We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Citybox Oslo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Citybox Oslo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 814: English reviews
Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a good stay at Citybox. The hotel and the rooms were clean, and modern. It was also nice with the restaurant "Rent flour" which also was located in the hotel. Nice location and close to the center of Oslo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mats S
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi Mats S! Thank you for your short but kind review of our hotel! Glad to read that you had a good stay with us, and found us to be clean and modern! Really cool that you also liked the organic bakery and pizzeria that we have teamed up with, and that you enjoyed our location! Thanks again for your...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel to stay. The room was clean and the bad very comfortable. The location is perfect close to the most important places in the city center. Attached to the hotel we had a perfect breakfast in Rent Mel for a very nice price. All they do is organic and handmade. I really recomend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cacaohouu
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi cacaohouu! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! Flatted to read that you found us to be "clean, comfortable and in a perfect location". Overall you really seem to get what we are trying to achive here, and nothing pleases us more than when our guests like our concept! Also really cool that you liked our partner...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the station, shops, opera house and the Oslo Spektrum. As others have said no frills. Room was clean and warm. It reminded me very much of the Ibis Budget hotels in the UK. A lot of people seemed to be having trouble with the check-in machines in the reception and people would wait for someone to come out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenday41
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi greenday41! Wow! Thanks for your kind review of our hotel! Cool that we could give you what you needed when your were in town for what we guess was the Green Day concert! We do like what Ibis Budget Hotels are offering across Europe, and we hope to one day become a much bigger competitor to them! :) Last...

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Oslo for 3 nights for a city break and to take in a gig at the Oslo Spektrum. Wanted a no frills clean, warm room close to the gig and the centre. This place ticked all the boxes. Costing under £200 for three nights it's budget end but was tidy, modern, clean and warm. Great shower too. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca M! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! Cool that we could give you what you needed when your were in town for what we guess was the Green Day concert! Flatted to read that you found us to be "tidy, modern, clean, warm and in an excellent location". Overall you really seem to get what...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I caught the express train from the airport and made it to the hotel in 35 minutes. With Citybox being so close to Central Station, you are also right near all the transprtation you need to get around the city. This hotel is an excellent home base for a visit to Oslo, and the budget price allows you to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinny227
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi Vinny227! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! We just love reading feedback from guests that seem to understand and appreciate our concept! And we are really happy that we could serve as a starting point for your exploration of Oslo! We do our best to offer a simple and modern solution that we feel represent real...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We first arrived at this hotel at 1:00am on a Monday, but it was very close to the train station (Central Station) and easy to find, and easy to do the self check-in. Small room but clean & comfortable. Only 2 blocks to bus station to go wherever we wanted with our Oslo pass, and less than 2 blocks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi Joseph B! Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! Nice to read that you enjoyed your visit, and found us easily! Cool that you found our check-in/check-out to be easy! We do agree that some of our rooms are small, and in particular the rooms that are categorized as just that. It is however only a small...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a hotel with invisible staff. You check in and check out on your own. It's not difficult, but the touch screen is not the best... I had to do it 3 times... frozen fingers maybe! I liked the common areas, they seemed cozy enough. _The room was basic but everything you need is there - desk, chair, lights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Luisa_Freitas
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi Ana_Luisa_Freitas! Thank you for your review of our hotel! We do like the sentence of "invisible staff". It might seem that way, luckily we do appear like ghosts when we are needed! :) Some times our automated receptionists do need a restart if the software becomes a bit less responsive, sounds like that was the case when you visited!...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, the location of Citybox is perfect: in a 3-min walk from the Opera and the train station, with access to buses, tramways and metro (and souvenir shops if you're a tourist). The cost is reasonable (budget-wise): NOK 740 (about EUR 81). However, some drawbacks that might be serious for some: no bath mat, hand towel or hair drier on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrelmsantos
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi andrelmsantos! Thank you for your review of our hotel! Glad you liked our location, but it seems like you missed a couple of points about our hotel. There are extra towels and hairdryers available at the Citybox Host Office, and there is always at least one Citybox Host available in the hotel. If you can find him there are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was very easy to use the automated check-in and enjoyed the way communal areas are very relaxed and with plenty of available seats. Liked the book sharing idea too and communal 'mini kitchen' area plus TVs. Very informal and homey. There are always one or two staff on hand in the office if you have a query, but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fifurn
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi fifurn! Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel! We are just flattered and inspired by all your kind words! So cool to read feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept! We are indeed informal, why act different than you do at home? :) Also cool that you enjoyed your visit to our partner...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel stay in a very long time. Started off with automated check in machines that didn't work properly. The room is very basic. This is like the low cost airline of hotels. No shampoo, conditioner and soap, just one liquid that's supposed to be everything. No TV, no hair dryer, no wardrobes, etc. Super basic. The worst thing about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuchop
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review

Hi tuchop! Thank you for your review of our hotel! So disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We are totally aware that we do things different than most hotels, and we feel that we do not hide this fact - but in stead try to be as honest as possible about our approach. Too...

603 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (148)
Viewed
Double Room (20)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
Small Double Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 99 in Oslo
693 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 99 in Oslo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Price Range: €74 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#11 Business Hotel in Oslo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citybox Oslo staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Citybox Oslo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 317 is next to the elevator (but we didn't hear it) and looks out on the inside patio so no streetnoise”
 of 5 bubbles RachelAugust, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is worth the price for a standard double room.”
 of 5 bubbles Feverismistic, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the 7th floor, which gave me a good view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles gregorz398, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up has less noise and no buildings across.”
 of 5 bubbles UlrikJr, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher is better, less sound from the city”
 of 5 bubbles Jotunhammer, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5