We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Loft HI Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$160*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$160*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Start your review of Loft HI Hostel
 Click to rate
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a couple nights and was happy overall with the place. The location is perfect (right on one of the main streets in downtown) and the bar area upstairs was cool. We wished there was easier parking, and the price was a little high for a hostel, but would definitely recommend it to people looking to have fun in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connor S
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Connor, Thank you for your good review! We're really happy to see that you've had a pleasant and fun stay at Loft! It's true that the parking can be a bit tricky and it's probably a downside because of our central location. Again I'd like to thank you for staying and leaving us a great reveiw! We hopefully see...

Reykjavik
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a party hostel so do not except good night sleep. I asked one of the receptionists why they charged for a towel and he became very offensive explaining the reason. Beds are very uncomfortable and the duvets not clean enough. This is also very expensive hostel. Definitely not your money worth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xDOTCOMx
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear traveller, I'm very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. First of all I'd like to apologise for the rudeness you experienced and that we didn't meet your expectations regarding cleanliness. I want you to know that we take your complaints seriously and they'll be addressed to the whole team. However I'd like to thank...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very cool, funky hostel in the middle of town. Great bar, lovely views from the roof terrace, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. If you have an early start and need sleep, ask for a room away from the front, as it was pretty loud. Reykjavik knows how to party! When we left at 5am, the streets were crowded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jo, First of all we'd like to thank you for this great review. We're happy to see that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay in our hostel! It's true that Reykjavík knows how to party and the bars in the weekend the close at 04:30 so we can imagine the situation when you left at 05, however the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel was centrally located in the city center and was within walking distance to many of the sites. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Each bed had its own plugin for charging phones. Breakfast was freshly cooked and satisfying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Rich, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you liked your stay at Loft and your holiday in Reykjavík. We really appreciate the breakfast compliment sine we've been focusing on improving it for some time now! Thank you and hopefully we'll see you again someday! Best wishes, The Loft Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with my sister for four nights in a female only dorm. Room was spacious, linens provided were comfortable, and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location cannot be beat! Everything in walking distance. Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you for the nice review, we really do appreciate it :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your sister, that you liked our hostel and you both enjoyed yourselves in Reykjavík! We surely hope to see you again someday Best wishes, The Loft Team

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Loft Hostel is positioned right in the centre of Reykjavik. Although this can mean a little extra noise from the streets, you are so close to everything in the city. The rooms appear to be cleaned most days so everything is in good condition. The doors are protected by a key card, so only authorised people can gain access....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for leaving such a good and detailed review. I'm sure it's useful for our future guests. As you mention yourself we hope also that our good and central location makes up for the noise coming from the street. You're right about our events, we usually have 3 events per week, but they all finish at the...

Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived the day after Iceland experienced one of the worst snowstorms in about 70 years. We had to wait a few hours to check in to our room due to lack of staff. The lounge area is very comfortable and quirky with pillows strewn around and lots of books to keep you company. We had the best hot chocolate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Neah, Thank you for this great review. We're happy to see that the late check-in didn't affect your stay, but however I'd like to apologise. A cup of hot chocolate can obviously do wonders while waiting. We hope to see you again, the next time you'll find yourselves in Iceland! Best wishes, The Loft Team

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location, walking distance and close to everything around Reykjavik. Big rooms with bathroom. Bed is comfortable and has private light and locker. Bring some earplugs as this hostel is surrounded by bars so you could hear loud music at night. They also have kitchen with complete things for cooking. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Reception is open 24hours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raiza Melissa M
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thank you for your kind words and great review. We're really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at loft and felt comfortable. Of course we're excited to welcome you back in October! If you're lucky you might even catch some early northern lights! Best wishes, The Loft Team

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Loft Hostel is such a happening place for both backpackers and locals going to the bar. The Hostel try to organise activities/events each night and the location is perfect, the heart of the main city and public transport. It is a bit noisy on a nighttime especially on weekends as the nightclubs are open til late but also an advantage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Julian, Thank you for leaving us a review and for your kind words. We're happy to see that you enjoyed our events and facilities :) We know that the weekends can be a bit lively but we hope that the location makes up for it. We’d love to welcome you back to Loft if you’ll ever find yourself back...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hostel but if you are looking for a nice spot for happy hour drinks, look no further. If the sun is out, hop on the elevator and go all the way upstairs, there is a roof top patio where you can soak up the sunshine and have a drink. It's mostly tourists here but even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plings
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review

We're extremely happy to see that you noticed us, even though you didn't stay at the hostel! Thank you for visiting and come back soon :) Best wishes from the Loft Team

389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (36)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm (45)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
533 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Loft, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace. Free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children's Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Loft HI Hostel

Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Price Range: €64 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft HI Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Loft HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Loft HI Hostel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Loft HI Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a choice, go for a room on the first floor. Rooms on the second floor sometimes can hear loud music from the floor above.”
jamesaW2824EQ, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own padlock if you need to lock up valuables.”
195shannam, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask that you have the "RIGHT" room, and ensure they don't overcharged you!”
86yk, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get earplugs if you don't like a little noise. People are constantly going in and out or snoring.”
  • This is 1 pic of a view from our room. Don't let the graffit scare you. This is a great location
laurahW5581OO, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms facing away from the main street are quieter and have windows that open.”
511SylviaL, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$160* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates