We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Soeroeygata 15, Hammerfest 9600 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
US$131
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$131
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ScandicHotels.comUS$132
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Hammerfest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Scandic Hammerfest is located in the center of the northernmost town in the world and offers a beautiful view of the harbour and the Soroy strait. Our hotel offers 85 rooms all with a view of either the city or the sea. If you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 250 participants. We also have a modern hotel gym where you can keep in shape during your stay. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
184Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 76
  • 32
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
geirmagne2022 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Very plessen stay at Scandic Hammerfest. Close to everything. It's a nice city to travel to summer and winter. The breakfast are very good and with a wide to the ocean. My room was quite big, and no problem to stay there for several days . Enjoyed the city life a lot 🤩
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Johan Svanberg, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 27 May 2022
Dear geirmagne2022, thank you for a lovely review. Best regards
Read more
mikkel356 wrote a review Feb 2022
Kautokeino, Norway1 contribution
We found «snus» in the bathroom, the room was comd because the window couldnt be closed because of snow and ice, we had to remove the snow so we could close the window. The toilet was too close to the sink so we would be in direct contact with the sink. The sheets would fall off its place because the other side had more then the other. The food however was ok.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Johan Svanberg, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 27 May 2022
Dear mikkel356, It seems like you got treated all wrong. No one wants to find 'snus' in the bathroom. We have obviously failed with one of our most important tasks, to provide a clean and proper room. I'm happy that you at least got some lovely food during yor stay. Best regards
Read more
jik264 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
No room available at check-in, even though written (e-Mail) and oral (phone) confirmation on my booking was given from the hotel prior to my arrival. The hotel showed no desire or ability to solve the situasjon in a good maner for me as a guest.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Johan Svanberg, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 27 May 2022
Dear jik264, I'm so sorry for your bad experience at our hotel. Next time book your room at scandichotels.com and choose the pre paid alternative and you're guaranteed a room even with late arrival. Best regards
Read more
Saraks wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions
Overall a great experience for a great price, felt exclusive although it wasn’t very pricey. Very good breakfast. Would recommend if travelling to Hammerfest. Location in city centre, but did not hear any noise. Lovely view from our room, and the staff was very helpful as we had a special request. Perfect stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Johan Svanberg, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Hi Stjerneglans, Thank you for your lovely review. Each day we try to make the best possible experience for our guests and it seems like we managed to fulfill your request. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards
Read more
Rune W wrote a review Jul 2021
Oslo, Norway12 contributions1 helpful vote
Scandic is a very nice hotel, where I have stayed the last 5 trips to Hammerfest. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. The location of the hotel is very good with a sea view, and close to the city center, but in a quiet area. The beds are nice and I always sleep well. I had a superior room which are quite spacious, however the bathrooms are far from superior with a low standard and due for an upgrade, and not what you expect when you pay NOK 1700 per night for a room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Johan Svanberg, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Hi runew2015, thank you for your review. Always nice to get positive feedback about my teams effort to deliver great hospitality. I will share your opinions with team at our next meeting. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards
Read more
benjaminwangen_777@hotmail.com wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions
I had a goodnight's stay @Scandic Hammerfest, I really enjoyed staying there. The hotel has a beautiful brick built outer look and is amazing inside. The staff is great, the atmosphere is excellent and the standard of the double room was indeniably appealing to the senses, in such a positive way - with a fantastic seaview.🖤
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjorn Utne, Other at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear guest Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Im really happy to hear tthat you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again. Best regards Mads.Hammer@scandichotels.com
Read more
Scottish_Traveller wrote a review Sep 2020
Macduff, United Kingdom279 contributions140 helpful votes
Great hotel. Staff are firendly. Nice location. Everything is nice. Breakfast is great! HOWEVER, the restraunt is closed which is simply uncessasry... how can every other restraunt in the town be open, but only Scandic closed, is COVID only happening in the Scandic but not at other restraunt in town? Strange. LAUNDRY. This is really ridiculous. They have no laundry service. How am I meant to clean my clothes when staying for a long stay? This is crazy. I am compleletly confused how a large hotel like this is allowed to have no dedicated laundry service. What am I going to do? Wash my clothes in the sink? I just cannot understand this policy. I was on a long business trip for six weeks, can you imagine if every hotel told me they did not do laundry 2 stars deducted because of this unhygenic and crazy no-laundry policy! If there was laundry and open restraunt, likely 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjorn Utne, Other at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that our staff provided you good service and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Unfortunatly there is no laudry service available in Hammerfest, but next we can try to help you at the hotel. If you have any questions please contact me directly. Best regards Mads.hammer@scandichotels.com General Manager
Read more
arildbg2015 wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway6 contributions9 helpful votes
During our 10 days trip we have visited several Scandic hotels in Northern Norway, and this was the best by far. Excellent location, easy parking, spacious room, fabulous view from room, super comfortable beds, bathroom with bathtub and heated floor, delicious breakfast and very helpful staff. We had a great 2 nights stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjorn Utne, Other at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear guest Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I'm so happy that you had a lovly stay with us. Hope to welcome you back another time. Best regards Mads.hammer@scandichotels.com
Read more
Rosita D wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The location is great and the staff is friendly. Breakfast was also good, but we missed bacon. Pillow and bed was horrible. It was dirty in the bathroom, not clean enough for what you expect in a hotel. And when you showered the water came up from the sink and also the whole bathroomfloor got wet because the water drained so slow.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjorn Utne, Other at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Hello. Thank's for your feedback. Now we have a morning meeting with the cleaning department in 25 minutes. Your feedback regarding the room and the cleaning, as well as poor drainage in the bathroom will be a "matter" that we will take seriously. We will and normally we deliver well regarding cleaning, the room should be clean and nice when the guest checks in. Regarding bacon, Scandic has guidelines regarding breakfast concept and bacon is unfortunately not included.Wishing you a continued good summer :-)
Read more
annet wrote a review Jul 2020
Vaasa, Finland33 contributions13 helpful votes
I had requested a higher floor with a nice view but what we got was room 504 on -2 floor with a view to parking lot so we couldn't keep the curtains open. Room was small for two people, like a small cruise ship cabin. Bathroom floor was dirty. Room was old. The door was difficult to open from outside and inside. Breakfast was good and staff there effective. Location was good. But I would rather stay somewhere else next time as with the same money there are nice hotelrooms available. Scandic standards change a lot and unfortunatelly this was one of the bad ones. Or maybe the other rooms are nicer?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjorn Utne, Other at Scandic Hammerfest
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry that you were to happy with your hotelroom. Hopefully we can give you a better experience if you give us another chance. Best regards Mads.Hammer@scandichotels.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rica Hotel Hammerfest
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayFinnmarkHammerfest MunicipalityHammerfest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Hammerfest
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Hammerfest?
Nearby attractions include The Polar Bear Society (0.2 km), Hammerfest Church (0.1 km), and Museum of Reconstruction for Finnmark and Northern Troms (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Hammerfest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Scandic Hammerfest?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Hammerfest?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Hammerfest?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Hammerfest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Niri Sushi & Dinner, SOT bar & burger Hammerfest, and Sweet Fantasy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Hammerfest?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Scandic Hammerfest located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Hammerfest.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Hammerfest?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Hammerfest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Hammerfest?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.