We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Public Wifi
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Laundry Service
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Adult pool
Multilingual Staff
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Location
Full view
Getting there
Edinburgh Airport37 km
Glasgow Intl Airport76 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
903
202
110
43
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
903
202
110
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my mum spa area fitness classes full body massage drawing room health spa hydro pool spa reception relaxation room main building total relaxation dining rooms spa facilities are excellent first class an overnight stay spa break classic room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Been back a few weeks from our stay and still raving about it. I have to say this place is amazing. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left. We stayed in the Lennox Room which was...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Claire M
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your Stobo experience. Your kind comments are hugely appreciated and we'll certainly keep a closer eye on the breakfast buffet to ensure it meets our high standards at all times. Delighted to hear how much...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

I stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast including access to the excellent spa. Many points about my stay from the good food during lunch and dinner to the spa were thoroughly enjoyable. However, the cost did not quite match the experience. The hot...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank georgejeffray
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Huge thanks for posting a very balanced review of your recent stay at Stobo and also for your high praise of our team of staff. However, I was sorry to hear of your disappointment at breakfast and your comments will be passed on...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay as a Christmas treat for my mum. I took her last year for her 60th and we booked the cashmere suite, unfortunately she developed a bit of a taste for getting treated like the queen for...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank lmccar19
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for such a fantastic review! We were all thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your most recent stay in The Cashmere Suite and Jimmy, Ryan, Mari, Kirsty, Craig & Carlos will all be delighted to read your very kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a one night stay to getaway before Christmas, going with a foodie I was a bit concerned that as it was an set menu etc we may have been disappointed...we were not. We were in one of the modern rooms in the annex...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank missma87
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest, I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we particularly enjoyed reading your kind comments regarding the Stobo staff and cuisine. I'll certainly double check the temperature of the Drawing Room and yes, please make sure you visit...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was lucky enough to go to Stobo Castle staying in the Cashmere Suite for two nights to celebrate my birthday and retirement. This was a present from my wonderful wife. We arrived on Friday and were not disappointed. A smooth professional check in being...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank bigal632018
Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Happy retirement and belated Happy Birthday!! We're so pleased your wife booked The Cashmere Suite to celebrate these special occasions and delighted to hear everything matched, or hopefully exceeded, your expectations, particularly with respect to the Stobo cuisine and the high standard of...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Silv895
15 July 2018|
Answer
Response from ClaireTEdinburgh | Reviewed this property |
They never used to but worth calling them
0
Votes
Trigger2bunny
12 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PollyAbderdeenshire | Reviewed this property |
Hi, wifi reception was prettty consistent but phone reception was a different matter. I am on EE and couldn't get reception in our room - not Stobo' fault . Fab place to stay though .... leave the technology behind
1
Vote
Maree A
25 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from goosie0 | Reviewed this property |
yes. Everyone very helpful
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask if it is in the roof space - In second floor. If it is you might want to request another room choice"
georgejeffray
5 days ago
Read review
"pay extra and book the Park Lodge if you are going in a group"
karen5millar
2 Oct 2018
Read review
"Good for spa but not for foodie"
66scotland67
15 Sep 2018
Read review
"Go for a room in the castle"
LeighJ1975
11 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
ALSO KNOWN AS
stobo castle hotel stobocastle stobostobo castle peebles
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStobo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing