We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Hotels.comUS$346*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,285: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful lobby and a nice restaurant, although we didn't eat there. The rooms are quite basic, but clean initially and a nice bathroom. The room service however isn't great, don't expect your litter to thrown away unless in bins, or for your coffee cups to be washed. I could go on. The staff however were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Takemethere19
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Takemethere19 first of all I want to thank you for reviewing your stay at Grand Hotel Reykjavík. Our aim is to provide outstanding customer service and we therefore value all feedback. Being environmentally friendly, some of the housekeeping services do follow standards that are better for the environment. I am glad to hear you experienced the help and friendliness...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is perfect. We have an 8th floor ocean view executive room (837) and it is ideal. The underfloor heating in the bathroom is lush. The lobby, reception, housekeeping and concierge staff have all been helpful and prompt...We could not believe that a lady in front of us at reception was complaining about the fact her room had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily M
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Emily M. Thank you for your kind words. We highly appreciate the positive feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards Margrét Polly Hansen - Deputy hotel manager

Reviewed 21 November 2016

The hotel needs to update their rooms. Had issues with the tv not working. The shower didn't work. The bed was very uncomfortable. The hotel wasn't close to much. The staff was pleasant enough. The breakfast and restaurants were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingOC
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear James A. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Hotel Reykjavík. Our aim is to provide outstanding customer service and we therefore value all feedback given to us from our guests. I am surprised to hear about the shower. But I an sure our staff assisted you with the matter. Breakfast is indeed usually...

Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I traveled to Iceland with the Travel Department. We have used this company now for 6 trips in Europe and they always provide excellent value for money. On this occasion we stayed in the Grand Hotel who provided excellent value for money with their Bed and Breakfast rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mert67
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you Mert67 for reviewing your stay at Grand Hotel Reykjavik.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

There's not a lot wrong with this hotel. Comfortable, efficient and friendly staff - we can't really complain, yet... There were a few annoyances. The booklet in the room is uninformative (e.g. no info about the menu in the hotel or the tv channels available) and the safe didn't work. Parts of the menu were not as described - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Marty P Thank you for your review. We highly appreciate the feedback. We are indeed a busy hotel but we do focus on a friendly and personal service. Hope to welcome you again some day. Warm regards Margrét Polly Hansen Deputy hotel manager.

uk
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Nice hotel with quick check in and mostly pleasant staff , however it took 3 requests over 2 days to sort out a broken door lock which meant that anyone could enter our room without a key . Enjoyed a lovely set menu dinner at the restaurant however woefully understaffed possibly due to holiday period and also large tour groups...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pattieuk
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Pttieuk. Thank you for the lovely review of our hotel. It is indeed possible to see the northern lights directly from our hotel when the sky is clear. Our aim is to provide outstanding customer service and I highly value your feedback. I am concerned about some of your comments, specially the one about your door lock. Could you...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

After reading alot of reviews stating that the staff couldn't find the reservations and making poeple wait for long times not being helpfull and not letting check-in before 4:00 etc.!!!!, i have to write that i didn't encounter none of the above. I just come back from a 2 night stay at the Grand Hotel. we arrived at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizenzke
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Zishe U Thank you for this lovely review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay at Grand Hotel. When guest arrive earlier than our 4:00 check in time, we do indeed try our best to give them the room earlier than guaranteed. We wished this was always possible. Great to hear that you enjoyed a...

Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights of our 7 night stay in Iceland. It is a great base if you want to spend time in Reykjavik. The hotel caters for business and holiday guests. It is out of the city centre but it has free transfers into the town centre 3x per day but no transfers back. It's a 30min walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sportscrazy
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Sportscrazy. Thank you for your review of Grand Hotel Reykjavík. It is a great thing that you mention our happy hour. It is expensive to have cocktails in our city so 50% off is something everyone should take an advantage off. Hope to welcome you another day to Grand Hotel Reykjavík. Kind regards Margrét Polly Hansen Deputy hotel manager

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The hotel is some distance from the town centre ...you could walk there in about half an hour or take a 14 bus which will cost 420kr per person per journey. Lost of staff available to look after customers, the hotel is efficiently run with sauna, bars, restaurants all available on site...the staff on the reception are very helpful indeed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcallistern
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the town centre. The room was very spacious and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We only book the room but was able to pay for breakfast on the day if we liked, there was a good selection to choose from to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordie A
MPollyHansen, Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Dear Jordie A. Thank you for your recommendation of Grand Hotel Reykjavík. Warm regards Margrét Polly Hansen Deputy hotel manager

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (617)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,528 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,266 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
993 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: €175 - €486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suite is good for a comfortable stay”
thefoodandtravelg, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room was very quiet overlooking the main room.”
MerrilynF, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't recommend and "inside room" like we had. But...it's what we paid for so can't complain.”
dains2013, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“We had an east facing room, so bright sunlight in the morning and a view over a gravel lot. Other customers told us they had nice views.”
WorldQuester, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Very nice hotel but more business, lots of parking space.”
J634YGteresab, 6 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$346* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$346
AMOMAUS$642
Expedia.comUS$346
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates