We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kakolankatu 14, Turku 20100 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$160
Booking.comUS$167
PricelineUS$167
TravelocityUS$160
Vio.comUS$166
Orbitz.comUS$160
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 20 hotels in Turku
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
62Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 18
  • 13
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tourist47586 wrote a review Nov 2022
Worldwide3 contributions
Top notch 5/5. Why? Hotel Kakola locates in the heart of such a beautiful and stunning Finnish archipelago city Turku. Just next to the Aura River - heart and soul of the city - we were allowed to take a relaxing walk, enjoy the breathtaking view, and head to the city center conveniently. Without doubt did Hotel Kakola maximize the success of our stay. The nature, riverside, restaurants, coffee shops, various stores, etc. were just next to or some quarter of an hour walking distance. The hotel has a thrilling history and is wisely modernized and decorated for customers' enjoyment. The hotel personnel is well educated, professional, deeply polite and targeted superior customer experience. Based on our stay, they seemed to be more than willing to support whatsoever questions or concern did arise from our side. The hotel breakfast was superb and guaranteed a good start for our day. Hotel itself and specifically the rooms were spacious, cozy, silent, tidy yet had large high-class beds. Based on our stay and the last three visits in this marvellous hotel, we do recommend this to anyone who wants no sad surprises rather requires a safe, customer friendly, cost-competitive and lovely stay from the visit. From our perspective is 100% suitable for business travellers, singles, couples, wedding couples, families, group of friends, etc. Really nothing we'd need to complain. Needless to mention, we will definitely pay a visit once again and try out the hotel luxury SPA and some of the relaxing treatments next time. Warm regards Turku lovers
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vierdank wrote a review Aug 2022
Stockholm, Sweden5024 contributions406 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is modern, very chique and hosts a good standard. It is obvious that quite a lot of money has gone in here to bring this old jail to a rather spectacular hotel. And indeed it's a good idea to spin around the old jail culture to develop a special environment. Kakola hotel has done that very well. This is alongside the whole Kakola area, which has in the recent years been exploited to form a new housing area. The jail/hotel is a part of this big project. Despite the high, and obvious high physical standard, the service level is quite normal and not, in some respects, quite up to par with the managements aim for a, at lest, four-star hotel.. Rooms have everything you need and VERY comfortable beds! Fine! Breakfast is sparse... and not on a four-star level. Location is a problem: relative to the city center it is very off. You have to have a car, take the bus or use taxi to get to the "action". That is: Turku/Åbo, for a tourist, is all about the city center. There's really nothing much more. Dinner at onboard restaurant Ruben was a bit of a disappointment. Se my separate review. The parking - which is really needed, since this is the best way to reach the hotel - was too small and overcrowded. Quite pricy and with the above shortcomings the total TA-points must, in my opinion, stop at three. You can't do much about the location, but the compensation would be a TRULY spectacular place with top service and top food. At the moment it's not.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kokous Kakola, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 9 Sep 2022
Dear Vierdank, Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you slept well and apprechiated the renovation of the former prison area that is Kakola. Still under construction in some parts but getting there. We always aim for welcoming and friendly service by our staff, I am sorry to hear that you found that was lacking. Our breakfast is planned to follow seasonal changes when it comes to offering, and also being mindfull of the amount of food waste created. This is why our breakfast selection is smaller, and focused more on taste and quality. Parking is a challenge we are very aware of, and that is why our new parking hall is due to open soon. Like you said, there is unfortunately nothing we can do about our location and distance to the city center. Kakola hill is a very actively developing area with a highly rated restaurant, a very popular brewery, taproom bakery and a very interesting history. We are also located close to the riverside that is one of the biggest attractions in Turku. You can reach it with the funicular that is also pretty famous, at least locally. But the city center and the shops are about 15-20 mins walk from us. Our reception will happily help with tips to do while visiting. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we truly apprechiate it and will take it forward. I wish you a happy autum! Sincerely, Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JariJK wrote a review Aug 2022
Kouvola, Finland5285 contributions335 helpful votes
+1
Hotel Kakola is located in an old jailhouse, which was built in 1890. This boutique hotel is situated in the city center and almost next to River Aurajoki. The area is central and historical but very peaceful. It is only a short walking distance to all main attractions in Turku. Parking places are quite limited (10 euros/day). They have many different room types in Hotel Kakola, even cell rooms and a boat suite. Actually the boat is situated on dry land and surrounded by glass walls. Indoor photos of the boat look very beautiful or even luxurious. We had a family room (22 square meters) for four people in the main building. We had a double bed and a barred bunk bed in our room. The high bunk bed was big enough for adults, too. For children it is very safe because children can't come down if you lock the barred door. Our room was well-equipped: an underfloor heating system, an extremely efficient air-conditioning machine, a Lavazza coffee machine, a Mysoda sparkling water maker and a safety box. We also had free WiFi, which was good because the wireless internet of my own mobile phone didn't work well there. That's probably because of the thick brick walls of the old jailhouse. Because of those walls we hadn't any scenery from our ground floor room. Rooms on higher floors may have views. We hadn't any fridge or minibar in our room. They say that they don't want to have those electricity consuming machines in the environment friendly hotel. The breakfast buffet was good, even smoothies, pancakes and some sweet treats were available. I appreciate long opening hours of the breakfast buffet (6.30 am - 10 am on weekdays and 7.00 am - 11.00 am on weekends). The lunch and dinner restaurant was extremely good. I loved their nice summer terrace in the courtyard, too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Check out all the options: cell rooms, family rooms, a real boat suite, other suites etc.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kokous Kakola, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 13 Sep 2022
Dear JariJK, thank you for your kind words! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that our parking spaces are limited at the moment, but we have a parking hall under construction. This issue should be solved once it finishes wich should be soon. Our spa should also be finished soon, a relaxing oasis on Kakola hill. We hope to see you agian, and wish you a delightful autum! Best regards, Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TuomasLa wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland10 contributions8 helpful votes
We spent two nights after our wedding in the Kakola Suite, which we expected to be the nicest room in the hotel, due it was the most expensive. If the receptionist didn't walk us to our room, I would've gone back to ask if we got the wrong room by accident. There was nothing special in the suite to explain the price. Bedroom with a nice bed and some boring furniture, and a TV-room with a 6-seat table, all furniture with cheap and boring wibe. The rooms were black/dark. No minibar or fridge at all. Bathtub was leaking and didn't fill up. No separate shower, but a separate toilet. We ordered breakfast in the room on the 1st morning, but we didn't wake up to their knocking, so we missed it. They didn't bring it in or leave by the door either. Next morning we went to the breakfast hall to eat, but the variety was a disappointment too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Kakola suite was not worth the money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Kakola, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Kakola
Responded 20 Sep 2022
Dear TuomasLa, Sorry to hear that you wore disappointed with your stay at Hotel Kakola. Kakola Suite is a bigger room, with a separate bedroom and living room. This is why the price is higher compared to our regular rooms, but not on the same level as our suites on the 5th floor. Sorry for the issues with the bath tub. We are able to fix them pretty quickly once we are informed about them. The interior design gives a nod to the history of the building, hence the dark colors and peculiar room plans. We have a full service bar down stairs, from where you can buy beverages to your room, so we don´t have minibars in our rooms. I have passed your feedback forward. I´m sorry you missed the breakfast delivery. Breakfast usually includes fresh produce like yoghurt, vegetables and eggs, and ofcourse hot coffee or tea. This is why we don´t leave it outside the door, since we don´t know when it will be picked up. Our breakfast selection is admittedly more limited, focusing on seasonal and local produce, quality and minimising food waste. As a relatively new hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are able to learn from it as we move forward and can serve our customers even better in the future. Happy autum, best wishes Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina A wrote a review Jul 2022
12 contributions1 helpful vote
One of the best hotels I've visited ever. Personell were very friendly and nice, our room was superb (standard twin on the third floor with balcony towards the sunset). The common areas were special and very nice as well. And the breakfast was good. I actually do not have anything negative to say. We will use this hotel again when we come to Turku.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking was 10e, to be paid at front desk. The hotel restaurant also had good food. Third floor...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kokous Kakola, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Hi Christina A, how wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your visit with us! The old prison area is still constantly developing, maybe next time you visit you can try out the new Kakola Spa that will open by the end of the year on top of the hill. A relaxing treat to add to your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon, Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reslysten54 wrote a review Jul 2022
Vienna, Virginia1916 contributions418 helpful votes
+1
The first impression is one of an old, stern and ugly brick building. But it grows on you! The friendly staff checked us in to a spacious, comfortable and clean room. The thick walls make for undisturbed sleep in a comfortable bed with deliciously fluffy pillows. There was no room fridge but an uncomfortably placed safe. It is nice to have it, but unfortunately it was unsecured so anyone with a suitcase could wheel it out if they got access to the room. Wi-Fi was free, password-protected and worked well. The in-house restaurant has liberal hours and we liked the food. There is ample seating inside and outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kokous Kakola, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Dear Reslysten54, Thank you for your feedback! Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Kakola. The building used to serve as a prison, and is now protected by the Finnish heritage agency, so changes to the exterior have been kept to a minimum. But like you said, the bold, bulcky brick walls do grow on you, and keep the rooms nice and quiet! All of our rooms have safes that are bolted down from the bottom. We have to do a little check if this was not the case in your room. I wish you a happy summer, and hope to see you again at Hotel Kakola! Best regards, Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TwoBeers wrote a review Mar 2022
Berlin, Germany84 contributions67 helpful votes
I stayed here in March 2022. The Hotel itself is located on a hill not far from the river. In winter it can be a little tricky to reach it by foot because of ice and snow. There are normal rooms (as seen in the pictures) and then there are also special rooms in real cells. They are smaller, don't have a shower and no TV. If you want to have the real prison feeling, try one of those rooms out. I stayed in one and it was a funny experience, although next time I'd prefer a normal room again. ;) The internet was very fast (~30Mbit/s). The breakfast was basic but good. Overall very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kokous Kakola, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 6 Mar 2022
Dear Tobias S, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Kakola! Our cell rooms are unique to us, since the building used to serve as a prison. We have saved a few rooms with a more authentic atmosphere, but like you mentioned, most of our rooms have all the modern day comforts. I'm glad you had fun with your cell room experience! This past winter has been especially icy due to the constantly changing weather. Hopefully the worst is now behind us and arriving will be less tricky even by foot! Hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Henna H / Hotel Kakola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happytraveller956 wrote a review Dec 2021
Helsinki, Finland22 contributions19 helpful votes
Good hotel nice atmosphere nice personnel and we recommend this for anyone in Turku area - also nice tomeralla arpinen and to sentteri vire from the hill innthenarea Good hamburgers in the wine bar of the kakola hotel and personnel is good and local people
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Funiculaire is practical to use
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Aaltonen, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 15 Dec 2021
Dear happytraveller956, First of all than you for writing us visiting here in Hotel Kakola. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and certainly had a good time within our Hilarius wine bar. Hopefully we will see you soon back here and to try our new menu for the year 2022. Wishing you a happy Christmas! Kindly, Mikael Aaltonen Director of operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juha H. wrote a review Nov 2021
Vantaa, Finland31 contributions23 helpful votes
The atmosphere at Hotel Kakola is really great and they’ve managed to preserve some vibes from the old prison. As it is new, everything is modern. The location is also great, with nice dining and drinking options within a short walking distance. The hotel lacked the most in practicalities… power outlets were scarce and e.g. towels were not available in the bathroom (but the separate we on the opposite side of the room). The staff was helpful, but did not show initiative to greet or serve guests. There was also room for improvement with cleaning, as my room had the previous guest’s toothpaste all over the bathroom wall. For the price, there are better places to stay in Turku.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Aaltonen, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 15 Dec 2021
Dear YouhaH_Fin, First of all thank you for your feedback and your stay with us here in Hotel Kakola. As you may appreciate we take comments like yours very seriously as only through feedback like yours we can continue working towards service perfection. I was super delighted to read that you had a good vibes from the overall Kakola area and of course our Hotel premises. Naturally, it was very disappointing and concerning to read that you faced few troubles during your stay and our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please rest assured that I have addressed your comments to the relevant departments in order to make sure next time when you are planning to stay with us, your visit will be smoother 😉. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas time and happy new year 2022. Kindly, Mikael Aaltonen Director of operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antti K wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
First the positive: the service and atmosphere were really nice. And the things to do better. We had to change rooms during our two night visit because we did not get bunk beds for the kids for the first night. Would have been a nice to know before the visit that this is not doable; the sleep sofa is really not fit for two kids. Also, the room was very hot and the the climate control did not work efficiently. Thanks to good service we managed to get a new room with bunk beds and they are really awesome. Sadly in our new room the additional curtains were missing and the room was not so dark during night time. Also this time, problems with the climate control. The breakfast was average. But most disappointing to me was that I have emailed the hotel two times about our stay there and have not received answer. Maybe I can get an answer from here? The rooms was almost 250€, so you´d expect a little more.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikael Aaltonen, Other at Hotel Kakola
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear Antti K, First of all I hope this message finds you well. As you have already been contacted by our hotel manager, I would also like to apologise once again for all the inconvenience happened during your stay. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in Hotel Kakola soon in order us to show you the real Kakola hospitality. Wishing you a best of luck for the year 2022! Kindly, Mikael Aaltonen Director of operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandSouthwest FinlandTurku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL KAKOLA - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Turku, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kakola
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kakola?
Nearby attractions include Kakola (0.3 km), Live Exit Games (0.4 km), and Arvo - Kortteliravintola (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kakola?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Kakola?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kakola?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Kakola?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kakola?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Kakolanruusu, Restaurant Nerå, and Restaurant Komppeli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Kakola?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Kakola?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Kakola offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kakola?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Turkish, Swedish, and Finnish.