We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Calypso Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calypso Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 522: English reviews
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a shame to see a good hotel slide into being not a very good one. Have just visited the Calypso for the 3rd time in 4 years. Believe it changed hands 2 years ago just about the time of our visit..The rooms are now looking very tired with stained furniture and holes in the awnings on the balcony. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geraldinefrith
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Once more we have had an enjoyable stay at the Calypso. It may not be the grandest hotel on Gozo but we like it & have stayed many times. We received the usual pleasant friendly welcome from the staff - especially as we walked into the dining room. Being on half-board, we usually had a substantial breakfast to see us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
Melleiha
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Visit Calypso Hotel for short visit and we were truly satisfied. To start off, we have only encountered the Front Office,Housekeeping and F&B staff and all are very helpful and efficient especially the housekeeping which makes you feels very welcoming. Front Office tried their very best yet they have their limitations whilst F&B servers need to put more effort in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Usually the title I'm going to give to my review is one of the most difficult parts but this time I had no problem. Every morning when my wife and I went in for breakfast a most magnificent view of the bay and, on its right side, the sea, welcomed us. Though we went in February, the weather was so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kwars0123
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend break with my girlfriend for Valentine's, which we enjoyed thoroughly, but not because this hotel was any fun! The room we rented was overlooking Marsalforn Bay, which is lovely to wake up to in the morning. The hotel is clean and the staff is rather friendly. So why a poor rating, you might ask? Simple:... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde E
Gharghur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Reading these reviews prior to booking I was really looking forward to our weekend break in this hotel! I cannot disagree that the hotel staff are really friendly, however, this hotel needs more than friendly staff to make it worthy of its 4 stars!! 1. The WIFI is extremely limited. Access to Youtube and other streaming sites was completely denied.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank indjana01
Attsed, Director of Sales at Calypso Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Indiana01, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Calypso with fellow travelers. We are concerned to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments pertaining to the staff. Indeed all our staff strives to ensure all guests have a memorable stay at the hotel. We never got any complaints on the restrictions... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I am Australian-Maltese and was looking forward to spending time in Gozo during their Summer on my European trip... however, my choice of hotel was terrible. I picked this hotel because it was near the beach and close to restaurants however in reality Gozo is so small that you could stay in the outer "suburbs" and still be within a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Maree S
Attsed, Director of Sales at Calypso Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maree S, Thank you for submitting your feedback following your stay at Hotel Calypso. We are sad to read that you did not enjoy the experience that many other travelers enjoy during their stay at Hotel Calypso. The hotel enjoys breathtaking views and many travelers choose our hotel as it is situated in the hub of Marsalforn – a... More 

Uniited Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel before. Remembering that the beds were very hard, we e-mailed the hotel before our arrival and requested that our beds be fitted with soft matresses and this was done. Our bay-view room was clean and perfectly adequate for our short four-night stay. As there was only one pillow per person on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Br1ght0n
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the Calypso throughout our entire stay in Gozo. The facilities were great, rooms were more than adequate and spotless, and we had the privilege of being hosted by their friendly staff who were extremely helpful catering to our needs. Thank you Christopher for your first class service! Highly recommended .. And very affordable, for its excellence.

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
Malta, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked seaview but given a back view. Obviously it was immediately changed but excuse was booking mixup! Flushing in the bathroom did not function well, shower head allowed only trickles of water. Furnishings leave very much to be desired..... overall shabby! Hotel entrance sandwiched between two coffee shops and no name visible on the main entrance. One must crane one's... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 75ARG53

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Inland View Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Sea View Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
1.9 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
660 reviews
5.9 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,110 reviews
6.0 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5.7 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
755 reviews
6.0 km away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Price Range: €56 - €414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calypso Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Calypso Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 307 is opposite lifts !”
 of 5 bubbles 47peterw47, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“507 room,had a side view of the bay,Sun in the late afternoon. All rooms where of excellent size with table and chairs, and balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 845valeriec, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Side sea view rooms not worth the extra money. Either do a standard room or pay extra for the sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles aliO8269RB, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor bay view”
 of 5 bubbles 426maryannv, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay that little bit extra for a sea view; it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles MymyRara, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay