We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa

Save
Share
Hovioikeudenpuistikko 18, Vaasa 65100 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$129
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (268)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (48)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 6 hotels in Vaasa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The city centre Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa is by a beautiful esplanade. Vaasa is a compact city with a big city feeling that has everything within walking distance. Our happy staff will guide you to nature walks to the woods and ocean shores or to have a nice cup of coffee at the market square or in one of the many cafes in town. Sunny and happy Vaasa offers energy in many different ways! And, in an Royal Vaasa, there are many ways to spend your days. Enjoy our many restaurants or You can go to the EasyFit fitness center, enjoy the Finnish sauna experience in our pool & sauna and enjoy amazing views across the city's rooftops. Welcome to our lively hotel and let us energize you at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Game room
Billiards
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, German, Swedish
497Reviews0Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 213
  • 154
  • 36
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TJB333333 wrote a review Aug 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom195 contributions109 helpful votes
I've been staying here whilst in Vaasa for a number of years now, but have not been since the pandemic. Upon arrival, the reception staff are always welcoming, helpful and efficient. The rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast is good. Only complaint would be there appears to be no housekeeping - even for a 4 day stay. No bins emptied, no fresh towels - nothing. So I will keep this in mind when booking again as peer hotels are the same price!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FlyinFinn1 wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California130 contributions188 helpful votes
I came back here as it still seems like the best bet in Vaasa. Plus their Royal Suite (now called just a Suite) had be redesigned. But I could not help but feel depressed here. The full street construction and nowhere to park the car and no porter to help with luggage started the visit off badly. The receptionists with ZERO personality or warmth did not help either. Yes, the Suite has been remodeled but in black and gold making for a rather dour living experience. The rock hard couch and view of a strip club in the alley did not help either.. The breakfast buffet is of poor quality and in a dingy dining room in the old part of the hotel. Room cleaning is optional, not automatic. The lobby feels like a Soviet era attempt at luxury… ugh. I may stay at the best hotels in the world but I also know what to expect in Vaasa. That said, this place has gone downhill and is not a nice experience. The location is its best asset. I guest I have to do airbnb or the Vaakuna Sokos (with themed rooms!) next time I am in my family hometown… sigh
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina R, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Hi FlyinFinn1, Thank you for the review. I´m sorry to hear that your stay was disappointment! City of Vaasa is having a renovation of the street in front of hotel so there is some special arrangement with the traffic. Our all parking areas are open normally. Hope you have a great summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jarkko K wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland37 contributions13 helpful votes
Spent a night on our roadtrip in here. The price for a room was more than in other cities, but I thought that it was because of the location and better quality of the hotel, but this was a huge disappointment. The room was small, outdated and dirty. Windows were full of spider web and there was mold in the bathroom floor. Do not stay in here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina R, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Hi Jarkko K, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was disappointment. Hope you have a great summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SakiJR wrote a review Jun 2022
Turku, Finland933 contributions76 helpful votes
Good business oriented hotel in Vaasa city center near market square. Old school conference areas. Nice 10th floor penthouse sauna with swimming pool. Good breakfast. Parking area under main building. Friendly and professional staff in hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina R, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Hi SakiJR, Thank you for your review! Nice to hear that you enjoyed our Sauna and swimming pool on the top floor, there is lovely view over the city. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katriina V wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. My room was in the old part called central. The room had no air conditioning and there was something really wrong in the whole building. The corridors smelled bad and me and many of my co-travellers suffered of headache, red eyes and cough in the morning due to the bad air in the rooms. When we complained about the rooms in the morning the staff said that they are aware of the situation. The staff was very nice and helpfull but the hotel really sucks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mhaushh14 wrote a review Apr 2022
Hamburg, Germany203 contributions75 helpful votes
The people working there have been nice and friendly. The bed was good. The air in the room was pure aircondition, means dry and a bit of a chemical odor. So I had to get me the Tool to open the window from reception.... When I returned after work, I could small the sink from the bathroom. The breakfast was below average. Two big piles of sliced cheese, which was almost without any taste. By the end of the week they ran out of juice so a guest had to ask the kitchen to fix it. Overall this place seems to be stuck in the eighties. I will in Vaasa again soon, but I will choice another Hotel for sure
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ahjdnodjndojndqojn wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions
The hotel was okay. The bathroom and other rooms were old and outdated. Breakfast was quite nice. Minibar was warm so my snacks and soft drinks were not kept in cold. It was easy to come by train to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina Rinta, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Hi Anna K, Thank you for your review. I´m sorry to hear you had some problems with the minibar. But i´m happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and location in the heart of Vaasa. Best Regards, Nina R, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrik L wrote a review Oct 2021
Espoo, Finland138 contributions117 helpful votes
I stayed in the "new" main building. Please note when reading this review, that this is still one of the cheapest chain hotels in town, so everything can not be expected to be perfect. The beds, including the beddings (pillows, duvets, etc) were bad. I had trouble sleeping both of my 2 nights I stayed here. My room was on top floor, as I asked for a high floor when booking. Great effort to respect a guest´s wishes! The bathroom was very old and cheap, but still did the job. The room had a minibar, which was empty, and warm. I still do not know the reason for that. Room service (cleaning) was limited for only mornings (before 12.00). This did not work for me as I had meeting online all mornings. Thus, I never had my room cleaned. There was even a used tissue placed inside the doors eye. Maybe that tells the truth about the attention to detail for cleanliness during this pandemic in this hotel? A big positive thing was that the temperature inside the room was warm and possible to adapt! You do not find that working in every hotel! The views were nice and staff very friendly. Breakfast was free, so I do not want to brag too much about it, but the selection was very basic. Parking was cheap and easy. Possibly best hotel in Vaasa centrum to visit by car.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Main building is refurbished! Demand a room from that side! High floors offer nice views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina Rinta, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Dear Patrik245, Thank you for your review! In order to avoid unnecessary contact between our guests and staff and to save water and detergents, we only clean the hotel rooms upon request. You can order the cleaning from the reception and the service is provided between 8am to 4pm. I´m sorry to hear that there was a problem with the minibar during your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view and the friendliness of our staff! Hope to see you again when you are visiting Vaasa! Best Regards, Nina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caius wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Most of the rooms don´t have air conditioning, even they advertise it in their web package. They announce it after words when you have signed in. Usually this hotel chain has air conditioning in their hotels but not this one. Terrible place in the summer time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina Rinta, Guest Services / Front Office at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Dear CaiusPro, Thank you for your review from the summer. I´m sorry to hear that the temperature in the room has been too warm. We have two buildings at the hotel and on Royal side we have cooling air conditioning but unfortunately on the Central side there´s not. Best Regards, Nina, Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henkka77 wrote a review Nov 2020
Porvoo, Finland213 contributions11 helpful votes
Nice hotel in good location... close to square and many shops and restaurants. Hotel have free wifi. Easy come own car.. can park basement(14€/day) or outside parking(10€/day). Also have sauna and swimmingpool. Breakfast was good... as sokos hotels usually have.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa Front Office, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Responded 27 Jan 2021
Hi Henkka77, Thank you for your great review. Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome again to our hotel. Best regards, Petra, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
radisson vaasa, vaasa radisson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Vaasa
LOCATION
FinlandOstrobothniaVaasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
285
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Nearby attractions include Makeitout (0.1 km), Kaupungintalo - City Hall (0.4 km), and O'Malley's Irish Pub (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant 1H+K, Pizzabistro Marco Polo, and Sweet Vaasa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Vaasa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.