We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Start your review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
 Click to rate
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 4 nights at 1919 in Reykjavik. The location was 5 star!! Everything was walkable and tours picked up just outside the door. The breakfast was British with lots of fruit and rolls... but no matter the variety after 4 days of the same we were tired of it to say the least!! Our room was a king suite......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen K, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I really appreciate you feedback that will help us to improve our operation. We truly hope to be able to welcome you back whenever you return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reading some of the reviews on here I really don't see what people have to moan at the hotel is in a central location to restaurants and shops reception staff were nothing but helpful everytime we enquired about our excursions even though we booked them externally breakfast staff never stopped working and always smiling and there was plenty of choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Louise M, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as you home away from home. We cannot wait to welcome you back here at the hotel on your return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Preston, Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in March. Check in was fine, our room was ready when we arrived at about 12.30pm. Our room was a little smaller than we expected but as this is a city (and an expensive one at that) we weren't too bothered. Everything you'd expect in the room although in my opinion it could all do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19dobby85
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear 19dobby85, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not live up to your expectations. To allow me to fully investigate the issues you have encountered would you be so kind to contact myself on marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Atrocious room - couldn't stand up due to sloping ceiling in eves of hotel. Rotten velux windows and no view! No other rooms were available (apparently). Surly staff didn't want to help. Eventually angrily complained and managed to get moved to sister hotel out of town - which was a perfectly nice business hotel. Unfortunately back to original hotel next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Ben S, Thank you for posting your review. Would you please be so kind and contact myself on marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a four day stay at this hotel my wife and I. Unable to check in until 14:00 hours although hotel not full. I am not on holiday to watch television but if it's on picture should remain and not keep braking down. We booked bed and breakfast really looking forward to breakfast first morning had my usual cereal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Keith W, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that you we could not meet you expectations on your last stay with us. Would you please contact me on marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com to find a solution that will suit you. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location for the hotel. Paulo in breakfast and Daniel in reception/breakfast were very smiley and helpful showing the yes i can spirit! The room was too hot, no air con, even with the windows opened, there wasnt much of a breeze coming through. The beds and the pillows were uncomfortable. I only managed 3-4 hours sleep on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missdaiz8
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear missdalz8, Thank you for posting your review. it is disappointing that we could not meet your expectations. Therefore may I ask you to contact myself on marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com to allow me to fully investigate the issues you have encountered. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

A TripAdvisor Member
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would use hotel again quite happily. In the centre of the city, plenty of places within walking distance. We went as a family, 3 generations and it suited everyone. We walked to shops, restaurants, harbour, bars, cathedral and to local slope to sledge. Breakfast was amazing in the hotel and well worth a visit. Plenty of lovely places to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear traveling family, Thank you for postingyour review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. Whenever you return to Iceland we would love to welcome you back here at the hotel. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room 316 looked nothing like the website. we did get a quiet room as asked for but no bath and awful smell in th shower. Staff seemed reluctant to move us but kept asking us to come back and requiring us to take the initiative. Very expensive! £1400 for 6 nights, no breakfast. It is in a great central location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear debbie h, Than you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet your expecations on your last stay with us. Thank you for your invaluable feedback that will certainly help us to improve our opertation. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night break and had a brilliant stay! Staff were all extremely helpful, always friendly and seen with a smile. Arrived around 2000 and check in was very quick, room was modern and had plenty room for 2 adults. We added breakfast on each day at roughly £20 and it was worth it, lots of choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay1989
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsay1989, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. I do really appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back when you return to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at a few Radisson Blu Hotels and I can safely say this was one of my best stays - Staff were always polite and helpful, rooms were clean with all amenities catered for. The breakfast had most things on offer, cold an hot buffet at around £20 Location could not be bettered - in the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Deanmcc007, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is wonderful that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We of course wouldlove to welcome you back here at the hotel whenever you return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

607 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (257)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Business Class Room (33)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
338 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,425 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
Cuisines: European, International, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Price Range: €216 - €549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 336 is nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles foria, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor & not looking out over the hot dog stand!”
 of 5 bubbles O6875BHelena, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its very noisy at the weekend in the streets as Reykjavik is lively. suggest you try to get a room higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles terry4800, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have stayed here couple of times and all the rooms have been fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Tinaandandre, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring earplugs if you stay over the weekend. Noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles JenNYC2007, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5