We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Byporten

Save
Share
Jernbanetorget 6, Oslo 0154 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ScandicHotels.com
US$161
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (410)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (291)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#31 of 101 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Stay at one of Oslo’s most central hotels. Under the same roof as Byporten Shopping Centre and within walking distance of Karl Johans gate, the urban Grunerlokka district and the Opera. A superb hotel for anyone wishing to explore the city of Oslo, with public transport right on your doorstep. Just walk out of the station, into the plaza, turn right, through the revolving doors and you have arrived. Here you’ll find delightful shopping districts, nightlife and countless restaurants right on your doorstep. Experience the throng of Karl Johans Gate, with row upon row of shops and cafes. Scandic Byporten is located in the same building as Byporten shopping centre. Here you will find a large selection of shops and cafes. The urban and charming Grunerlokka district is just a few tram stops away. Here you will find popular nightspots, restaurants and cafes. If culture is your thing, the Opera, Folketeateret theatre and Akershus Fortress are also nearby.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1669Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 618
  • 715
  • 239
  • 66
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Augnestein wrote a review 22 Oct
Molde, Norway3 contributions
Overall ok. Breakfast at Egon, waiting in a queue for 15 mins. Not too much variety in food but great eggs and bacon. Very central for touring Oslo and for going back to Gardermoen. Very kind and helpful staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Anneli H wrote a review Sep 2021
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
The room was not cleaned, the bed was not made like a hotell, the bathroom lets not even talk about it (well the toailet didnt flush with out getting stuck).The receptionist that checked us in had no intreset to inform us about anything really. It was beer on the floor in the reception from the evening before when we went to breakfast and so on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Pohjonen, General Manager at Scandic Byporten
Responded 21 Sep 2021
Hi Anneli, Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay with us, we need guests like you to be able to improve ourselves. Something that clearly is the case after reading about your experience. It is with nothing but pain I read that you had such a bad experience her. As the General Manager, it is my responsibility that the team follow our standards and routines all the way from the first impression at check-in to cleanliness, something that clearly hasn't been the case here and for that I am deeply sorry. I clearly have some work to do for our future guests. Luckily I also know that we can do so much better than this and hope to be able to show it to you in the future. Although I fully understand that your trust in us has weakened I sincerely hope that we can get a second chance to show ourselves from a better side when you return to Oslo. If so, contact me via mikael.pohjonen@scandichotels.com and I will do my outmost that your next stay is far better than this one. Crossing my fingers that I will be hearing from you. Warm regards, Mikael Pohjonen General Manager
Read more
Cori S wrote a review Sep 2021
Lanai City, Hawaii53 contributions30 helpful votes
I don’t expect luxury from this type of hotel, but basic competence isn’t too much to ask. We had a terrible experience overall. Reserved a family room but got sent to three different rooms before we finally got the right type. That’s 30 minutes of my life I’ll never see again. When we finally got into the correct quarters, it was even more frustrating. With the child bunk folded down, the three of us couldn’t even all stand up simultaneously. One adult had to crawl into bed from the foot because it was shoved so far toward the wall it wouldn’t allow side access. The shower was so tiny I couldn’t even bend over to pick up a dropped item without hitting my head.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Pohjonen, General Manager at Scandic Byporten
Responded 21 Sep 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we need guests like you to be able to improve ourselves. You are absolutely right, basic things should be in place. I am unsure how it go so wrong but ultimately it is my fault that the team hasn't got the proper training and for that I would like to forward my sincere apologies. I will make sure that we learn from this terrible episode. With regards to the room size I agree, our standard family rooms are indeed space efficient. Something we do our best to inform about in the booking process with both text, square meter size and pictures. I apologize if this information didn't reach you. I fully understand that your trust in us has weakened. However, I do know that we can perform so much better and I hope we get the chance to show that you in the future. If you decide to give us a second chance, contact me via mikael.pohjonen@scandichotels.com and I will make sure that we, as a courtesy, upgrade you to the biggest room available. Hoping to hear from you! Warm regards, Mikael Pohjonen General Manager
Read more
rudigerf2017 wrote a review Aug 2021
Hamburg, Germany26 contributions42 helpful votes
Top location in city center. Noise and party from across the street made it impossible to sleep for us and children! Front desk did not care when I called at 2:30 am and told me this would be normal in a city, I should not complain. Breakfast situation was disappointing.. although food selection was good, one had to get out of the way for the waiters, the rooms where overfilled with absolutely no chance to avoid contact with others. And although it was asked for to use a mask specially when going to the buffet, nobody did. Needless to say that all waiters did not use a mask! Worst hotel experience in over 35 years of travel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Pohjonen, General Manager at Scandic Byporten
Responded 1 Sep 2021
Dear Rudiger, As per our email conversation, it is with nothing but pain I am reading that you had such a horrific experience with us. I have spoken to my colleague that deeply apologized that her response came out in that manner. With regards to the noise making neighboring restaurant, I have also made clear that the party the threw in the midst of a pandemic is unacceptable. With regards to the breakfast it is also with nothing but sadness that you experienced it like that. Although we have a system in place with slot times we cannot unfortunately control how long our guests wants to enjoy their breakfast or if someone that didn't want to have an early breakfast decided to say that they lost their ticket. The mask is a recommendation from our side, unfortunately we cannot force people to use it when it is not regulated by the authorities. Having said all this, I fully understand that your trust in us has weakened. Luckily I know that we can do so much better and we would be so happy to show it to you in the future. Warm regards, Mikael Pohjonen General Manager
Read more
roytesdal wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Nice, central location. In the immediate vicinity of the main train station. With a short distance to Karl Johans gate, the main street in Oslo. Nice and attentive staff, and nice rooms. My first choice when traveling to Oslo.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Pohjonen, General Manager at Scandic Byporten
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Hi! Thank you so much for choosing us as well as sharing your experience! It makes me so happy to see that my colleagues did such a great impression! We are already awaiting your next stay here :) Warm regards, Mikael Pohjonen General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scandic byporten oslo, scandic byporten hotel oslo
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOsloSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
239
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Byporten
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Byporten?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Games (0.4 km), VR Games Zone (0.2 km), and Nordmarka (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Byporten?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Scandic Byporten?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Byporten?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Byporten?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Byporten?
Conveniently located restaurants include MANTRA by Mr India, Shanghai 2K18, and Mamma Pizza Osteria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Byporten?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Scandic Byporten located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Oslo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Byporten?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Scandic Byporten offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Byporten?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.