We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Oslo City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Scandic Oslo City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night at the Scandic Oslo City Hotel. The hotel is located directly opposite the Oslo S train Station. The hotel is very comfortable with good size rooms. The only thing that puzzled us is why a double bed has two separate duvet's? Seemed strange to us. The breakfast was a delicious buffet with very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Nicky Thank you for staying with us during the last month. I am so happy to read that you had a great stay and that you foud our staff helpfull and kind. Just what I like to hear. I hope we see you again next time you pass by Oslo. Welcome back to us Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is as basic as hotels get! No facilities in room - kettle, iron, bedside table, minibar, clock, etc - tiny uncomfortable bed which wasn't even properly made! Felt like walking into a 1980s student residence! Awful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Andy F Thank you for staying at Scandic Oslo City. I am sorry you did not like your room. All our conveniences in our rooms are clearly stated on our webpages under rooms info. Kettle and minibars we do have if you book a larger room type, this is a Scandic standard. All our rooms have bedside tables. Please...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Four of us stayed for three nights and we were most impressed with the friendliness and hospitality of all the staff. When leaving a Receptionist willingly printed out our Boarding Passes. The room was comfortable and cleaned each day. The Breakfast offered had many choices and was deemed to be excellent by our group. The Bar was comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello John H Thank you so much for your great feedbackk on your stay here with us. I am so happy to hear you en joyed everything, and we are really looking forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful Christmas, and we hope to see you again very soon. Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic Oslo City

Italy
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Breakfast and service was great, room was clean. Hotel is old. There's a lot of uneven wood stuff on the long hallways causing me to trip a couple of times. Our stay was okay, could be better. Not a 4-star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gen C
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Gen C Thank you for choosing Scandic Oslo City as your hotel during your stay in Oslo. I am sorry that you thought our hotel looks old. We are located in one of the oldest buildings in our area, but the hotel was renovated in 2012, but I am very sorry you tripped. Next time you visit us, we...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The location is perfect! Very close to the Oslo S train station and the main street Karl Johan. We only stayed 1 night and couldn't enjoyed the breakfast or other amenities like the bar, but the front desk staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. Rooms are extremely small.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalia0718
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your great review. I hope next time you will take the time to enjoy our breakfast and all our other services. I wish you a great christmas, and hope to see you again very soon. Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic Oslo City

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I travel a lot and this is the most comfortable hotel as the location is excellent , in the city center, in front of Oslo S train station and Main Street like Karl johans gate. The service and the people who works there are very nice and friendly. They always make me feel welcomed. The breakfast is the best of...

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Line O
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Line O Thank you som much for your great review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at Scandic Oslo City we hope to see you again very soon. Have a fantasic December Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic Oslo City

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Just a few steps from Oslo Sentral railway station and also well located for accessing all the city centre attractions. Location is top notch. Our room overlooked a central courtyard and was very quiet/clean. The room was not huge and it seemed a smallish double bed, although there was enough space for us to store our luggage and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RealHoltyboy
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello RealHoltyboy Thank you for choosing Scandic Oslo City as your hotel during your time in Oslo, and thank you for this great review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, and many next time you can take a later train to fully enjoy it. We are all looking forward to seeing you again....

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We we´re here oct. 24,2016 for 3days & in their presidential suite.The space & location was the best part of what we got.Only set back, theres not much suite supposed to be items on the room except for bathrobes but nevertheless so far so good.The booking online straight to the hotel was so effecient,thats a hats off since we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philitina143fi
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for a nice review of Scandic Oslo City. It sounds to me that you had a good stay, and that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. Thank you for booking thorough our own website. There are always the best offers there. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The best thing about this hotel is its location, close to the central station and the hub of most communication lines. But apart from that my experience was rather average. Check-in and -out was OK, friendly receptionist, but I had a long walk to my room, and so also when going back. The room was quite small, facing a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torger B
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Torger B Thank you for choosing Scandic Oslo City as your hotel during your stay in Oslo. I am happy to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed all our offerings. I really hope to see you again very soon. Regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic Oslo City

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Located at the city center, close to Oslo central station and a lot of stores and places to visit. You can reach the harbor, town hall, restaurants and bars. Also easy to visit the Royal Palace and Central Theater.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
Ragne L, General Manager at Scandic Oslo City, responded to this review

Hello Christine A Thank you so much for this review! Clean rooms with nice service is exactly what we want to hear from our guests. I hope we will see you again very soon With best regards Ragne Lærum General Manager Scandic Oslo City

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#18 of 98 in Oslo
698 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 98 in Oslo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay close to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Take the tram to the park Vigelandsparken, or go for a walk along Karl Johan. Enjoy a productive workday in our modern conference centre, and enjoy a meal in the restaurant after a busy day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Oslo City

Address: Europaraadets Plass 1 | Scandic Oslo City, Oslo 0154, Norway (Formerly Rica Oslo Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Price Range: €99 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Oslo City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Oslo City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Oslo
Oslo Rica Hotel
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Oslo
#32 Business Hotel in Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Oslo City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rohnert Park, California

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Oslo City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles andyf167, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One of our group had a room in the front of the Hotel which proved to be quite noisy during the night.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH313, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“good location near the train station”
 of 5 bubbles philitina143fi, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lots of beggers around train station. American tourists need to pay attention to your valuables walking outside the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles kjim2014, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room overlooking the square on the front side would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles premhejmadi, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay