We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

CenterHotel Thingholt

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Starting with the postives - CenterHotel Thingholt is in a great location, very central and our room was very quiet. Although I know from other reviewers and fellow guests visiting that this is very room dependent. The rooms themselves are quite small considering the cost of the stay. The decor is minimalist, neither exceptionally good nor bad but I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Emma M, thank you for your review. It is very helpful. I am happy to hear the many positive aspects of your stay with us. I am equally sorry to hear your experience with the Blue Lagoon trip. Unfortunately they have been very busy lately and experience booked out days. Our employees need to be aware of this and...

Reviewed 17 March 2015

We had booked three nights at this hotel. 2 rooms between the four of us. We were so pleased with the hotel, the service was really good, very friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous variety at breakfast and nice looking restaurant (although we didn't eat there) The rooms were immaculate and the decor modern and well presented. There were lovely amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Emily F, thank you so much for taking the time to write an extensive review. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to accommodate you and your fiancé when you visit Iceland next time. best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

brentwood
Reviewed 16 March 2015

one has paid for a full breakfast, and many flight times require an early start, and so why is the early breakfast provided so poor? it told me a lot about center hotels, and not in a good way. could, should, indeed must do better!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bayscott
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Bayscott, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. At Centerhotel Thingholt we do not charge extra for the breakfast as it is included in all room rates. We offer an extensive full service breakfast that is served from 07.00-10.00 every day. In order to accommodate early departures we arrange early breakfast from 03.00am which consists of Coffee/Tea, juice...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

I cannot fault this hotel! Stunning interior, comfortable bed, heated floors in the bathroom, good choices for breakfast and really friendly staff! The hotel is in a great location close to bars, shops & restaurants and about a 5 minute walk to the main Gray Line office. If you are a light sleeper and are visiting on a weekend request...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicola F
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Nicola F, than you for taking the time to write a review, I am very happy to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities at the hotel. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

It is 4am and the thumping noise from the bar/club outside continues..... The windows don't close and are single glazed - but in the corridor - silence. DO NOT BOOK this hotel if you want to sleep. Hotel full so room can't be changed although reception staff said same problem every weekend and everyone complains - unacceptable to take money...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, thank you for your review on the hotel and telling us about your experience. Getting a good sleep is of course of most importance while staying in the hotel. And we aim to provide every guest with an enjoyable experience. In case we do have complaint we want to respond directly and find a good solution for...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Centerhotel Thingholt is a very nice looking hotel. It impressed. The interior is modern, clean and if a bath next to a bed isn’t to one’s liking, we can perhaps agree it’s funky and different. My reaction was more 'Oh wow' than 'OMG'. Hotels need some kind of edge. The breakfast offered an excellent and filling start to the day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RogerF2011
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Roger, I would like to thank you for your review and a fantastic headline ! It is imperative that we get honest feedback on what we are doing well and how we can improve. Indeed our breakfast is included in the room charge and we aim for personalized service in the breakfast which goes beyond restocking the buffet. Currently...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Good location for a short stay in Reykjavik with the harbour within easy walking distance and shops, restaurants and bars close by. In spite of city centre location it was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Service in reception was average as was the breakfast. The room we had was a deluxe one but small and adequate. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcj60
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear jcj60, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would be more than happy to hear from you further about what specific things could be improved in order to make our service better. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We arrived to what looked like an awful wooden front door. However, once inside our opinion of the hotel completely changed and we were greeted by very friendly staff. I have to say ALL the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and very professional. As soon as we entered we saw a lift for the disabled by the stairs and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jools384
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Jools, thank you for all your comment. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and Im very happy to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your needs. Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

This is a lovely hotel. It is in a great location in town with lots of lovely restaurants and bars walking distance. While the rooms are not massive, they are perfectly adequate - not like you're going to be spending all your time in them. The bed was comfy and there was a sofa, everything was clean and tidy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BSF71
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the hotel, and giving lots of nice tips and advice to our guests, Im sure it will be very useful. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and I will take into consideration your comments regarding the spa. I hope we see you again at Thingholt...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel located in the city centre. Everything was luxurious and indulgent and seemed warm and cosy, which was ideal given how cold it was when we visited! The room had everything we needed plus plenty of space. I've read through some of the other comments left by customers about the room being a little on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emmylou302
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Emmy Lou, thank you for your comments, and Im very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Im happy you enjoyed our breakfast which we have been improving significantly in the last few weeks. Im sorry that you felt the room was to dark, Im not sure if it applies to your stay but all our rooms have dimmer...

757 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (500)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (39)
Viewed
Loft Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (Alternate Style) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
928 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,327 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
323 reviews
Hotel Holt
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: €241 - €479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Virginia
6 months ago
Camberley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poor vegetarian food options”
 of 5 bubbles Portishead89, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms can be noisy at weekend but nothing too bad”
 of 5 bubbles haggishague, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Seek a room to the rear of the hotel which might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles johnblack100, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring some earplugs if you're staying on a Friday or Saturday and are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Stacey_Guernsey, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms not street side are quieter no air-conditioning but fans in cupboard”
 of 5 bubbles 666Gemini, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5