We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We spent 4 nights in this lovely venue and had a wonderful time. The hotel and restaurant are beautifully decorated and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Unnur, the Manager, and Bertmari, the receptionist. They had both emailed me weeks before our arrival to ensure that we had reservations for dinner on New Year's Eve since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyree K
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nyree K, Thank you for this review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Look forward to welcome you again.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful coastal town just a short bus ride outside Rekyavik. The staff are very helpful and the food is good in the restaurant. Authentic viking feast with music and ceremony- we could just have done with more people to create atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val G
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Val, Thank you for taking your time to write this review, it always makes our day to know that our guests enjoyed their stay. Hope to see again soon.

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Just spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very friendly helpful staff nothing was too much trouble. Temperature outside was -5 most of the time but the rooms were warm beds comfy and bathroom ok. Not a lot locally so pop to the shop a get an all day bus ticket, the bus stops outside and it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James T
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James T, Thank you very much for this review. Our staff is always ready to help and make you feel as welcome as possible. We look forward to see you again.

Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

from even before we arrived Ellen had arranged for me to have a room with separate beds as i was travelling with my mum for her 65th birthday present. and when we arrived 6 months later what can i say room 33 was amazing like a suite, special mention to Bertmari , at reception she was wonderful , she is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexander D
Bertmari, Public Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexander D, Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderfully detailed review. Honestly this review melted my heart. We are so delighted to hear that you liked the town as well as the hotel and staff, we would love to welcome you again and we sure hope to get the chance to do so :-)

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed for two night at this hotel first night we had a triple room for the first night and a 2 twin room the next night we ask if we could swap our two twin room and stay in the triple they said we could but we would have to pay for the two twin room price what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The photos are misleading. It doesn't feel luxury, more mismatched. Part of the furniture is nice, other parts like the wardrobe are not and look cheap. The bathroom desperately needed updating and wasn't clean. I accidentally dropped a white towel on the bathroom floor and when I picked it up it was filthy. The bed was uncomfortable and two single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael S, Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us. We are terribly sorry that you thought it was disappointing. It's very unfortunate that you were unsatisfied with your room, we are currently working on making the rooms better, not sure when it'll be finished. We apologize for not making the room clean enough...

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The Viking village hotel. How disappointing. We booked the hotel as a special last evening together in Iceland, on New Year's Day. The location is pretty good, as it's not far from Reykjavik or the airport. We booked the best room and planned to spend the evening having a few drinks and taking part in the fun described with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamsamueloliver
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iamsamueloliver, Thank you for taking your time to write this review, it's very unfortunate that you felt trapped and ripped off we are terribly sorry. We never charged 50% more for beer on New year's Eve? the price stayed the same 900 kr. Unfortunatley this is how it is in Iceland on that time of year doing something in...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Our 3 day holiday in Iceland became 'Do Iceland in a Day' due to our Easy Jet flight from Manchester being unable to land at Keflavik due to 60-70mph cross winds and snow on the morning of the 28th Dec, we returned the next day arriving late evening, so just time for a drink then bed! We had a pre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegrinder57
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thegrinder57, We are so glad that you were pleased with your stay here with us. It really makes our day when we hear reviews like this. Thank you for this wonderful review and know that we will gladly welcome you back!

essex
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We just returned from the Viking Hotel which we found to be average we stayed in the log cabins opposite which is part of the hotel , It would of been nicer if the blonde young receptionist didn't keep turning the coffee machine off especially when a disabled person went for a coffee she ran over and turned it off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulthompson01
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulthompson01, Thank you for taking your time to write to this review. We are sorry that your stay here wasn't good enough. Just to make things clear we sell a cup of coffee for 450 isk which is equivalent to £3.21. A can of coke here in the hotel is also £3.21, that would make 4 cans £12,84 or...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great location as away from hustle and bustle of Reykjavik. Fantastic food and friendly staff. Very quirky with Viking theme. If you prefer lovely location to hustle of city then this hotel is for you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J K
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments about the Viking hotel. we are happy you enjoyed your stay :) happy new year

574 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Cabin (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,015 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
263 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
117 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: €127 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front uostairs”
 of 5 bubbles Sand396, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eat at the Tuk Tuk restraunt real good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles Dawnt23, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view over looking the harbour, but some minor road noise at rush hour.”
  • Norther Lights From Bedroom Window
 of 5 bubbles AberRob, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one that looks onto the water--may even be able to see Northern Lights from your room, too!”
 of 5 bubbles amysJ4662UR, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are larger with harbour views”
 of 5 bubbles sasmm, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5