia. We booked a Deluxe Room which is more than large enough for two people. The room included a seating area and table, as well as a desk. Where other hotels tend to save money on building their bathrooms "institution style", that is definitely not the case here. It was the nicest and most comfortable hotel bathroom I have ever seen. A couple of observations you might find useful: - Room service is open throughout the night, which means you can always get food without having to leave the hotel at any time of the day (and night). Perfect if you arrive late. - Room service is blistering fast. Food arrived within 20 minutes from us ordering and the food was excellent. - Housekeeping does a extra round in the early evening to prepare the room for the night. We were so pleasantly surprised about this when we came back to the room and found it all tidy. New towels, bed made up ready for sleep, new water bottles and of course chocolate. They had even put a dust cap on my half full glass of juice. A very nice touch! - Entrance to the spa is included. We went there on a Saturday afternoon and it was too crowded for our taste. Try visiting during off-hours. A number of different treatments can be booked too, but we did not try those. - Breakfast is served in the iconic Palmehaven where you can order from the menu, eat from the buffet or do like us: both. All is included in the room fee. You can order breakfast to your room but I would strongly advise to at least go to Palmehaven once. Our stay was overwhelmingly positive, but there are two negatives I want to remark at the end of this review. - We had arranged a few items (strawberrys, sweets and drinks) to be ready at our room on arrival. These were not there when we arrived, so we had to call the receiption to sort it out. They were quick to bring it to our room - but as I had ordered it as a surprise it wasn't quite the same. - The waiter at one of the hotel restaurants, Jonathan Grill, didn't know the difference between tenderloin and entrecote. When he brought the meat to our table he kept insisting that the entrecote was the tenderloin, while it obviously wasn't. In the end we just "agreed with him" and swapped plates between us so that I got the entrecote I had ordered and my girlfriend got her tenderloin. I would expect that any waiter at a steakhouse, at least at a 5 star hotel, to be able to spot the difference.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Nils Rune H, Thank you so much for your fantastic and elaborate review of Britannia Hotel! We are so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, especially as you are from Trondheim and wanted to indulge yourselves with a hotel stay in the city. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share with us here on TripAdvisor in detail your experience and and your observations, and that you particularly appreciated the room, the bathroom and the service. Your comments in regards to the strawberries in the room upon arrival and the experience in Jonathan Grill will be taken into account and we apologize for this. We look very much forward welcoming you both back to us on another occasion. Sincerely, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ziad H wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Lovely hotel with very attentive and efficient reception, beautiful room with exquisitely well-designed marble bathrooms (including an enormous tub in one of the bathrooms and an ample shower in the other -- with most excellent water pressure), most comfortable bedding, thoughtfully placed desks, wardrobe, electric outlets and usb ports etc. The big, unpleasant surprise was the alleged "5-star" breakfast in the vaunted palmhaven. Contrary to the maitre d'hotel's instructions, no one came to our table to take our order or to offer any coffee, and when we did snag a waiter to ask for coffee we got a pot of tepid brew, no milk though we had asked for it (it arrived 15 minutes later upon a second request), and though we snagged another waiter to order eggs benedict, we got the most undesirable surprise: my standards for food quality and hygiene are so forgiving as to make the average American blanch and, on occasion, faint, but the eggs benedict we were served consisted of a cold egg that may have once been poached, with a most unusual cold insipid white sauce that i do not look forward to ever sampling again. The whole thing was an appalling bad joke, with an (unfortunately) unforgettable awful aftertaste, literally and figuratively. We decided to cancel any plans for Christmas dinners at this establishment, and instead take our chances with the handful of alternatives that are open over Christmas in Trondheim. That sad excuse for a "5-star" breakfast was so appalling that the mere thought of participating in any food or beverage activity at this hotel makes me shudder. This is so inconsistent with the excellent hard product and the friendly and pro-active welcome services that management should urgently take a serious look at the deficient service and the deficient food preparation in the restauration side of the operation. No one should want to pay the kind of money that Britannia demands for such a shameful product and poor delivery.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the restaurants including, unfortunately, breakfast -- the only way to describe it is a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 214ziadh, Thank you for staying at Britannia Hotel in Trondheim. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations regarding our historic Palmehaven this time, and your comments have been taken into account as we did follow-up on this during your stay as well. I am glad you otherwise enjoyed the service from the Front of House and the quality of the room/property. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I remain at your disposal should you require anything else. Sincerely, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Viaggiatrice RP wrote a review Dec 2022
6 contributions
There are only a few hotels in the world that do still offer this high-end five star superior service from the bottom to the end of a clients stay. During my stay I could see that all staff members are very passionate about their job and I would like to highlight the concierge Sten that is a key figure of the hotel standing out for its high discretion! Also the hidden screen in the room is a real highlight! The breakfast is also a must have at the hotel ! Thank you again for this great experience, I definitely would like to come back and can only highly recommend this hidden jam!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 2 Dec 2022
Dear RobertaP, Thank you so much for your fantastic reveiw of Britannia Hotel. It's our utmost pleasure to read that you had such a marvellous stay with us, and especially appreciated the personal service from each of our team members. I have forwarded your praise and I am certain they appreciate your kind words. And especially our Head Concierge Sten. Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast in the iconic Palmehaven and the hidden TV-screen. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We look very much forward welcoming you back to us on another occasion. All the best, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilly wrote a review Nov 2022
Oslo, Norway16 contributions14 helpful votes
The best and most beautiful luxury hotel I have been to in Norway. I tried the buffet brakfast one morning and the a la carte breakfast the next morning. Both were good, but nothing beats breakfast cooked to order. For dinner we ate at Jonathan Grill, which is supposed to be a Japanese barbeque. I was not impressed. I've had Japanese, Thai and Korean barbecues which can be absolutely delicious, this however was not. There just was not much flavour in the food. The beds at Britannia are from the luxurious Hästens, but the mattress we had was actually hard and quite uncomfortable. Even though there were some negative aspects, all inn all Britannia is an excellent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the street for a better view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Dear LillyIs, Thank you so much for your cordial review of Britannia Hotel. We're thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful experience, and especially appreciated the breakfast in the historic Palmehaven. Your notes regarding Jonathan Grill and our Hästens beds will be taken into account. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us. Sincerely, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew J wrote a review Oct 2022
Wareham, Dorset. UK56 contributions22 helpful votes
A short but wonderful stay in the Britannia Hotel. Very helpful and lovely staff and a breakfast venue and menu to die for! Much thoughts and consideration has gone into providing guests with a perfect blend of old and new combined with a taste of the local culture.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2022
Dear Matthew J, Thank you so much for your cordial review of Britannia Hotel in Trondheim. We are so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and especially appreciated the service from our team members and the breakfast in the historic Palmehaven. This validates our efforts in exceeding our guests' expectations every day. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us. All the best, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob H wrote a review Sep 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Recently renovated and did a wonderful job. The location is outstanding for exploring the old downtown section of the city. Easy walk to the Cathedral, shopping and very good restaurants. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. The one drawback is the electronics gone wild system they have to control the lighting in the room. If this is an improvement over just having switches I fail to see it. What really makes it hard to deal with is that there are no written instructions to refer to. There also is the annoying euro system of having to have a card in the slot for the electricity to be on when you're leaving the room. Just makes it impossible to recharge electronic instruments except when you were in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We arrived by train from Oslo. This is a beautiful way to see the interior of Norway without...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 17 Sep 2022
Dear E6492Zbobh, Thank you for staying at Britannia Hotel in Trondheim. We are very pleased to read that you had a great stay and appreciated the renovated property, the location and the service from our team members. I will make sure to forward your praise to them We are in the process of adding a printed Room Directory in all rooms, with a more extensive explanation of the lightning system in the room. As you mention, most hotels operate here with a card needed to be in the card slot for full electricity, but we do recommend having a second key card if you prefer to have it on at all time for your next stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with us. All the best, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveToTraval wrote a review Sep 2022
Columbus, Ohio376 contributions167 helpful votes
+1
I am super impressed with this hotel on many levels. We stayed 3 nights and never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator. There is plenty of staff, always ready to help. A key is required in the slot by the door for electric to work. However, the foyer lights up when you enter the room even when power is off. You can touch an icon on the wall panel to night time settings. The lights go off, but you can still turn on your bedside reading light, and get this: When you enter the bathroom the dim lighting comes on. You don’t see the tv. When you turn on the remote, the screen appears on the mirror on the wall. Plenty of outlets. This one might be my favorite: what I call the goody basket. In addition to personally sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bars of soap and shower gel, there are also the following, each individually wrapped: comb, shaving kit, dental kit, feminine hygiene kit, sewing kit, vanity pack, and shoe sponge. The rooms and common areas are all gorgeous with lots of marble. This is truly a magnificent hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Dear Martha H, Thank you for choosing Britannia Hotel and for your cordial review. We are above and beyonce excited to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and especially appreciated the service from our team members, the technical fittings and the "goodie basket" in your room and the design of the hotel to mention a few. This truly validates our efforts in delivering 5-star experiences to our guests. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdivsor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us. Sincerely, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert Calgary wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
We just spent 2 nights at this Hotel. The location is very central and close to every where you wish to be in Trondheim. The rooms were spacious and fresh. Good A/C and of course great faucets etc. The beds and bedding are top drawer. You just melt into the bed after a day of touring. The breakfast WOW the breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel property. Worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I think every room is good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Dear robertkulhawy, Thank you for choosing Britannia Hotel in Trondheim. It's with sincere joy to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and most notably appreciated the location, the room, the bedding and our Hästens bed. As a member hotel of The Leading Hotels of The World, we aim to provide 5 star service each time to each guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us. All the best, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SF 66 wrote a review Aug 2022
Rutland, United Kingdom91 contributions59 helpful votes
Just completed a road trip up the West of Norway and finished in Trondhiem. What an excellent way to finish - 2 nights in the Britannia. Really good mix of high end finish and facilities but without being stuffy. Palm Garden is beautiful room for breakfast with extensive choices. Well stocked vibrant bar. Great spa included for guests. Thoroughly recommend this fantastic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear SWF_13, Thank you so much for your cordial review of Britannia Hotel in Trondheim. We are so glad to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and especially appreciated the service from our team members, Palmehaven, Britannia Bar and the spa. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norway. All the best, Andrès Reyes Gjerme Hotel Manager Britannia Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$251 - US$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayCentral NorwayTrøndelagTrondheim MunicipalityTrondheim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
224
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRITANNIA HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Trondheim, Norway) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Britannia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Britannia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vitensenteret i Trondheim (0.2 km), Escape Hunt Trondheim (0.2 km), and Reality Adventures (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Britannia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Britannia Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Britannia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Britannia Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Britannia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include To Rom og Kjokken, Brasilia Trondheim, and Bula Neobistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Britannia Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Britannia Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Trondheim.
Are any cleaning services offered at Britannia Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Britannia Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Britannia Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.