We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$157
View deal
Booking.com
US$155
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/22
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$157
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#21 of 106 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Norwegian
251Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 75
  • 23
  • 20
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chantell & Lisa wrote a review 18 Sep
United Kingdom14 contributions
+1
We absolutely LOVED this place! Only stayed for one night and we couldn't rate it any higher. After spending a month in Norway meeting rather insular locals, we got here and experienced nothing but a warm welcome! The staff is professional, friendly, kind, genuinely smiley and so helpful with anything you need. The rooms are beautiful and well decorated, and they're clean - in fact, everywhere we went within the hotel was super clean - the bed was so comfy and the shower was fab! Don't even get us started on the insanely fantastic breakfast! Whatever you could possibly want for breakfast they had ... and more! From cereal to pastries, fruit, eggs cooked in any style, crispy bacon, pancakes, waffles, all sorts of bread types, and well, just so much more! And so fresh and tasty! Yes, we love our breakfasts! haha But in all seriousness, on a whole, this hotel is absolutely fantastic! It has a cool vibe throughout. A great work area as well as a restaurant! A definite must stay! Whatever you do, do NOT try to take any breakfast bits up to your room! ;) We heard a couple next to us get told off for their attempt and got charged for it. Woops! haha
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 1 week ago
WOW! Thank you for your amazing review! Hope to see you again next time you are in Oslo. Have a great week! All the best Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bluefin S wrote a review 14 Sep
Aliso Viejo, California22 contributions20 helpful votes
One of the best hotels I've stayed at and I've stayed at numerous hotels around the world. The hotel is clean has warm contemporary nordic decor, very safe business area, close 5 mins walk to public transportation. Our room was so clean, bed and pillows are so comfortable. Best of all, the breakfast is the most expansive in terms of options and best in terms of taste and ingredient quality. Reception gentleman that checked us in was friendly and genuine, not the "service friendly" type. Loved our stay here in Oslo!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review! Hope to see you again very soon. From all of us, have a great week. All the best Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kumar786 wrote a review Aug 2022
Bengaluru, India595 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
A nice decent place to stay . The beds were comfortable. The sheets were clean. The bathroom is different and utility oriented. The towels are clean. The furniture is comfortable in the rooms. The reception was good. And prompt. There are 2 different wings in the hotel. The breakfast table is well spread and food is continental. Veggies are also well catered to. All in all a good hotel to stay with family/ friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your very nice review. Hope to see you again very soon. All the best Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anders322 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Easy to get to downtown fast if that is an requirement, a bit quite area of Oslo. Maschmann is the best place to dine out if you need to go out eating. Food at the hotel is the usual Scandic standard - not perfect but approved.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hei! Tusen takk for en superfin tilbakemelding! Det setter vi stor pris på . Velkommen tilbake neste gang du er i Oslo! Vennlig hilsen Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Javier1954 wrote a review Jul 2022
Zaragoza, Spain199 contributions119 helpful votes
We stayed (in 2 rooms) as part of a tour group. Rooms were very good (with teapot, fridge in one of the rooms). Breakfast and dinner were the best among those in the four Scandic hotels we stayed in the Norway tour. Friendly staff. Well connected (less than 10 min by metro from the nearby station to the city center). Car parking in the basement (10 euros/day). I am not rating this hotel as excellent because the rooms we had were in a sector of the building where the elevator does not go neither to the reception desk floor nor to the parking; you have to cross corridors in two of the intermediate plants and take another elevator; this was not convenient and quite confusing at first.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hello Thank you so much for your very nice comments! Please come back and see us All the best Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina S wrote a review Jul 2022
Munich, Germany4 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was perfect. Clean room, nice breakfast with so many things to choose. Also the staff was friendly! Can highly recommend this hotel if you don't want to stay directly in the crowded city centre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
fozbozz wrote a review Jun 2022
Niimi, Japan38 contributions5 helpful votes
From the very beginning, my wife and I were impressed with the service provided at the hotel; being able to check-in already via an app and, despite arriving significantly before the check-in time, being able to go to my room already was a very nice bonus. The staff were always smiling and happy to make sure that we were happy with our stay and knew what we needed to when planning to explore Oslo. Following the first night of very good sleep, we went for breakfast and were amazed by the variety, provision for people with allergies, and sheer quality of all the foods offered; it all tasted fantastic. We knew that we needed to come down for breakfast earlier the next morning in order to make the most of it! Overall, I could not fault my stay here at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jorningekarlsson wrote a review Jun 2022
Porsgrunn, Norway1 contribution
A very nice hotel with very good service, great food and nice roms. Easy access to both train and bus. There are some nice local restaurants too in a small central city area with different type of dishes. A great stay and I will use this hotel again very soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ginacalifornia2017 wrote a review Jun 2022
Yarm, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
Go somewhere else.. if you have days to wait you could sit here . Service is the worst I have ever experienced anywhere. Why , do they not change bedding every day? Absolutely terrible. If I went to a hotel every day I would expect the the b d to be changed veryday. ENVIRONMENTALISTS SHUT UP
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Hello Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am sorry you felt unwelcome by us at the front desk. Our guests should always feel welcome. Regarding your bedding change. We are an ecolabled hotel. The lable is called Svanen and we have been Svane labled for almost 20 years. We have no singlepacked items, little to no plastic and we bottle our own water, so to change our bedding everyday is not done at our hotel or at most hotels I would guess. We change bedding every 3 days, and get you new towels everyday if you ask for it. We are proud to be an ecolabled hotel and do our part for the environment. We do hope to see you again in the future. All the best Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nikhil M wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore3 contributions
The Hotel has Very Poor Customer service at the Reception. Very unwelcoming and Cold. Tourists like a Cheerful welcome when they arrive . The Hotel has no Toiletries whatsoever. For the price , the Hotel Stay is not Value for Money
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ragne Lærum, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Hi, Thanks for your feedback on you recent stay with us we hope to see you soon again! Best, Team Scandic Sjølyst
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scandic oslo sjolyst hotel oslo, scandic hotel oslo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Sjolyst
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Sjolyst?
Nearby attractions include Vigeland Museum (1.0 km), Bygdoy Peninsula (1.1 km), and Museum of Oslo (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Sjolyst?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Scandic Sjolyst?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Sjolyst?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Sjolyst?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Sjolyst?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Tandoori, Maschmanns Foodmarket, and Restaurant Selection.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Sjolyst?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Sjolyst?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Sjolyst?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Sjolyst offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Sjolyst?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Dutch, and Norwegian.