We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Wien

Show Prices
#82 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Wien
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Wien
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,228: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel needs updating in the rooms. I moved room because it was on the 2nd floor in the corner and on two busy roads. For being a platinum elite member there was no upgrade offered and poor service from the front desk. I will complain to IHG as this visit was not upto the expected standard. I will not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear John M, First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to deeply apology for the issues you experience during your stay with us. As a Platinum Elite Member, we do appreciate your loyalty with us and take feedback seriously. As I understand, we have taken the steps in contacting you via Email regarding your feedback. We hope... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are celebrating our 16 years anniversary in Vienna, room 1132( good view). Wanted to explore the "city of music". We just checked in today Nov 24th and planning to stay for 4 nights, celebrating Thanksgiving today!. It seems the computer system needs some improvement, the reception staff asked my credit card for 3 times...no big deal... More 

Helpful?
Thank riro424
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear riro424, Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your valuable feedback. I would like to take this opportunity and also thank you for your loyalty with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had experienced some issues during your stay with us. I really wish we could turn back time and start over again,... More 

Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had an excellent experience at the Intercontinental Budapest last year we decided this years city break would be the Intercontinental Vienna.-we were not disappointed.!! This chain of hotels have the most amazing staff. Without exception the concierge, the reception, the bar manager, the restaurant staff and the bedroom cleaners were really friendly , helpful, knowledgeable ,efficient and polite. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger V
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Roger V, It was such a pleasure for me to read your review. Receiving such positive feedback like yours is very important to us and makes us feel proud. The first impression, when coming to a hotel is very important and it is our goal to make our guests feel like home from the beginning of their journey. I... More 

Sofia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the food, the room, the conference facilities, the staff very friednly and with a nice attitude. The building looks very post-war from the outside, but is quite comfortable on the inside. Sports facilities are also quite sufficient and the nearby park is ideal for jogging.

Helpful?
Thank nocturne27p
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear nocturne27p, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is very nice to read that you were happy with the service provided. We are constantly striving to make our guest's stay special. Since we were built in 1964 our hotel looks indeed quite old from the outside. The building was designed by the famous architect Carl... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to the First District, to most important points in the third and fourth districts, all in all it is a great business and family hotel. It does not look that great from the outside, but the reception area and the bar are actually really nice. The rooms are ok, but need some renovation, also the toilets are in need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mihai_Opriscan
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Mihai_Opriscan, Thank you very much for your review. As you said, from the outside it might not be an eye-catcher but as soon as you enter the hotel, you are enchanted by the atmosphere and the beautiful chandeliers in the Lobby. I am happy to inform you that a refurbishment is being planned at the moment but as you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It think this hotel is unscrupulous, they have confirmed on arrival and at checkout that internet service was free, yet subsequently charge me for additional £238 for 4 days of stay . This is daylight robbery. Trip adviser should highlight they tricks

Helpful?
1 Thank fook kow c
Sandra_Hoesl, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear fook kow c, thank you for the nice telephone conversation last Sunday. As already explained, the additional EUR 238 you paid, were for the sightseeing tour to Salzburg, arranged with our Concierge team. Please let me know if anything on your receipt is still unclear, but as far I see there are no charges for internet on your bill... More 

Reading, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well equipped hotel. Nice rooms, good bar scene, lovely cake cafe and very helpful staff. Only complaint is the whole place is about 5 degrees too hot. Will return as Vienna is delightful and there is so much to see.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce2
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Bruce2, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Highlighting our friendly staff is very much appreciated and they will for sure be happy to hear about the feedback. I am very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the temperature in our hotel, however I will definitely forward this feedback. Great that you enjoyed... More 

Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The public area of the hotel is classy and nice, except for one of the elevators, which smelled of vomit. The room I stayed in generally looks worn down and in need of a renovation. The air conditioner in my room was so noisy I had to turn it off to be able to sleep. Great staff, particularly in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hegeanett
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear hegeanett, First of all I woult like to thank you for your honest feedback, we do value your opinion. I totally agree with you as you enter our hotel, you are enchanted by it's charm. We are very proud of our traditional Viennese Lobby with all the woo panelled walls and the incredible chandeliers. I am very sorry for... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best part of the Hotel is that the metro station is just across the street which was ideal during our visit on Christmas. The Staff is very welcoming. my friends did the reservation and since it was my birthday on the day we reach the hotel, they informed the reception about it. i got a very pleasant birthday surprise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nadine K
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Nadine K , Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It is very nice to read that you celebrated you birthday during your visit in Vienna. It is our pleasure to celebrate such special occasions with our guests and it is good to see that you were happy with our surprise for you. Great that you did enjoy... More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 1 night stay in Vienna, so chose the Intercon expecting it to be a good hotel, which it was. Room was comfortable but not outstanding. Didn't have breakfast as I ate at my meeting. Good location.

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Mark P, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is very nice to read that you have chosen the InterContinental for your stay in Vienna and that you were happy with your decision. Too bad that you did not see our extensive breakfast buffet. However I do know that we also offer a very nice... More 

795 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (722)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (271)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 366 in Vienna
1,585 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#96 of 366 in Vienna
2,756 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#33 of 366 in Vienna
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
#16 of 366 in Vienna
911 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#73 of 366 in Vienna
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Price Range: €131 - €364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Wien staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Wien staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles HappytravellerLondon, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles 438rogerv, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for park view.”
 of 5 bubbles Mihai_Opriscan, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I love the Ice Skating arena view and it is really quiet if you keep the windows closed”
 of 5 bubbles nadinek934, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles agonen01, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay