We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lemmenpolku 3, Vaasa 65170 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$128
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$128
Priceline
ScandicHotels.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Vaasa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern Seaside Hotel & Conference Center located on an island, 2 km from city center, train station or Finnair terminal.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Game room
Water park
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
185Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 60
  • 64
  • 24
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Skogsmulle2013 wrote a review 23 Jun
Umeå, Sweden290 contributions105 helpful votes
Essentially Waskia may be a rather good hotel - calm, fairly modern and nicely located close to the water on the same island as the ferry terminal. BUT if you come to Waskia on a Sunday you´re going to have some trouble, at least if you happen to be hungry. Waskia actually has a restaurant, but it is closed on Sundays (without any notice on the website) and there are no other restaurants near by. The reception indeed can offer you sandwiches, softdrinks, beer or a small bottle of wine, but the prices are skyhigh and what you get is a bad excuse for a decent meal. To add on to the bad experience the lady at the reception was enormousely uninterested in helping us sort out the problems. . So, you might have a good stay at Waskia - but never on a Sunday!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Annan at Scandic Waskia
Responded 2 days ago
Hej Skogsmulle, tack för er feedback och vi är jätteledsna för att inte allt gick som det var tänkt. Restaurangen är stängd på söndagar och det finns information om det på nätet. Det är lite problematiskt för tillfället att hitta personal för alla dagar och vi gör allt vi kan för att hitta mera hela tiden. Ha en riktigt trevlig fortsättning på sommaren :) Marko
Read more
Timo90210 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Everything that could go wrong went wrong. We were checking-in in time but they made us wait for the room which was still in cleaning. Cleaning would go on for I don't know how long, but we got another room that was ready (I don't know why we didn't get that one in the first place). The room was a weird double room made by joining two rooms together. It had no dining table for example. Tablet in the room was not working so I had to call a premium hotel number for room service. Bathrobes were the wrong size and quantity. Spa tickets are only included for one day even if you stay for multiple nights. This is shown only in a very small font and not in the first page of the room on the hotel's website. Slippers are not included in the room and are sold for 5 € a pair. There was loud banging noise from upstairs at night. Vaasa itself was very grey at winter and all amenities were closed or reduced because of winter time and on weekends. I wouldn't recommend for anyone as it wasn't even cheap. Never again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Hello Timo, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sincerely sorry about the delay with the cleaning. This should not happen but unfortunately we were late with some rooms. We want to apologize also for the tablet, the noise and in general, about your stay not being as should be expected. We have gone through the feedback with different departments in our hotel as we want to improve our service and functions - and succeed in making our customers pleased. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and once again, our apologies. We would like to wish you a nice winter and beginning of spring! Best regards, Päivikki, recepion
Read more
Sumudu S wrote a review Nov 2021
Oulu, Finland5 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice location, next to the beach (fairly okay Finnish beach) and Tropiclandia water park.Planned two nights targeting one day to spend in Tropiclandia, which we receive some discount along with the hotel reservation. Positives: - Room had space. - Nice playroom for kids. - Easy parking, checking in/out. - Warm and comfortable sleeping conditions. - Direct indoor access to Tropiclandia. - Variety in the breakfast buffet. Negatives: - Room was old (renovations are coming as per the receptionist). - Dinner service was terribly slow (queuing for seating, waiting for foods about an hour) due to the demand (may be rare case, but seems to be ill-prepared for such extremes). - Minibar was locked (did not feel to make a request just to open it). Suggestion: As kids got cranky due to the delay in the dinner, hotel could have provided some snacks (nuts and/or cookies) to keep them in line.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Hi Sumundu, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear about the positive things about your stay. Thank you also for pointing out the negatives and thanks for the development suggestions. These we find very important! We want to apologize for the delay at dinner and definitely take your suggestions into consideration. We hope to see you as our guest again. Have a nice beginning of winter! Best regards, Päivikki, reception
Read more
Petri I wrote a review Sep 2021
65 contributions24 helpful votes
The hotel is partly refurnished (rooms and hall way) and the new rooms are modern and nice. Everything else is new but the bathrooms (which are only "ok" standard and do not fit the renewed rooms in any given way - the interior). The breakfast is better than in the Scandic Vaasa city hotel (well done there with baked mushrooms, pan cakes and Brie)!! BUT THE NOISE that comes from the motorcycles that speed up, hit the nail from 0 to 100 in few seconds was continuing & constantly repeating the cycle from 8pm up to 10:30 (Sat-Sun night) and this was the second time I visited your hotel (in September) and the same happened!!! WHAT A HORRIBLE NOISE like you are at the race track - you can't sleep nor relax, since the windows are like paper!!! This is clearly a HUGE problem, and I will NOT stay in your hotel unless I have a room facing shoreline or the problem being solved. Is this why your rooms are much cheaper than in the city hotel?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 2 Oct 2021
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We apologize for the moped noise coming from the road nearby. This doesn't affect our pricing, it consists of other factors. We are, however, sorry and we understand that it had a negative affect on your stay. I will forward your feedback to our management. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Have a nice autumn! Best regards, Päivikki, reception
Read more
petri wrote a review Aug 2021
Jarvenpaa, Finland1 contribution
