We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,286: English reviews
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We had high hopes for our stay at the barony castle. It is a good central location. Bar reception and restaurant has been updated but bedrooms and corridors to rooms is shabby and in need of updating. The bath was small and perhaps suitable for a child or Elf!! I am 5' 3 and was unable to lay down in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitchell7171
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mitchell7171, thank you for taking time in reviewing you recent visit to Barony Castle Hotel. I am sorry to hear it was below your expectations. Please accept my apologies over any inconvenience you had experienced. I just wanted to share a few points with you. Firstly, the Hotel is currently undergoing planned refurbishment and this is why certain areas...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hotel is beyond dilapidated, but worst of all it was extremely dirty. We were given a room that could only be described as a cupboard. I complained and they moved us to a 'better' one. The bed was ancient and so uncomfortable, bathroom dated and tiny. The carpets were dirty throughout,paint chipped, cracked tiles and food splattered up the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fabporty
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fabporty, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback irrespective of its nature that is important ot us. I do dissagree with most what has been said, but I think that everyone should have a right to express their opinion. Negative feedback allows us to understand...

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful breathtaking hotel The drive up to the hotel is lovely and seeing the hotel approaching you is breathtaking Very clean and well presented All staff were very friendly No complaints about breakfast, varied selection however we think it was expensive compared to other hotels We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnW141
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DawnW141, thank your for your short and lovely review. I am very delighted to hear your stay was a true success. I am sure my staff will be excited no less. August is the most important month and having in mind how busy the Hotel is, positive feedback serves as an encouragement for us all to move further. The...

Alnwick
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This is the third time I have stayed at Barony Caslte Hotel near Peebles and I have been impressed in the past. Unfortunately areas of the hotel are in-need of an update ie the carpet that runs throughout the hotel and the rooms in particular. They are both tired and in much need of update, the carpet was really dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Alnwick
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren_Alnwick, thank you for your honest review. I am not sure if you have noticed, but we are currently undergoing refurbishment. Despite the fact we are a working business and we can only invest back iif we actually make anything, the management team is fully focused on delivered what is expected from our guests. We understand certain areas are...

Scotland
Reviewed 4 August 2016

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!! Iv stayed twice here because the first time was so bad they offered me to come back and stay again but in one of suites as gesture of goodwill for our bad experience on our first stay which was our anniversary and was shocking how bad the stay was. Second stay was just as bad...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FifeLass1
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FifeLass1 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments are dully noted. At the Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Photos say it all - the walls were dirty, the paint cracked, the bathroom similar to a travel lodge - premier inn rooms are better than this Mercure - gold card loyalty is not honoured despite superior rooms being available on line - and tried to not meet their booking commitment to provide a picnic as part of the package...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank didimyers
australia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Don't book this hotel - standard room bathroom no better than a travel lodge - old and dated - bedroom small with stained carpets, peeling paint etc. As a gold member there is every excuse under the sun from the lady and gentleman on reception why they can't honor a room upgrade - despite superior rooms being available on line...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevAustralia
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KevAustralia, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay was below your expectations. After investigating this further, I understand the issue with the complimentary upgrade was related to the fact that no Privilege rooms were available, however, we still had a bookable suite (which on the system is treated as Privilege). As you are a...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Imposing building in a stunning location, first impression was fantastic. Unfortunately not so positive thereafter....... I appreciate hotels do encounter heavy wear and tear but condition of some areas were unacceptable (my 1st review so I hope I can attach some photographs). Threadbare carpets, chipped wash basin, window blind in our room ill fitting therefore very bright, very early! Blind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1203mac
Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My husband and I booked to stay in this hotel for our 3rd wedding anniversary after finding it on booking.com for £33 room only - bargain. The hotel is beautiful and is very impressive when you're driving up to it. We had a really friendly welcome from the lady on reception and decided to add breakfast in the morning so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen L
PeeblesBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, thank you for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I will share your feedback with my team. It is always encouraging to be appreciated for the hard work and nothing makes us feel better than a satisfied guest. We understand the challenges we face during the busy time...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,769 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
698 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
835 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: €49 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask or a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittywanders, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for best room available”
 of 5 bubbles _lindascott1965, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites are also available”
 of 5 bubbles mrsalbertz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room, get breakfast in deal.”
 of 5 bubbles jackiemcseveney, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you cant walk far get a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 967mikee, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5