We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Das Triest

Show Prices
#84 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Das Triest
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Das Triest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 427: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Very friendly hotel within walking distance to attractions such as the Naschmarkt, Opera, Museum Quarter etc - Vienna is a lovely city to stroll around. Stayed for 4 nights on a BA holiday - proved to be a good decision. Loved the design of the place - would be nice to use the courtyard area in the summer. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia F
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear Patriciasalisbury! Many thanks for your feedback, which gives us an insight of your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location, which is placed close by the center and other impressive places. Furthermore we highly appreciate your kind words referring our sense of design. We are always trying to fulfill the high...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2014

This hotel is just out of the centre but a minute or two on the tram takes you to the pedestrianised streets of the city. Alternatively, exploring on foot is just as easy and walking to the Spanish Riding School of museum quarter would only take half an hour. The hotel is clean and bright with well presented rooms. Though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank l0ul00
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear l0ul00, Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer. I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting us at any time for special wishes like...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Stayed at Das Triest for 3 nights on a British Airways holiday. It is in an excellent location and walking distance to the centre and the Naschmarkt which has lots of restaurants & bars. We found an absolute gem of a restaurant though on way to Naschmarkt called Acht Ein Halb Otto e Mezzo. Just turn right out of hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyBetty
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear AndyBetty! Thank you so much for your superb review and thank you so much for exploring and sharing this gem of a restaurant, which will be surely very interesting for any of our future guests. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest! As we do not have Tea & Coffee facilities...

South Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Customer service was great, front desk/reception was very welcoming. Also service to help with luggage was good as well. Stayed one night, without breakfast, front desk upgraded our room to a Junior Suite. Room was very large and spacious. Only negative was the bed. It was very large for two people which was nice, but horribly hard and uncomfortable. Otherwise,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JM0765
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear JM0765! We appreciate taking your time to give us an impression of your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have received a good service while staying with us as this is our priority and hope to welcome you again soon. Best wishes Jasmin Abdalla

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This is a centrally located nice hotel. The service was friedly and fast. The price is somewhat lower than in the very center, although this one is just 500 m from Karlsplatz metro station. There quite many choices at the breakfast table. There were some things, we listed as development projects: the pipes gave a solid noise, when opening the...

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari P
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear Kari P, Thanks for offering us an opportunity to receive a picture of how your stay in our hotel has been like. We are delighted to hear that our breakfast suits you fine and that you liked the location of the hotel. Many thanks also for your effort by listing development projects. We have acknowledged them and will try...

Reviewed 19 October 2014

We stayed 4 nights here. The façade for this hotel leaves a lot to be desired as much as the Lobby so when you arrive and see this is disappointing. You immediately become stressed because you think the rooms will look like that. We were upgraded to a Suite as soon As we arrived, don't know why, but didn't question...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chula1999
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear Chula 1999! Many thanks for taking your time to describe us your impressions during your stay. It is true that our façade is inconspicuous. This is because of our intention trying to be unpredictable. We are happy to hear that you liked our room facilities and that you were given an upgrade to a suite. We would like to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 October 2014

This hotel claims to be in the "ring", it is not, it is approximately 4 blocks from the ring. The front desk people are very rude, and could careless about helping you find your way and setting up site seeing trips. The wifi is very intermittent and when working it constantly cuts out. The bathroom taps scream.... not sure what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocky123456789
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear Rocky123456789! We are very grateful that you have taken your time to share your experiences with us in such a detailed way. I am really wondering where you got the information that we are directly on the ring, in all our publications our location is clearly mentioned! I really would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced,...

Switzerland
Reviewed 2 October 2014

I spent five nights at Das Triest last september. I enjoyed my stay there, although it did not meet all my expectations. Nevertheless, starting with the good things, I very much appreciated the location, close to everything, a few footsteps to a tramway stop, short walking distance (three minutes) to a subway station with three different lines (Karlsplatz), short walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snowwalker2014
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear snowwalker2014! It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us except the inconveniences you experienced, which we are already working on to make your (hopefully next stay with us) a 110% perfect! Best regards from Vienna Michael Willars Revenue & Reservations Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We were very satisfied with our 4 night stay here: the staff are helpful and smiley, the food is excellent, particularly breakfast and our suite was spacious and comfortable. Das Triest is but a short hop to the city centre, which we found to be a lovely stroll. The only improvement that I could suggest for this hotel would be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dpdesa
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear dpdesa! On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna. Although we are working together with one of the most famous and well known florists in Vienna, we will consider your comments and forward...

Reviewed 19 September 2014 via mobile

Everything is taken care of and you can just get down to business. It's a large hotel with many guests but staff take time to treat guests individually. Very nice stay. Location is just outside of city centre with karlsplatz underground station just a few hundred meters away, connecting you to everywhere you might need to go. The city is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mogster82
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review

Dear Mogster82! We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our service and the way our team treated you. Of course we will share your comments with our entire team! Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”! Best regards Michael Willars Revenue & Reservations Manager

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
2,763 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#135 of 367 in Vienna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand
Grand Ferdinand
#95 of 367 in Vienna
308 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Wieden

Neighbourhood Profile
Wieden
The fourth district combines elegant tradition with contemporary style and relaxed living. More than a dozen town palaces and churches such as St. Charles Borromeo have added glamour to a neighbourhood known for its traditional retail and crafts shops, taverns, cafés. Wieden is also home to Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest street market. Many bohemian types have found their way to Wieden: meet them in trendy cafés and bars, shop alongside them for vintage items, enjoy Wien Museum’s and Kunsthalle’s modern temporary exhibitions, and hang out with the bees at Vienna’s most beautiful urban garden, Karlsgarten.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Price Range: €131 - €313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Das Triest staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
Twickenham, null, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Das Triest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a superior rated room which was comfortable, did not see any of the other classes of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles pmpink, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing into the courtyard will not hear the traffic from outside.”
 of 5 bubbles jjaramil, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for "suite Lissa"”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the front which are noisy due to the tram which runs outside.”
 of 5 bubbles richardemail, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with windows facing the courtyard for quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles trufflesnout, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5