The hotel is old and definitely needs a renovation. The room was overpriced compared to condition. Location is nice, not so far from downtown, just about a mile. The water park is right next to the hotel, which is nice. But it’s old as well. Overall everything functions well. Staff is nice and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 21 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything functioned well although the hotel itself didn't meet your expectations. We hope to see you as our guest in the future. Have a nice autumn and welcome again! Sincerely, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
hyannisonmymind wrote a review Jul 2021
Espoo, Finland19 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel seemed very outdated and the extra bed we had requested for our teenager was a very short one (under 180 cm)which is the only kind they seem to have. This was surprising since they specifically allowed the room to be booked for three adults. After complaining that the bed is not for an adult, they agreed to give an extra room for no extra cost but this isn’t an ideal solution. They should definitely mention before reservation that the extra bed isn’t long enough for an adult. In addition, the rooms aren’t quiet enough and there seems to be a restaurant at the other end of the building which had loud music blaring. The room also has dorm-style bathrooms which are somewhat surprising since they are so different from the style of the rooms. We were also looking forward to using the bikes they said might be available to borrow but we found out they only had two bikes for the whole hotel. Totally inadequate for a large family hotel! We definitely will not come again to this hotel even though it has free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 21 Aug 2021
Dear Hyannisonmymind, thank you for the review. We apologize again for the situation with the beds. We take into consideration your development ideas on what kind of information we provide on our web sites. We have only one restaurant in our hotel and it is located next to the reception. Rooms are on the other side so that cannot be the reason for the noise. But whatever the noise has been, we are sorry that it disturbed your sleeping. We also appreciate your thought about the bicycles. We are sorry to hear that you don't want to visit us again. We hope you find some other Scandic hotel that suits your needs. Have a nice autumn! Sincerely, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
suomituristi2015 wrote a review Jul 2021
Rovaniemi, Finland370 contributions112 helpful votes
Large and free parking is very convenient. Reception is friendly. At least some of the rooms would benefit form refurbishing or some kind of a face wash. My room gave me a good night of sleep, but the view from the window was to the car park. Very spacious breakfast room with all the normal Scandic breakfast service. I had the dinner here with low expectations as the menu was very short. Food was ok, but during g covid 19 it would have been nice if they had left enough room between the tables, as most of the room was left empty (tens of tables).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Suomituristi2015, thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. We are pleased to hear that you got a good night of sleep although all the parts of our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your development ideas. It would be nice to have you as our guest again, welcome! Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
Mikko P wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here two nights. The room was nice and clean. The view was stunning, directly on the sea. There's nice spa as well. Kids loved it! The restaurant was very crowded in the dinner and there was too little staff. We had to wait quite long for the food.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Mikko, thank you for the review. We apologize that you had to wait in the restaurant and that it felt too crowded. We are pleased to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you and your family again, welcome! Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
Olga M wrote a review Jul 2021
6 contributions
+1
The room service was zero. And for 4 stars hotel there was not even electric kettle to be provided. Room cleaning was the worst in my whole life experience - see photos below (taken AFTER cleaning!). The next day there was no cleaning at all. Instead of air conditioner - fan. So, no further comments.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for the review. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. Our sincerest apologies for the poor cleaning and the lack of it. We will most certainly go through this feedback with our housekeeping. Unfortunately we don't have electric kettles or air-conditioning in our standard rooms (only superior rooms). We appreciate your feedback and try to learn from it. Thank you. Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
l5antti wrote a review Aug 2020
Helsinki, Finland776 contributions73 helpful votes
We had two basic twin rooms with extra bed. Rooms were very basic with outdated interior. Rooms was clean. Sofa bed was bad and not suitable for older kids. Tv was updated to today's standard. Minibar didn't exist. Toilet was basic and functional. Breakfast was good standard quality varying bit day by day. It was served spacious restaurant with sea views which was nice. No big queues were formed. Hotel surroundings are nice with sandy beach and outdoor terrace which was decayed though. Tropiclandia waterpark-spa is just next to hotel. Other services are not nearby. Parking is free on the large lot. This is family hotel so expect some kids noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Dear I5antti, thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though all our services didn't meet your expectations. We apologize that the sofa bed dindn't suit your older kids. We hope to see you again, welcome! Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
LOCATION
FinlandOstrobothniaVaasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Waskia
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Waskia?
Nearby attractions include Tikanoja Art Museum (1.1 km), Tropiclandia (0.2 km), and Hietasaaren uimaranta (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Waskia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Waskia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Waskia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Waskia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Strampen, Restaurant Hejm, and Faros.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Waskia?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Waskia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Waskia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Waskia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Waskia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stromso (6.8 km) and Vanhan Vaasan Pappila (6.5 km).
Is Scandic Waskia accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.