We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Omena Hotel Vaasa

Save
Share
Hovioikeudenpuistikko 23, Vaasa 65100 Finland
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 11 Speciality lodging in Vaasa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
17Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 7
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Carina H wrote a review Jul 2014
Strangnas, Sweden493 contributions22 helpful votes
If you're not looking for the hotel experience with a gym, a bar, lavish breakfast and lots of extra services, but just need a good place to sleep, this is the place for you. The hotel has no staff at all, you get a key code and your room number in an email 24 hours prior to your stay and that's how you access the hotel and your room. The room is equipped with a microwave oven, a small fridge and a water boiler for you to use if you chose to buy your own food and eat in your room. There is a table and four chairs as well. The room is spacious for 1-2 people, I can imagine it being a little small for 3-4 people. There are two beds and a two seated sofa that can be turned into a bed. There's also an open closet at the end of the beds, which divides the room into two. The bathroom is a little on the small side and not at all convenient for disabled people, since there's a 20 cm high step to get into the bathroom. I would've liked the bathroom to be a little bit bigger, there wasn't that much room to move around in it. It reminded me more of the bathroom of one of the luxury cabins on the cruise ships that go between Finland and Sweden than a hotel bathroom. The outdoor temperature was around 26-30 degrees Celsius while I was there and even though the room had AC, there was no way for me to control it. The vent was on the wall towards the "kitchen area" and since the beds were hidden away behind the closet, the cooling effect never found its way to the beds. The hotel is located near the train station at the end of the shopping streak and there is plenty of parking to chose from, on the street and in the parking garage right across the street, by the train station. It does cost money to park, since the hotel doesn't have any parking of its own. One negative thing I found was that there were no Swedish tv channels in the hotel. Vaasa is bilingual, the natives speak both Finnish and Swedish in Ostrobothnia and I did expect some Swedish tv channels in the hotel, especially since Vaasa is so close to Sweden. If you just need a reasonably priced place to stay, this is your hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Lemmy75 wrote a review Dec 2013
Naantali, Finland339 contributions105 helpful votes
We stayed here one night with our family while travelling north to south. Hotel was booked few days before occasion and it was very cheap - though breakfast was not included. Finding parking place was a difficult task - watch out for 24/7 places as they are difficult to differentiate from those that operate in daytime. Anyway everything else went smoothly and we got into our room easily. Nice room, decent beds for 4 though 2 of them were better for kids only. Clean, simple, good noise insulation. No complaints what so ever.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from Omenahotels, Chief Customer Officer at Omena Hotel Vaasa
Responded 19 Jun 2014
Hi Lemmy75! I apologize for the delayed response, but I just wanted to thank you for the review and it's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay! (: Hope to have you visit us again and have a great summer! Kind regards, Heidi / Chief Customer Officer
Read more
Lord_Varys wrote a review Nov 2013
Helsinki, Finland8 contributions2 helpful votes
One thing in Omena hotels should be kept in mind: there's no staff, no breakfast, extra beds are made yourself and rooms are never so luxurious. But the good points are cheap prices, quick check-in and check-out in rooms. In Vaasa rooms were also quite large and there was large tv, fridge and some other small luxuries on-site, also internet was working well. Hotel is also nicely placed just next to city center. Some minuses on my trip that brought it down from 4 stars to 3 stars: - There were one duvet cover too few in room. - Windows were to be closed -> with few more people room was quite hot. - Extra beds were somewhat loisy: especially if you happened to sleep head towards chair's arm -> you ended having your head below your body. Overall, I could call this Omena hotel like a Norwegian-class hotel. It's cheap, and overall quite decent hotel though sometimes there might be some small shortcomings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Omenahotels, Chief Customer Officer at Omena Hotel Vaasa
Responded 19 Jun 2014
Hi Lord_Varys I'm sorry for the delayed response but I'd still like to thank you for the feedback. I'm happy to hear that you found the overall experience in the hotel good. We have recently changed the cleaning company and hope this will better the quality of our services and the air-ventilation systems have been under inspection this spring. We want to make sure we offer the best possible for our customers, even if we don't have a physical reception available. If there is anything, we have the 24/7 Customer Service always ready to help with thoughts and questions (: Hope you visit us again and have a great summer! Kind regards, Heidi / Chief Customer Officer
Read more
Roman813 wrote a review Oct 2012
Zlin, Czech Republic63 contributions50 helpful votes
Perfect location, right next to the Bus and Train stations, directly in the city-center. For the low price you will get high quality - clean rooms, comfortable bed, free wifi, big TV and "tools" for (not only) budget travellers - microwave and electric kettle with some tea bags, 3 in 1 coffee, etc. The booking was easy, the code for the doors was working perfectly all the time, the only thing what is not so good, that in case of any technical problem, you have to call the helpdesk line since there is no reception and staff. Also please mind, that the rooms are perfectly cleaned between bookings, but in case of longer stay every 5 days - so take some extra bags for the "possible smelling" waste with you. The breakfast was good - in the nearby Cafe Solo (50 meters) in the historical building of the train station.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Omenahotels, Office Manager at Omena Hotel Vaasa
Responded 31 Oct 2012
Dear Roman813, I am very happy that you had a good stay at Omena hotels Vaasa and that you liked us. Our idea is to offer comfortable and afforable accomodation in the heart of the city. Having a remote reception is a part of our concept and one of the reasons that we are able to offer so good prices. As you mention all rooms are cleaned between stays and in case of longer stays every 5th day. However in case your trash bin is full or there is smelling waste, the cleaners can empty it on demand. You can either ask directly from one of the cleaners or contact our Heldesk +358 20 7716 555. Thank you for your review and I hope that you will visit us again! Best regards: Katarina/ Office Manager
Read more
toshiposhi wrote a review Jul 2012
Vantaa, Finland13 contributions
Centre located, next to the Railway station. My room was clean, there was a huge TV, a water cooker, a microwave oven and a small fridge. There was also available some paper mugs, tea bags and small milk and sugar bags in the room. No disturbance during my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandOstrobothniaVaasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Omena Hotel Vaasa
Which popular attractions are close to Omena Hotel Vaasa?
Nearby attractions include Makeitout (0.1 km), O'Malley's Irish Pub (0.07 km), and Oliver´s Inn (0.3 km).
What are some restaurants close to Omena Hotel Vaasa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant 1H+K, Pizzabistro Marco Polo, and Sweet Vaasa.
Is Omena Hotel Vaasa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Vaasa.
Are there any historical sites close to Omena Hotel Vaasa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stromso (6.6 km) and Vanhan Vaasan Pappila (5.3 km).