We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was rather in-personable. Did not understand why they only had one person at the reception always at any one time while Sissi almost always had 2 (wells at least one in the back room ready to give a hand). Layout of the buffet was not convenient, but I guess that couldn't be helped. The rooms looked older and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelaine S
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your stay as enjoyable as you did at the Meininger Sissi. As a rule we always have at least one person at the front office during during the day, we already talked to our staff abour your...

Reviewed 12 May 2016

I stayed here for about one week with friends.Before I came into room,I had to call the number sent by office through email.But I couldnt connect. Very complicated to enter there.it took 2hrs.hahah.but that room was very beautiful.and there is nice kitchen and IH gas(electric).youll spend here like locals and I ate dinner together with the owner of the apartment.really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 464kanan
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the review, but I think this one belongs to another property. But still, I hope you had a great time in Vienna:) Best wishes, Simon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Good points: location was good, near the metro system so easy to get to attractions and walking distance to bars along the river. Room was clean too. Bad points: washer wasn't working so was rudely told to go to their sister hostel to use their washing machine. I understand these things happen but I felt the staff felt we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry that you had the feeling to be an inconvenience. We talked to our staff about your experience since it is our key priority to make our guests feel welcome and at home like you did at our sister hotel Meininger Sissi. Still I'm glad...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 8 May 2016

This hotel is not far from the center (20-25 minutes walk or 10 minute to the U station). It is clean and bright hotel that seems to be used a lot by groups. We rented double rooms and for that category I found it a bit pricey. The front desk staff are very helpful. The rooms are of reasonable size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brozas
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

It was my first time in Vienna and I have never heard about Meininger hotels, but this one was a very pleasant surprise. Kind staff, very clean nice rooms. It even has a kitchen and a washing machine that guests can use for free, like a hostel. Maybe a minor setback is the distance to the nearest subway station, around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo C
Reviewed 3 May 2016

A great hostel with a really helpful staff. I'm not sure how the breakfast was because I opted to try out some other local places instead. It's definitely central and it has a really cool view of St. Charles Church. Definitely recommend. They helped me with reservations, recommendations, and printing. The boy at the front desk is also f-i-n-e.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks a million for your lovely feedback! I forwarded you compliments to our staff at receptions, and especially our boys were flattered :-). Since you're on a holiday we want you to relax as much as possible and are happy to help you with anything you need. I hope to welcome you back soon to Vienna - or...

Bangalore
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Pros: Clean and nice spacious dorms (just as you see in the pics in their websites). Easily accessible to the city center and all major attractions in city. Internet worked well in all nook and corner of the hostel. Cons: I felt that the morning breakfast was really expensive, but the quality and choices of the buffet was big. Considering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AjayBhat
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that is was such a positive one and you liked your room and our location. We want to offer something at the breakfast for all likings and I think we have quite a good bargain for Vienna. If you travel on a...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

This is my first stay in a hostel, and my initial thought was this was going to be a run down place visited by loud teenagers... It is about 10-15 min walk from downtown Vienna, and about 5 -7 min walk from the Metro. The four of us booked a room, we got a room on the 6th floor for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emalogue
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your detailed and amazing feedback! I'm happy that your first stay in a hostel was such a good one and you did have a great time in our lovely city. Our rooms are designed for urban travellers and they will find everything they need in the room, for example hair dryers and soap,...

Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Meininger Hotel is basically a hotel turned hostel. The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable with lockable storage underneath. The room also had enough lockers for each bed, a table with stools, a bin and a separate toilet and shower. The Hotel is well located near supermarkets, shops, restaurants and metro stations. The staff were friendly but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We travelled here in early March with a college society group on a cultural excursion. Group travel can be quite stressful, but the entire trip was made much easier due to the fantastic experience we had in the Meininger Downtown Franz. Upon arrival the staff were so efficient and professional and made us feel very welcome. Any request or query...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaitrionaS31
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks a million for the fabulous words! I'm glad that you had a good time staying with us. This is what we are happy to do for everyone. You check in and lean back and everything we will take care of everything else :) So I hope to see you next time, maybe in of the 15 other...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 367 in Vienna
1,491 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#167 of 367 in Vienna
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: €38 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#127 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Rowland Heights
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try their breakfast, it is great for good price.”
 of 5 bubbles 11katerinah, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a group of people, you can stay here”
 of 5 bubbles PrasantBhansaali, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street have the better views. Some even come with balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Hewanorra, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not come here”
 of 5 bubbles spanishreviewer, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay on higher floors to avoid noise from lobby”
 of 5 bubbles unspoken_lullaby, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5