We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Graben Hotel

Show Prices
#71 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Graben Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Of course you can, but not as "cheap". I love this place, old fashioned, in the heart of the city, everything is just around the corner, breakfast is yummy, rooms are clean, beds are just great...and I got great deal on web booking so it was really good decision to book this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intrepidCRO
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest IntrepidCRO, thank you for staying with us! We are happy that youhad a great time in our Graben Hotel. It is a pleasure for us that you liked our hotel and the location so much! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Kind regards Eva Kremslehner Hotel Manager

Ontario Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The graben is great location but the room (number27) is very old, terrible old carpet and outdated furniture. The bell boy wasn't even around to get the baggage from the street 50m away. Then after that we find out there is no air conditioning in the room. We are told "it's not included in your price". For such a terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OntarioCanadaJ
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OntarioCanadaJohn , thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve our service. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you! All our rooms (even the smallest one) respect the strict guidelines for 4*hotels, not each of our rooms offer an air condition but...

dingli malta
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The Graben is perfect to stay at. The underground station is a few steps away and for the price you cannot find a more central hotel. Rooms are clean and our room had a bathroom and a seperate room for the toilet which is very conveniant. The decor could be updated but the rooms are still charming. We would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank r0minab
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest r0minab, thank you for your kind words posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback about your stay at our Graben Hotel and are happy that you felt at home with us! We hope to welcome you back in the near future and it would be a pleasure for us to assist you with your next booking personally....

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2012

stayed 4 nights @ the graben after taking the train in from prague (tip if you're taking the same route: get off @ simmering & take the U3 to stephansplatz; if you go all the way into the main station you'll need to change 2 subway lines). finding the hotel from their email directions upon exiting stephansplatz station from the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AWC886
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest AWC886, thank you very much for posting your Feedback at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read your nice comments and that you have enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel. Usually we only get comments if something went wrong during the journey. All the more we want to say "thank you" for your kind words...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Graben was an interesting hotel! We stayed for 4 nights and overall thought it was a really pleasant hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the only complaint we had was that the airconditioning did not work well with the 30 deg plus heatwave we experienced while we were there. We had to keep our window open which faced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyeous
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Joyeous, thank you for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable at our Graben Hotel. We regret that some necessary renovation work has impacted your stay, but upon your next visit you will benefit from these improvements. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to...

Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Cosy, comfortable, clean hotel, less than minute away from pedestrian area. Employees are dedicated and very pleasant. Room (well, mine) was too small, but since I was there for business, I just slept, so did not mind space. But, in the bathroom there is a heating system constantly on (ok, warm towels, nice), but I dont need it on 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevencica
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Nevencica, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We would like to thank you for your kind comments and are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have bigger and smaller rooms like our superior rooms, it will be a pleasure for us to assist you next time personally with your booking,...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2012

It's old, quirky and full of character. Comfortable and clean, staff are friendly and the breakfast is a very good selection. The Italian next door that attached to the hotel is also nice. What it lacks in space and mod cons makes up for in being a perfect location! As much as I liked it the only reason I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonia G
Management response:

Dear Guest Antonia G, thank you for your feedback and your comments on the service quality of our Graben Hotel. We want to point out that it is not our standard procedure that we overbook or double book our Hotels! Only in emergency cases, when Vienna is full, we need to send some guests to our sister Hotels. It is...

Sunshine Coast
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After huge rooms in Berlin, this hotel was a bit of a shock. The bathroom was tiny and there was limited storage for clothing and luggage. This hotel however, made up in character and location whatever it lacked in size. There are pictures of historic Vienna all throughout the hallways. The staff were friendly and accommodating of all requests. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beetrootears
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Beetrootears, thank you so much for taking your time to report your stay at Tripadvisor. We are sorry for the inconvinences caused with the size of the room. Unfortunately you did not complain at reception, otherwise we would have arranged a room change, if we had known. Thank you also very much for your positive feedback concerning our...

Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We chose the hotel because of the wonderful location and indeed it is very enjoyable to live in the heart of the action. Most attractions are within walking distance including restaurants, cafes and public transport. The hotel itself is pleasant, clean and With friendly staff. Add to that rich breakfast and free wi-fi connection and you have every reason to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fogmot
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Fogmot, thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are really glad to read that you were satisfied with our service and that you had a nice time in Vienna. We hope we can offer you soon again our hospitality and would be more than happy to assist you personally with your next reservation. Best Regards Eva...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Being frequent visitors to Graben Hotel and always staying in a smoking room we this time experienced a surprise. The hotel had turned non smoking from the beginning of this year. Even if I appreciate the decission made I cannot understand the bad service not informing customers of the change.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sedelma

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Double Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Superior Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#98 of 367 in Vienna
740 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#149 of 367 in Vienna
560 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 367 in Vienna
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
1,949 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#103 of 367 in Vienna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera), Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral) and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’ former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the centre. The Imperial Apartments and the refreshingly demystifying Sissi Museum are must-dos at Hofburg. Spacious squares such as Am Hof and Freyung often host beautiful seasonal and antiques markets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Price Range: €105 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Graben Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Graben Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the third floor and it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieJohnston63, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Being that this is a budget hotel, i would recommend to spend the extra $$ to get a bigger room for a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles jorelb424, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the street are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles 45janicem, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the central courtyard where the trash cans are, are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles WILLIAMSVILLE-FAMILY, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid first floor”
 of 5 bubbles SteveR666, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5